You Don't Take Pics With Your Toaster

“You Don’t Take Pictures With Your Toaster” - thats a line in an old Mercedes-Benz ad. Pretty astute, if you know what they mean. I have never been super-crazy about Merc’s (no offence to Malik in Dubai); however that ad line always stuck me; and I always keep that in mind when buying a car. No Toasters for me, thankyouverymuch.

Some of you on GS may remember, a while ago I was asking recommendations about a 7-seater SUV. Considered XC-90, Pilot, Sequoia etc etc. Didn’t like any of those. Finally we bought Mazda CX-7, which was a 5-seater, but my wife absolutely fell in love with its styling. Been going great.

But that still left us with the 7-seater problem (parents/guests visiting etc).

So two weeks ago, I finally gave up my 7-series, and here is what I got. Drum Rolls pls

My new ride - BMW X5

These pics were taken in Mountain View (California) on Sunday. View from across the street where the car was parked.

From the front. Much better than the older styling.

I just love their new tail-lights.

The car is full of gizmos. After playing around with the iDrive for 2 weeks, I think its the best thing since the proverbial sliced bread. Bluetooth and iPod integration is just amazing. Two screens that are fully customizable. Car comes with life-time live traffic - pretty awesome feature, once you get used to it.

This unique shifter is just fabulous. BMW’s offers Automatic, Sports shift (Auto with longer holds and sports tuned) and regular tiptronics. It also has Auto-Hold, where you don’t have to keep your breaks pressed when the car is on a traffic stop.

Steering is pretty standard with audio controls, voice activation, phone controls and two programmable buttons. iDrive also provides six more programmable buttons for easy access to most-used features.

… and the biggest thing for me, three rows of seating (3rd row is just for kids, BTW). Yayy!!

ps. By the way, I did take pics with the car, just decided not to post them here. Will proly post 'em on FB :wink:

Re: You Don't Take Pics With Your Toaster

congrats, excellent SUV.
too bad they didnot have a 7 seater option a couple of years ago when we got the mdx, the 3rd row absence was a deal killer even though i have always liked the x5.

it is among the handful of SUVs I would actually not mind driving, and that is coming from someone who is generally anti SUv :)

so I guess this is an invitation to me to put th car through its paces the next time I am in your area? :D

oh and words of advise.
get an equally performance oriented radar detector.
I have had more tix in last 3 years than the previous 10 years combined :D
err i mean :(

Umar ka taqaza ho ga :D

Umar kon hai? aur kyun taqazay kar raha hai?

Re: You Don’t Take Pics With Your Toaster

hubz wants to give away my accord and get a BMW too..

the ride is :k:

Pay dar pay tix ka milna yehi zahir kerta hy ky umer ka hamla hu chuka:D

Ferrari ziada piyari hy os ka mutalba karo:chai:

Yummy SUV. Mubarakaaan!

sikkk carr..

mubarak :)

I Love X5's I have been driving one since the last 3 years, I did check out the 7 seater this year but it did not impress me.......no legspace in the 3rd row and the 2nd row has lesser space than a five seater......I test drove four SUVs before picking up the X5........Navigator, Merc GL/ML, Lexus RX and Porche Ceyon SUV...and the X5 beat them hands down. The handling for X5 is as good as you are driving a 3 series. No matter how fast you take the edges, you will never feel that the car is out of control.....Did the same thing with explorer and managed to get it on two wheels.........the things I don;t like abt this SUV is you can;t take it off-roading at all. It is only meant for smooth roads....even a camry has softer suspensions than the BMW X5......but it is a trade off........Super handling or comfortable shockers....you can have only one....Enjoy your bimmer, In the last three years, I have already put 98000 miles on it and my friends say that it still runs/looks like a new vehicle.

BTW...I had plans to trade in my X5 for an X6 this year but its not worth it at all. Checked out the X6 at the Detroit auto show......First of all its just a four seater and the legspace in the back is non existing....NOw why would I drive a truck for 2 ppl........I hope it makes it up for its cramp space by its driving feel.

Aw man, I would so go for a 7 series over this.

But this is sick too! Congrats!!

2 Likes

sigh i had a BMW once.

:smack: These pictures look like they WERE taken with a toaster :smiley:
Just kidding.
Lots of congrats. I love this car.

Hay hay hay… whats wrong with the pics… :hoonh:

Rocking Vibes... I have no intention of taking it for off-roading, anyway. Off-roading and I don't get together well any way. Give me a nice hotel over camping any day :-P

X2 dude.. I got a few tix with my 7-series (the car would get seriously fast without any advance warning). Hopefully, this one will fare better on that account. I am such a safe driver (masha allah). :superman:

Very nice :k: Congrats!