Ye Radio Pakistan Hai

We have been brought up listening to this ’ Hee Radio Pakistan Khairpur aahe - This is Radio Pakistan Khairpur’… Our Phuppi used to listen Radio while sewing something. Though it looked to us very boring act (we were more inclined towards TV and Indian movies audio cassettes).. but unknowingly the music that was played on Radio became part of our memories. Today, when most of those songs are being remixed, we can relate to original music.

During my first years in Karachi (during studies), there was no time for TV, etc so I started listening FM 101 and 100. There used to be a Ghazal Program by Asim Bashir from FM101 from 10-12 pm and Khalil Ullah Farooqi [who himself is a poet (wrote tum kaisi muhabbat karte ho) and also a script editor (edited Umera Ahmed’s Husna aur Husn Ara)] used to do Poetry program from 12 Pm onwards on weekend on FM 100. I didn’t have much interest in Poetry, but after listening to those programs I developed interest in poetry and also wrote some poems myself then.

Radio used to be a good and quality entertainment. Now, the trend of listening to Radio is probably decreasing. I think in other countries the situation is not the same. Its an effective medium in other countries.

What could be the reasons? new technology?

Lack of quality programs? I tried to listen to Radio while driving back to home, but couldn’t bear it for more than 5 minutes due to loud and be-tukki comparing by a DJ.

There have been so many Radio channels. I think in Karachi, we have more than a dozen FM stations. Is this also a reason for deterioration of quality that every aera ghaera got a license to run a Radio station.

Re: Ye Radio Pakistan Hai

Depends on what you are listening to and when you are listening, still there are many quality shows and students prefer to listen radio during studies and whenever they get free time during classes in college/uni.In the evening TV is the major source of entertainment and as for ghazals every radio channel has a programme after midnight i.e from 12-2 am.

Sidra Iqbal used to do study related shows from FM 91 don't know if she is still doing it.
Beenish khan(daughter of saleem Nasir) hosts showbiz related shows.She called many of her Dad's friends on the show and it was nice listening to them telling about their realtionship with her dad.
Many new comers were RJ's before starting their acting/singing career like Ali safina, Dino Ali (brother in law of Khalid anum).

There are good shows and bad shows same like TV where you see some good dramas and some are not up to the mark.I think students are more inclined towards radio as they don't have enough time to follow serials.

But One thing I noticed that whenever I play Radio, they are either playing Indian Music or English music. This is really a na-insaafi with our legends. No one knows what miracles our legends like Ustad Amant Ali Khan, Noorjehan, Mehdi Hasan did in field of music.

They have separate shows for burgers and bun kababs :hehe:

FM 101 stritcly follows this rule not to play any indian song although people have complained a lot about it but they don’t.Most of the shows are request shows so they have to play a combo of eastern/western music.

People request for what is being promoted. If they don't know about legends, they will not request for local music. One more thing (hum baar baar rona rota hai jiska), DJs are really doing zulm with language.... allam ghallam jo munh main aaya bol dia.... No proper pronunciation and no proper adb o adaab. I was just tuning and came across a lady DJ saying to caller something like: main kisi ki bolti kiyun band karwaon (referring to previous caller, who said something bad).

FM Culture in Pakistan……right going wrong | Dunya Blog

Media is a very powerful tool. It has played a major role in history making in almost every era irrespective of any form of communication. A powerful media tool which is overlooked these days is radio. Many years back when t.v. was just a dream, people used radio as an effective mode for communication and learning. In the mid 20’s, with the advent of radio, man truly stepped further into the revolutionary world. I m not here to give u a history of radio but I m will point out the effect of radio in our present day and what impact it had in the past

Radio is a very popular mode of media in our country. It has various important universal reasons. It is easily accessible to common masses anywhere anytime without any hindrances. It can go places where television cannot go. I think this medium should be used not only to entertain a common man but also used to educate him in a most effective way. Coming back to radio’s history in our dear country, Pakistan radio Broadcasting corporation became a reality the very day our country appeared on the map of the world.

Radio Pakistan‘s achievements are spread over a span of many decades. Its services include Home Service for Pakistani listeners, World Service for Overseas, External Service, A Quranic Channel, News and Current Affairs channel, FM Networks and National Sound Archives. As I have been told by my elders it was a treat to listen radio back at that time. Dramas, poetry, humor, ghazals etc all was so simple yet effective and informative.

“Koi banaawat nahe”. Everything done was with pure intentions. Its aim was and still is to project pakistan’s national and international policies, culture, art, traditions, values of life, goodwill, friendship among its foreign listeners., to project a positive image of our country and it has done well. No one can deny the historical part PBC played through difficult times, wars, treasons imposed on us. In the late 1998, FM Transmissions were started in Pakistan on regular basis. And this marked an important turn of events in the role of radio in our society. By 2005, FM stations have taken over the old school of radio. Licenses were given as they were some pieces of cake. Result was, so many radio stations are working in our country.

**What’s a purpose of FM radio stations? They are supposed to entertain the listeners as well educate them and highlight social and cultural issues. But as a keen listener of radio for over a decade now I have come to a conclusion that we are not serving justice with this medium. Everytime you tune a channel, its only music, music and music. And moreover foreign music is played without hesitation. No one is bothered to listen our culturally rich music. I am no different from others. Who is to blame? The policy makers or we as listeners? I say both. The radio giants in order to make big money, they allow foreign nonstop music 24 hours.
This way they are able to attract very huge listenership. But the dilemma of our society is that we have restricted fm radio just to the entertainment purposes. From morning around 8, the programs are on-aired which continue till 2 am late night. If we go through all the programs, we come across monotony and similarities. There is no specific purpose of these programs. Just chit chat here and there. Listeners are engaged in limited conversational topics which are nothing productive at all. Whenever u switch a channel or change, you can hear radio jockeys talking about imaginary world full of love and only love. There is no practicality to it. And listeners are well adapted to these topics.

There is nothing wrong in talking about feelings and love and emotions as these attributes constitute a human nature. But the point to ponder is that you cannot talk about it all the time. In third world countries, according to surveys conducted over many period of time, radio is accessible to almost 90% of population as compared to internet whose accessibility is well below 20%. Don’t you think that radio can be used to educate the poor masses of our country as well? well, coming back as I was talking, FM culture in Pakistan is evolving very fast. Government owned FM channels are somewhat providing entertainment as well as education and information.

But the **privately owned FM stations have no interest whatsoever in the betterment of our youth. Just like private T.V. channels, these radio stations are continuously playing and promoting foreign content just to double their profit. Same shows, same format but with different voices. Programs are aired without any consultation and research. Due to this intense competition among stations, the listeners are totally ignored. Majority of our listeners don’t even realize the benefits of radio. They just want to hear “ chawaliyyan, jugtaain, muhabbat bharri shayiree” etc. where ever an infotainment program is on-aired it gets negative comments instantly. The policy regarding these radio shows need to be revised seriously. **

The programming content must be prioritized. Shows be designed in a way that listener from every walk of life is reached. The new breed of presenters, Radio Jockeys commonly called as RJs are also a contributing factor to this FM culture. Most of the RJs who are famous, get carried away with this stardom and as a result totally forget their social and ethical responsibility towards their listeners. Their fans look up to them as their role models but instead of setting a positive example, they cast a negative impact on their listeners indirectly.Whenever you visit fan club websites or official pages on social networking websites you will see posts loaded with shair-o shaayeree, love talk, jugut baazi etc. even these RJs ask such questions from their listeners just to gain more popularity.

There is nothing wrong in the above mentioned content but there is a limit to everything and listeners should be made aware of their limits and restrictions. And lastly, we the listeners also have to some extent a moral responsibility to avoid the rush of such programs. We must and should encourage the responsible ones to promote positivity through radio. Its not that hard if the literate society of our country join hands to promote education and learning by using media, then we can surely make Pakistan grow strongly and steadily. FM radio stations are an amazing form of media, please don’t waste them rather use them………..gaanay bajaanay or gaanay suunay say humari zindagi nahe sawarnay wali……just think what are you leaving for your future generations to come. When ever my 4 year old daughter closes her school book just to listen a song whether its on radio or t.v., I sat their helpless. Media is unavoidable and inevitable…..its about time these media giants realize their responsibilities.

Nice thread. I certainly know what era you are talking about because I have closely been a part of that time and that stations, myself. In our time, it was only FM100 and 101 and the motive of those radios were to provide quality programs. Each program was organized in a decent manner.

We remember, not reading out the scripts but at least we had to have some matter to talk on and selective words to deliver nicely so that the public gets a positive attitude. Not like today, where you are given a mic and you speak the alap shalap, abay tabay and the whole Tapori language with using words like bhai log.

Asif Ghazali, Khalil ullah Farooqi, Ajmal Shobi, Rahat Firdos, Nuzhat Hussain, Rubi & Junaid Mumtaz were pioneers on 100 while 101 had great presenters like Asim Bashir, Arshad Hussain, Yahya Hussaini and many more others. Probably Shariq on 101 started the whole chichora pan and introduced the tapori sort of program with the slogan “i think” Jaaaaaaaago or Heeeeeeeeeeelllo karachi… whatever something like that, while a decent slogan by junaid mumtab can not be forgotten like Whatsup whatsup whatsup, whatsuup Pakistan, Junaid’s Back!!

The sooner the other radios were introduced, the quality of the shows decreased and every other came up to the mic with no matters. And more ridiculously, when the fans noticed such a behavior by presenters, I remember, they started addressing presenters Oe, tum kese ho etc… every other caller was like that… tumhari awaz kitni achi hay? tum mujhay achay lagtay ho… suno tum gurr khaa ker bethi ho kiya? etc like the most chichoray sentences!!!

In our era, no caller had such a courage to be free so openly, all they could praise was like, aapki awaz achi hay, Allah aapko taraqqi de, etc, not a chichora pan!!

The decency was lost and all the rubbish started. The most rubbish show that I ever came across on my last visit was of Waqar Zaka, don’t even remember which was the station but heard him during switching the stations, when heard his voice, stuck to it as I wanted to make sure it was he and was behaving the same as on TV… and I was like :smack: yeh yahan bhi aa gaya!! :bummer:

I feel really sorry for the recent declining situation of radios where the radios don’t themselves know that they are declining. All are just busy in making money and quality and informative programs have either been limited or are occupied with the presenters like Waqar Zaka, Sahir Lodhi and others, who I even don’t know!!

My bro once told me that when he was in India he used to listen to Radio Pakistan [which often banned], he liked Anwar Bahzad and Shakeel saaHibaans way of news reading. he says their style was unique! :)

i searched to get a clip of his news reading sample but couldn't find. :( can any one of guys, plz?

When only fm100 and 101, there were good shows and music with people like faisal ali khan, atif mazhar Nuzhat hussain, mehfooz-ul-hassan, tahira naqvi, ajmal shobi but then fm 107 started in 2003 with trend of playing indian music. At 12 am, the transmission of fm101 got connected with Islamabad station (don't know their current status) and i loved to listen RJ Ahmed Bilal (from Islamabad, he left fm in 2006/2007) with a magical voice "mujhe Ahmed bilal kehtey hein". Maani-Azfar show was also great with unusual conversations, but maani is pathetic on Tv. I remember an episode of sunday brunch on ptv in 2001/2002 with fm 100 Rj's and it was first time i saw all of them.

Seriously? :bummer:

Queen you were a radio presenter? :e6:

:@:

mery sath thailand kon chaly ga? me masti krna chahta hun or me to khud kehta hun me tharki hun to sirf wo larki mujhy call kary jo mery sath masti krna chahti hy…disgusting yes that’s waqar zaka :disgust:

which channel?

yes because they introduced new trend with no callers like " aap mujhe bhut ache lagtey hein, Allah meri call lagi gayi, mein apne/apni un ko aik gaana dedicate karna chahti hun/chahata hun etc". They didn’t play any Indian song and topics were really good with intelligent humor especially from azfar.

Their show was good for entertainment but not from cultural point of view with azfar telling all his stories that he has done all kind of ayashi with his father's money.Such stories don't leave a positive impact on listener besides that they used abay/tabay wali language.

what was the last segment of the show called that started with aj phir bhabi ny aap ki shirt jala di?

Old angrazi sAng…
video killed the radio star…thats what happend to radio.

most bayhuda program i remember on radio was “double sawari” …sassiay ni chumi e dai daay jai balance nai daai sakdi:hoonh:
I listen to fm on my way to and back from work but hate changing channel on almost every song… indian songs naa:bummer:
rasta fm is radio channel of Lahore traffic police they dont play indian songs but they dont have problem playing punjabi songs by gurdas maan and othe rindian punjabi singers:what:
May be i have couple of cds in my car but i always listen to radio AM news channels and my fav new channel Funny 1060 AM.
Times these channels have very good topics and some of the RJs are more siyany then many of our so calle danishwer anchors.
i will not forgive myself for saying this and feel free to bistify me so that i dont make the same mistake again… sahir lodhi is much better on radio then tv.

well i remember that last segment where they used to do parody of aapa zubaida, it was very funny.

hahah i have the same opinion about sahir lodhi he is much better on radio ,let’s face the bisti together :lifey:

and they introduced karachi ki language.Do you remember any of the words from that language with their meaning?