Wrong girl for brother

Re: Wrong girl for brother

Personally (and this is just my opinion) I don't think getting them married is the solution to his - to be frank, it's not going to last long in a situation like this, as this type of person (in this case the girl) thrives on the "dangerousness" of the whole affair....noway is it interesting enough to be married and settled.

Although the "threat" of marriage might be just the thing to scare her off!!!

As for getting them married just "to weed her out" ie to see how long it lasts - why bother??? All that expense...................why waste it on her...and anyway, god only knows what type of demands she'll make in that case!

write an anonymous letter to your mum and give her brief details. Im sure she can manage the rest.

Oh and ur mum may want to loosen up on the caste issue. I know a syed shia guy. his mother was sooo hung up on the girl being from the same caste, she rejected several rishtas just cos they didn't fit the requirement. The guy ended up marrying an african american.

Funny how a lot of people are blaming the girl alone....

He doesn't have to be horribly influenced by her. He chose to let that happen.

I'm sure if she was the same caste and still did this type of stuff, they still wouldn't like her, superficial things like caste or looks shouldn't even be discussed here, only the character/personality of the girl... so caste is really not an issue in this situation, it's just her personality and character that htey dn't like..

caste and all is not an issue for me like i said before. but sadly, it is a big deal for my mom. i brought it up cuz that alone would be enough for my mom to say no. yes my parents need to loosen up and all but i cant change how they think. most families think that way. BUT above everything else, it is the girl HERSELF who is a major problem. even if she was from my caste or whatever and was drinking and doing this stuff, we wont just go and approve of her. it would be the same situation exactly.

And 'm kinda surprised at how much anger is being directed at the girl when we're only just hearing about her. XOXO i don't doubt that you think she is definitely the wrong person for your brother, but cmon, dissing her looks only makes you look bad. I've never been in this situaiton so I can't say what you should do, but since you said he's only in college, I'd rest assured that these things will NOT progress into marriage. It just sounds like a fling and sooner or later (hopefully sooner for every1s sake) it'll die out. If he's only going to clubs and "partying", then I don't think it's a good idea to go to your mother just yet. However, if you find out that drugs are involved, then get your parents involved..

XOXO i know and can totally understand what u r goin thru, but all i would sa that he is 21 and he is going thru this phase where u find urself with someone u think is perfect for u ( who may or may not be) but n e ways some go thru all the way and some dont as in ur case don go tell ur mom yet but if he is close to u kinda make things difficult with him and that tell him str8 out that u dont approve of her but plz don threaten to go and tell ur mom as he mite take u as his enemy and then stop sharing feelings with u, so just kinda ignore him and taunt him, this way if he is really close to u he is kinda gonna soften up and that is when u strike and boom if alls well Insha Allah everything will be fine. Damn i cant believe i am saying this :hehe:. But that is one way to do things hope this helps.

Your opinion about this girl will change if she stops clubbing and doing other 'bad things'?

if she genuinely tries then my opinion will change.. thats the only reason i told my brother i would support him because he said she had changed completely. obviously that isn't true for a girl, who has no shame in spending a night with a guy in a hotel room for their so called anniversary. above it all, i just don't see her as someone who can fit into our family. she lacks the family values that are necessary to hold a family together. considering my brother is the only son and my parents will primarily be living with him, it seems highly unlikely to me that she would ever take good care of my parents.

hmm..maybe its ur brother whoz at fault? yeah the girl is bad..and she goes clubbing and stuff..but ur brother is doing the same thing, no?

they are doing 'things' together.. dont blame her ....
... so any other shareef girl will happily accept your brother who had spend a night with some girl in a hotel? or u r under the impression that guys are not suppose to have the shame and family values in them?

anyway..at this point of time instead of your mom involve your father.

sorry, cos i dont think you want to hear this, but i think you should stay out of it. its your brother's life and future- its not your place to rat him out to your mom. you might be concerned and you've already taken steps to have a conversation with him and share those concerns and, in so many words, you've been told to bugger off.
whether you like it or not, your brother is not an idiot- he's an independent, sane, educated, adult human being who is responsible for his own actions. its too easy to pin him as someone naive who's being led on...
like someone else here said, it takes two to tango- dumping the blame on this girl solely is ridiculous. if your brother didn't want to "do things", he would have let her go a while ago. if your brother was truly bothered by her lifestyle, he would have let her go a while ago.... but he didn't and he's still in it and with her.
let him sort it out on his own- its his life and he needs to learn to make his own decisions and the subsequent consequences of those decisions. if you interfere, your brother will definitely have an issue with you and it might even lead to him wanting to be with this girl even more, just to rebel. nobody likes being told what to do or how to live their lives... let the relationship take its natural course.

I reluctantly agree with somegroovychick. Regardless of your good intentions, your brother will not appreciate what he will perceive as your unwanted meddling in his life; you risk permanently ruining your relationship with him.

Do you really want to test whether you mean more to him or this girl does?

haha wow, something very similar happened in our family- just waiting for it to fizzle out. as much as you wanna think it's all his business and he needs to learn on his own, etc etc, the fact remains that you're his sister and no matter what happens, it will hurt you also. you cannot and will not be able to just turn away and let it happen- especially if he's younger and you're close to him. it does sounds to me like she has influenced him big time if you say he wasn't like that before. truth is, when you like someone, most of the logic just sort of flies out especially if it's his first girlfriend. she sounds disgusting to me, girls like that are just so desperate, it's not even funny. you gotta weigh the consequences before getting your mom involved. do you think it would be worth it? i mean yes it's the age where it's easy for people to stray but if it is getting out of hand then you do need to intervene.

im not going to my mom to rat about the gf. i am going to my mom to tell her what my brother is doing. how is that blaming the girl alone? i blame him also. if u havent read what i wrote before, he is doing these things too and that is the main reason i want my mom to talk to him. he was NEVER like that before. i have lived my entire life with him, if he was ever that kinda person i wud have let it be. but u think i cant see what shes doing? she has influenced my br in the most horrible way and thats where my problem is. why do u think i keep saying that my parents will be hurt if they find out? BECAUSE my brother himself is getting sucked into this. this is not how they have raised us to be and sadly hes the only one in the family who is doing this and it needs to end.

Maybe you should try to talk to your brother again before going to your mother, and explain to him how you feel you've been placed in an impossible position where you want to be able to retain the trust of and stay honest with both him and your mother? Ask him to come up with a solution himself? Listen to him first, and try not to moralize -not saying that you are- while explaining you point of view.

And by the way, I'll advise against unnecessarily involving other people or writing letter anonymously to your mother.

Reading between the lines it seems like you are implying that this girl is responsible for your brother behaving inappropriately. What if it is the other way around. I am not saying that the girl is shareef, but it takes two to tango.

Maybe the girl has changed, and maybe she hasn't. Either way, that is for your brother to determine, and I would guess that at 21, he isn't about to make a long-tem commitment, unless he is pushed into a romeo & juliet situation by you and your family.

To be honest, I feel more sorry for the girl than anyone else. Your brother is allowed to sleep with this girl, drink, and do whatever else, and he's just 'sowing his wild oats'. This girl is ruined because even if she becomes very pious, she is ruined because people will gossip about her and decide that she isn't good enough for their pure brothers.

BTW, since your brother has committed zina, from an Islamic POV he is not entitled to a virginal wife, and can only marry another person who has committed zina, if you want to bring religious-based morality into it. As far as her not taking care of your parents - that's you and your siblings responsibility, not any of your spouses.

Your brother is 21 years old and I really doubt he is thinking about marriage at this point (majority of guys his age dont) so I really don't see the need to bring your parents into this. Your mother will only feel anger and/or worry about your brothers behavior and in turn that may cause even more friction between your brother and parents. Besides what can your parents do to make him stop acting this way.....throw him out of the house? keep him locked up in the house? make him drop out of schoo? what? anyway... you are his sister (and a friend I hope).....he'll never trust you with anything again if you snitch on him. So it's best you keep this to yourself unless you think that your parents can really change his thinking and attitude and that he'll listen to what they have to say.

Just continue to tell him how you disapprove of his relationship and if he still doesnt listen......then just give him his space and let him learn from his own mistakes...not much you can do to make him change his mind..he's all grown up and makes decisions for himself........you know what i mean?

Just pray for him...........pray that he makes the right choices in life....that's all you can do at this point.

AoA XoXo,

God Forbid, God Forbid if my brother/ sisters was ever in such a situation (Allah na kare again), the thing that would sadden and probably lead me into depression the most (as kufr as that may be) would be that fact that they are committing such a HUGE sin! it would make no difference had the girl been urdu speaking or not-so-clingy!

In the Quran, Allah SWT tells us to not even go "near" zina (it doens't just say dont commit the sin)... so all actions that may lead to us a sin are to be avoided.

You should make your utmost efforts in guiding your brother out of this sinful life and show him how huge his sins are! Everything you have mentioned are actions that are completely not allowed in Islam, and somehow u have to make efforts to knock this fact into his head!

Start off with subtle things like taking him to Islamic lectures that are particularly on this topic, at times, they have 2/3 days camps where a lot of Muslim brothers would get together for fun while instilling the concepts of Deen into the next generation... maybe that might help... remind him of death, none of us have a guarenete of living till tomorrow so what kinda account is he going to face Allah SWT with? Maybe once in a while u can show him an ayat or an ahadith that gets him thinking about his actions! maybe give him a pamphlet or something on the topic so he can read it in his own time.

This girl doesn't have a good track record, so unless she does dramatically change, she isn't going to be good for his deen or dunya, hence I cant see how marriage is the right way to go about it! However, if he still insists, then yes maybe suggest marriage.... at least it'll put an end to his sinful relationship with this girl!

And make lots and lots of dua for him!!! there are a few duas one can read in times of stress, as well as stuff life namaz-e-haajat.

Again, no need to get on his back too much, be subtle about it and continue to love and show your support to him... but if he doesn't change his ways, then let him be, continue to pray for him, but dont break your relationship. Inshallah sooner then later he will realise his mistakes.

And I do think you should (perhaps as a last resort) TELL YOUR MUM ABOUT HIM! she will reject the girl... but what choice does she have right? either she accepts her as a bahu or her son will continue his current lifestyle!

I pray that all goes well for you and your family, Amin. May Allah SWT protect the Iman of each and every Muslim brohter and sister, Amin.

Ghar Ghar ki yahi kahani.............you can't do much let time be the fixer in this case..........In other words, I see a perfect couple.....player with female player....I only feel bad for the parents who have hopes that their son will take care of them......I hope they understand ke Zamana badal gaya hai and they shd foresee that their son is useless in terms of taking care of them.