Wright, Boon possible candidates as coach?

Re: Wright, Boon possible candidates as coach?

Miandad is a millionaire (His wife is a millionairess too belonging to the Sehgal clan) in his own right. He earned enough from that Sharjah six alone never mind the fact that he played international cricket for 21 years from 1975-1996. So I don't see money as being an issue with him.

Ofcourse computer-aided analysis can help you in analysing the weaknesses of your opponents and your own team etc. But at the end of the day a coach can only do so much and it's really down to the players to learn from their own mistakes and try and improve. But the problem is laptop or no laptop our players just don't seem to learn from their past and keep repeating the same mistakes whether it's the fielding lapses or opening failures etc. You still essentially need the same skills and discipline that Imran and Javed polished during their time by playing in county cricket, Sheffield Shield etc. Imran Khan would also disagree with too much reliance on laptops. I have seen him use the same phrase on various talk shows when asked to comment on Bob's (when Bob was alive) laptop approach. Imran's reply would invariably be, " mujhe nahin maloom ke woh uss computer mein kya billiyan dhoondta hai, aakhir hum nay bhi ikkeess saal cricket kheli hai.."

^^ be that as it may...

most of the fault lies with our team

its too full of politics, too full of mullahism, too full of themselves...

and this makes the pakistani team almost uncoachable

Agreed 110%
I can almost bet that this latest doubt about Inzi extending his test career had something to do with Malik.
No amount of coaching can help the team unless the players are themselves willing to work hard and learn from their past mistakes

Yeah...Ive seen Imran make those comments quite a few times. I also found that to be quite funny considering Imran himself went to play WSC because he felt it was an innovative series - something that had never been done before - yet here he was making such comments about the use of innovative techniques in the game itself .

Anyway, a lot of Pakistani ex-test cricketers have this attitude, ie we never needed this stuff when we played so why do they need it now? My only response to that would be - look around the world, and see what they are doing? Everyone is benefitting from the technology and innovative ways to teach, learn and play the game - so why should Pakistan continue to cling to Dada-Nana way of playing cricket ?

I think the best solution for the Pakistani Cricket Team is this:

Before the World Cup begins

The Pakistani Cricket Team should be send to boot camp where they must train with our SSG Special Forces.

They will do all the exercises as our SSG Soldiers. They will learn team work and build trust in each other as they help each other to finish the obstacle courses.

This will also make them very fit and mentally sharp.

It will also teach them to take orders and obey them and if they dis-obey they face harsh punishment. This will help our team to obey the coach and its captain and thus ending the in-fighting.

This will also make them realize that growing beards and praying non-stop is not going to help them win the World Cup as long as they don't try hard enough.

In todays world, specifically cricket and in general all sports, technology plays an integral role.
Even though the art of one particular sport can't be simulated using a computer program/software 100%, it can certainly be enhanced many fold through proper analysis and visualizations.

It hurts more the reputation of those cricket greats who make fun of technology then it does the sport.
Hasn't it become increasingly evident that PCs were new maybe 2 decades ago? While today they are but a side tool such a calculator was in the '80s.

Yes a cricketing mind that can assess and strategize based on skill, experience and gut feel is crucial, but not entirely in the body of a coach. That description fits best to that of a Captain who has to lead the team on the field without using a laptop.
The coach's role is more complex. He is not there just to drill the team like an Army Sergeant, but also to use all available techniques and tools that he can muster in the modern cricket world.

With that said, we can't forget that being too mechanical is not the best approach either. There has to be a balance. And unfortunately, Miandad just doesn't make the cut.

according to mr ashraf, Mr Dave has shown interest in Pak coaching as well.

^^ :bummer:

as far as “laptop” or “no laptop” is concerned, I guess we need a bit of both but still a cricketing brain coach who don’t know much about laptop can cover that aspect (by learning or by hiring a stats guru), but an IT professional like will end up messing cricket team although know “laptop” inside out!. So PCB’s priorities seems to be messed up. There ad should state that “computer knowledge is good to have” but currently there is more emphisis on it than necessary.

Yeah but Whatmore says he hasn’t talked to Pakistan since the WC when some one asked for his contact info. Who is telling the truth…?

You are mistaking Cricket with NFL. In NFL, coaches win matches and in Cricket it is captain and his players. The reason why coaches are the high priority in NFL is because they have quick access to QB and the game.

Cricket is different, you have board which prepares the squad, coach will tell captain and player about wicket and opponent, their strenghts and weaknesses. Just before match captain and coach will see the wicket and determine whether to bat or bowl first. After that it is captain and his players. About shots and outs, wicket has much say, unlike NFL, Cricket field is different so if a player was out on a green track does not mean he will play the same way in flat track. You do not need computer to determine what the batsmen or bolwers do next. How much computer knowledge did Ireland and Bangladesh had in this tournament? Or how much Kenya had in previous tournament? Zim in '99 World Cup?

About Miandad's coaching days and gesture, this guy is in game mood all the time. He has seen, heard and lived nothing but Cricket, not a big deal with gestures.

News of Wright & Boon interest in coaching job is interesting, however who will like to go an extra mile? I think neither and if they say yes, it will be twice the $$$ what Mr. Woolmer was paid for his services.

Hahaha.... Nah bhai, I am not mistaking cricket with any thing. You should read what I wrote, again, so you get the point.

Of course Bangladesh and Ireland had access to similar computer databases. That is why all test playing countries, incl Bangladesh put so much emphasis on getting a highly qualified coach for their team. Thing is, the team can go into a game, completely unprepared for their opponent (except a few anecdotal info) and just play outstanding cricket and still beat them. Or they can go into a match fully equipped with all the knowledge there is to know on weaknesses of their opponents; and that helps them beat them. I am not sure I understand why some people are insisting in putting a reverse gear by strangling our team and not equipping them with the knowledge that other teams have at their disposal.

No comment. Miandad himself has publicly said he is not applying for coach's job in Pakistan, so I prefer not to waste more time talking about his credentials, or lack thereof, for the position.

Yep its official…PCB definitely talking to Whatmore - Says Zakir Khan…
However, not to forget that BCCI is also in hot pursuit of the same!

Pakistan keen on coach Whatmore](BBC SPORT | Cricket | International Teams | Pakistan | Whatmore eyes Pakistan challenge)

Whatmore has plenty of experience with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh

Pakistan have confirmed their interest in recruiting Australian Dav Whatmore to replace the late Bob Woolmer as coach of the national team. Whatmore will leave his current post with Bangladesh at the end of their current home series against India.
And Pakistan diretor of cricket operations Zakir Khan confirmed: "We are interested in hiring him.
“The thing is we have to see if he is ready to accept any final offer we make to him.”
Whatmore has extensive international coaching experience, having had two spells in charge of Sri Lanka, during which he guided them to victory at the 1996 World Cup, before taking charge of Bangladesh four years ago.

He recently expressed an interest in becoming India’s next coach following the recent resignation of Greg Chappell, but would also be attracted by the challenge of reviving Pakistan’s fortunes following their first round exit from the recent World Cup.
“I can’t afford to stay unemployed for too long,” he said last week.
The 53-year-old indicated, however, that he was unlikely to submit a formal application for any post, adding: “I have not been lobbying. I don’t go promoting myself.”
Pakistan will play a three-match limited over series against Sri Lanka later this month, with team manager Talat Ali doubling up as acting coach.
But they want a full-time replacement for Woolmer, who was murdered at the team hotel in Jamaica during the World Cup, in place by the beginning of July. The job has already attracted interest from a number of foreign coaches. “We have got applications from England, West Indies and Australia,” said Khan.

I was just wondering whether everyone knew the complete background of Whatmore. I personally did not know he was Australian/Sri Lankan.

Dav Whatmore
Australia
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/inline/content/image/208703.html?alt=1
Player profile
Full name Davenell Frederick Whatmore
Born March 16, 1954, Colombo, Ceylon
Current age 53 years 55 days
Major teams Australia, Victoria
Batting style Right-hand bat
Other Coach

Statsguru Test player, ODI player

Dav Whatmore was born in Sri Lanka before emigrating to Australia as a child. A right-handed batsman and brilliant slip fieldsman, he scored prolifically in the Sheffield Shield for Victoria, going onto play seven Test matches for Australia during the Packer era with modest success. He retired in 1988-89 to pursue a career in coaching.

He masterminded Sri Lanka’s famous World Cup win in 1996, and after a brief spell at Lancashire - where he saw them win a one-day double in 1998, and the National League in 1999 - went back for a second term. His greatest challenge, however, came in 2003, when he took over as Bangladesh’s coach, and immediately brought a new optimism and discipline to a team that had not won a single match for four years. But Bangladesh continued to be routinely beaten (often by huge margins), although Whatmore was adamant that the team would turn the corner. Finally, the moment that Bangladesh cricket had been waiting for arrived, when they beat Zimbabwe at Chittagong, and went on to claim their first series win by drawing at Dhaka - Whatmore joining in the joyous scenes on the outfield. He has also improved their one-day fortunes, a victory over India and a comeback from 2-0 down to beat Zimbabwe suggested Whatmore’s optimism was bringing rewards.
There continued to be ups and downs. In 2005 his side memorably beat Australia at Cardiff and the following year they gave account a good account of themselves in a home Tests series against the same opposition. But they also struggled against Zimbabwe in the same year. At the 2007 World Cup Bangladesh beat India, helping to send their neighbours packing, and qualified for the Super Eights. It wasn’t enough to keep Whatmore interested, and he quit at the end of the tournament.

Cricinfo staff April 2007

i think Whatmore is a good coach, so will be a good option to hire him.

Bhai, you are saying like we did not have the database access in past years. Woolmer (God bless his soul) was the reason we now know 'lap top coaches'. Let me buy your argument that it helps. How much we benefitted from the lap top coach? If he can pin point the weaknesses of other players, he can also do the same with our team. Hafeez is the same, so is Butt, Hameed, Afridi and Farhat. Moreover, when Akmal went into a bad patch..he just stuck there.

When you say that the info generated from computer database, do you mean it to be new or revolutionary? Cricket is not science, it is not like previous coaches or captain did not know much about Cricket and its perfect execution like the current coaches do now. Computer is a medium or a supplement not the core reason of victory. Right now you can not attribute it to success, the results have been inconclusive.

I think it is wrong that we are asking our coaches to know the computer know how. PCB should focus on whether that coach can help them built their confidence and draw a strategy to win games and if he uses computer for that, fine but you can not make it compulsory.

I think you are mixing a bunch of different things due to lack of knowhow. Computer databases can be easily licensed. A good solid coach can use them to guide his team to strategy, as well as to help his team remove their own weaknesses. Of course, every team worth their name prepares for every game with detailed scouting reports. But if a coach has aversion to "laptops", is uncomfortable doing any research, and relies more on hand gestures (ok, I am just making a point here :D), then you can expect an ill-prepared team facing a well-prepared outfit, and now only relying on ther talent to win the game. Can happen, of course. But more than likely will make life tougher on themselves.

Anyway, I think PCB will ultimately go for a foreign coach (Whatmore etc), so all those who refuse to admit the benefits of modern coaching techniques, can now take a rest (again!). Thank you.

^^ Faisal said it. It's not that we are looking for a coach who even gets his daily shave done on computer. It's just that we don't want as our coach somebody who's intimidated by and hence is averse to using the 'modern' technology. why should a person's biases stemming from his own fears handicap the Pakistan team. No Miandad and Alam please!

Whatmore approached for India job

CHITTAGONG: After all the speculations over the last month, it has been finally learnt that outgoing Bangladesh coach Dav Whatmore was been formally been approached to coach India.

Indian cricket manager Ravi Shastri formally asked the present Bangladesh coach during his side’s ongoing tour to Bangladesh to take up the role as the next coach.

Whatmore’s contract with Bangladesh ends after the Test series against India. The 53-year-old Australian led Sri Lanka to their maiden World Cup win in 1996, and helped Bangladesh to the Super Eight stages in the World Cup earlier this year.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) was also keen on hiring Whatmore as their next coach after the death of Bob Woolmer. But media reports suggest that he has turned down that offer.

“Well, Ravi (Shastri) just confirmed that ‘I would be happy’ to have my name put forward as a candidate. That’s the start and the end of it. Whether anything materializes from that is just left to be seen and on my part, strictly confidential,” Whatmore said.

“I believe a couple of (Indian) officials are expected to come to Bangladesh specifically for the first Test match here in Chittagong. If there is an opportunity to progress in terms of dialogue, then that’s fine. I’ll be more than happy,” the Bangladesh coach added.

Whatmore had expressed his desire to coach the Indian team shortly after his side pulled off a shock upset on the 1983 world champions in the World Cup.

Asked on the challenges he faces after Greg Chappell resigned from the India job on unhappy terms, Whatmore said it won’t be tough to work with the Indian superstars.

However, the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) officials were not too keen on disclosing the details of the offer made to the outgoing Bangladesh coach.

Whatmore has been on BCCI’s radar for his vast experiences and success with teams from the sub-continent.

Source: News

Won’t be a surprise if he turns down Pakistan, as India are likely to offer him a better financial package.