Would you Send your Kids...

Re: Would you Send your Kids...

i still dont think a CHILD has to go to an "etiquette" school to learn manners...i still wont do it....you are referring to adults in this post..not children. I think a child should learn manners from home and learn to be and act like a child.

True too ms Angel....but these "seminars" are given mostly to the kids in their early teens. They get a varied cultural experience, both formal and informal, and they have fun doing it. So much better than an evening of computer games I think.....

For the younger ones, I quite agree that basic manners are taught at home ...but when they can be reinforced at a big "party" (some of the elementary schools sponsor formal evenings for this purpose) they feel very proud of themselves when they already know how to act and see how pleased their parents are. Like I said before, its one thing to be able to have good manners at home and at school but quite another to experience a real-live big party where you always need to mind your manners and maybe parents arent there to enforce it.

.....i'm really passionate about teaching modern manners, social skills and personal presentation in schools and in universities. I believe 'life skills' to be as important as good exam grades. By developing their confidence and self assurance, young adults will be better equipped to go out and face the world head on!
Finishing schools are unique in bringing positive points into an educational setting. Teaching social skills and building confidence in a safe and fun environment helps students to overcome those awkward feelings progressing from teenage to adult world. It's a real skill to be able to walk in to an interview with your shoulders back and your head up, with a nice smile and cool self presentation.

tum

Re: Would you Send your Kids…

Absolutely correct.
This method prevents the lady’s legs from ever parting and looking like a…well, you know what…

Getting into the car is the same…he holds the door open, she turns to face him, he has one hand to hold the door and the other to hold her hand while she seats herself an then turns 90 degrees…with boths legs together…and places them inside the vehicle.

Another thing that most women don’t know…crossing your legs (i.e. knee over knee) is unladylike. A properly groomed lady will sit with knees together and both legs slanted to one side, space permitting, or with legs crossed at the ankles.

Question for the guys…

You are taking your lady for a walk after dinner downtown. On what side of her do you walk? Right or left?

I have yet to come across a religion or culture that will contradict anything that is taught in basic ettiquette.

I know so many desis that will still reach across a table rather than asking for something to be passed. What gives? Our prophet (pbuh) even taught that you should eat that which is within your reach at a meal setting.

And that’s what it’s all about…

It depends what direction you are walking, but the rule is that the lady should be toword the road

why?

hum tou khanay ke baad khul ke dakaar martay hain aur phir chisak chisak ker ke daanton se botian nikaltay hain :D wah ji wah

Muzna....you walk on her left side...I do believe.

If he's desi, a mile ahead of her :D
Isnt it at the side, on teh street side?

wow. i don't think i've ever done that. ever. ha
maybe i should take one of these etiquette classes :p

for me, it's more like 'move aside buddy..i'll open my own door' - and then hop right in :D

i wonder if there's a ladylike way of driving?

a gentleman will always walk on the "outside".
this means that he will walk on the side that is closer to the roadway/traffic.
two reasons:
1. it is more dangerous to walk closer to traffic.
2. in the days when sometimes garbage and waste was dumped from upper apartments on the street below, the trajectory would be such that it would land on the gentleman rather than the lady.

I was right :hula:
And i dint need tot ake etiquette classes to know that :snooty:

I didn’t suggest that you take an etiquette class to learn this Sara. Obviously there will be things that a person will have learned on their own. Certainly you don’t mean to suggest that you know it all, do you?

And if you had read the question carefully then you would have known that it was meant for the guys to answer. :wink:

This thread is fun with the etiquette questions :) Muzna, any more?

and we need to go to an etiquette class to learn this? whatever happened to common sense..

oh and whatever happened to equality? i'd gladly treat the lady as an 'equal' and let her be on the 'dangerous' side of the road.. it's the least i can do to not insult her. :D

Pakistani:

Did I mention that real gentlemen never use sarcasm in the presence of the fairer sex? Besides....no matter what you men do, you will never be equal to women so stop trying...you'll hurt yourself.

PyariRani......you want more huh?
Okay let me think of some.....

i was thinking that men should walk on the outside because lets say if its raining/wet and if a car comes speeding by, the gentlemen would be the one to get splashed...lol....