To me, it seems like you are making a mountain out of a mole. Yeah, he acted like an idiot, and I'm sure he probably felt like one given your response and subsequent attitude towards him. In the future, if you don't like something, then approach him directly and tell him that it makes you uncomfortable and that he crossed your limits.
Also, I'm born and raised in the west. I have yet to experience such behaviour from any western raised desi. In fact, in friendships, they tend to treat you with extreme respect.
Other than that, I would have to agree with Suroor.
i have a cousin who does full nikab, i love this girl to bits. I highly respect her thought and behaviour
regardless of being a nikabi, she has mainly male friends..they are allways mucking bout . Its her openess, kindness, innocence and clear head that allows her to befreind males
i can see, that everyone has their own level of comfotability, but are the top mentioned things relevant?
yes, ofcourse they are! any behaviour that we think is annoying or irritating is harassment whether we realize it or not...I was just explaining that there are different levels of what each individual considers his/her personal space...
ur mums lecture can be annoying/irritating... thats harrasment?
i might find my mom's lecture annoying but won't find it 'offensive' now would i? and by the way, there's a strong relationship between me and my mother....it's funny how you're comparing a family member to an acquintance.. "Maybe" you don't know how to differentiate between such relations....:)
if irem thought it was harrassment, she would have stated it
you took me wrong! the whole point of my initial reply was not exactly about harassment but something else (re: personal space)
i wasnt categorsing... i was stating that it doesnt matter where u live or are born...
sometimes it does matter but I'm surprised that you're comparing a cousin-to-cousin relationship w/ colleague-to-colleague relationship.....zameen aur asmaan ka farq hai in dono mai !
woaah IREM he didnt do anything rude... just take it easy and tell him how you feel thats the best way.. LEt him know u don't feel comfortable if he talks to you like that.
thats like ** MUMMY MUMMY SHUD I EAT NOW **
n just be NORMAL man .. u dont have to act ur desi instings n crap .. like where i worked in last summer … whenever a desi customer wud come they wud totaly try to avoid me or just goo so FRANK like i know them for yrs. it spoiled my freakin day hecka timez but just had to cope with it.