Would a Dane explain to me..

that why upon landing at Copenhagen Airport did the planeload full of Danes being clapping and cheering wildly? Is this some sort of cultural thing?

I of course in a very drowsy state could not hold back the laughter and pissed my sides. I asked the English guy next to me whether this was an ‘event’ of sorts, or if i’d missed something on the way over. He thought the Danes were just very happy to be home.

Either you lot really HATE England and were glad to be out OR love Denmark and so glad to be back. I wonder. :bummer:

Re: Would a Dane explain to me..

This is not just a Danish phenomena. I’ve seen this behaviour on several flights in different countries. Even on domestic flights in Pakistan.

And I was told that this is kind of a “Thank you” ritual for the pilot, when he lands your plane safely. :konfused:

It's more like "Either you lot really HATE England and were glad to be out AND love Denmark and so glad to be back."

Waise it's culture, we're very happy ppl in general :D

Umer you are right.

I think its because ppl are relieved after the flight, that thanx god we didnt get hijacked, the plane didnt skid, al qaida didnt attack, the oil didnt started to leak...no suicide bombers in plane....so when the plane is landed safely ppl are relieved....pretty much yea...so they kinda clap....maybe jahaz mai oxygen kam hoti hai aikdum and they kinda clap to get some hawa shawa...ya phir machar wachar u never know u c...dillon kay haal siraf dil janta hai

maybe because when they are back from london in cph they clap cuz kehte hain na bandro ko dekh kar bi kai log aaliaN bajatay hain. To agar aik jahaz hai, aur us mai 10 angraiz , to phir unko baandar samaj lo aur danes ko tamashbeen. So its a natural phenomena....

waise its very common ...happens many places over the world.

maybe u shud travel more and u might find out.

Some clap if pilot makes a perfect landing....

I clap when the pilot lands on all three sets of wheels simultanously. It's supposed to be a perfect landing. It's a nice ice-breaker too.

PS. I am not a Dane, only holding a danish pastry.

You should see flights to latin america. I was on a trip to Chile once and not only did I hear the clapping emanating from the economy section, even the goats and llamas were hootering and hollering. thank god for first class. :halo:

funguy, you are in the US, right? I really love this american obsession with perfection. i have done this too…

lol I have seen this on others flights too ....

ive heard this happens on Air India too - but maybe thats cuz the passengers are all hijras.

Yeah its not just the Danes - I've witnessed it on many flights. If the landing was smooth, everyone claps (I've clapped too)

I agree, after being on so many local (US) flights the first landing by PIA pilot was really smooth… seems like local pilots just dump the plane on the runway.

It's a horrible tourist thing to do.

It actually mostly happens on charter flights. People who fly a lot actually know better than to applaud the pilot for doing his job right. Nobody applauds me when I finish a tax calculation...

I got some odd looks when I didn't applaud when I flew to Greece because I didn't applaud, but to me it just seems silly:p

Maybe it's a Norse tradition...

When the ship captains brought their ships to land, they were cheered, toasted and saluted loudly...

Also, most of the clappings happen when the landing is smooth...The rough ones get no claps...

FYI:
No modern aircraft makes a three wheel touch-down while landing, apart from the choppers and the VTOL aircrafts. The nose wheel is not strong enough to take the load of a touch down. All aircrafts land with the rear two set of landing gears. There is also a lightning discharge wire which comes in contact with the ground when the aircraft lands with the rear wheels and is at an angle.

So it is incorrect to say the highlighted text.

I'd never know a perfect landing even if i were to experience it. But i guess i'm so used to clattering down the runway anything smoothlike would be noted.

However, this particular incident i speak off the plane did the whole clattering and clanging down the runway. Maybe it was because copenhagen weatehr was a bit crappy that day. Rainy and cloudy. Even then....it seemed all fine to me. I should just go back to staring out of the windows than concentrate on landings...it's so not me.

Lufthansa is a good airline but has the worst landings...Germans still land as if reloading for another Blitzkrieg mission...:D

PIA has the smoothest landings...PIA pilots take pride in those landings...

I liked landings by United. :k:

I've always seen it on PIA airlines.... never seemed odd to me

this is not a danish “thing” they must be : wanna be americans.
danishon main yeh bemari kabhi kabhi payee jati hai.