World without Religion

Re: World without Religion

[TABLE=“class: wikitable sortable jquery-tablesorter, width: 1”]

[TH=“class: headerSort, bgcolor: #F2F2F2, align: center”]Country[/TH]
[TH=“class: headerSort, bgcolor: #F2F2F2, align: center”]2008 Count[/TH]
[TH=“class: headerSort, bgcolor: #F2F2F2, align: center”]2009 Count[/TH]
[TH=“class: headerSort, bgcolor: #F2F2F2, align: center”]2008 Rate / 100,000[/TH]
[TH=“class: headerSort headerSortUp, bgcolor: #F2F2F2, align: center”]2009 Rate / 100,000[/TH]

Lesotho

Trinidad and Tobago
58.4 [SUP][17]](Rape statistics - Wikipedia)[/SUP]

Sweden

New Zealand

United States

Belgium

Zimbabwe

United Kingdom (England and Wales)

United Kingdom (Northern Ireland)

Iceland

Norway

Korea

Israel

Finland

France

Mongolia

Chile

Luxembourg

Estonia

Solomon Islands

Rape statistics - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

explain ur theory on this

Then whats the reason for their rapid development?

Sorry.. but how do you relate this to religion. This situation can happen with children of both the religious / non religious people. Fir'on ke ghar Musa wali baat to suni hogi aap ne

^ banday ban ker kaam kertay hain - sara din waylay nahi baithay rahtay

Mere bhai! the example you give of 'natural love of parents', somehow I disagree with that. You know in ancient era pagan bury their kids (specially females) alive. Who teached them not do bury?

Can you produce a chart like this of killings in Muslim countries. Ok let this serious issue aside.. Please compare street crimes of Karachi with any of these places you consider are not following religion.

SK my if you want to compare how adversely religion / exploitation of religion affects a society, please compare Pakistan and India for their economic performances.

This discussion is taken another shape. I'll take a half-time :)

It was a social evil which was no doubt eradicated by the religion.. But society grow and develop with the passage of time. Which country first gave women right to vote? Was that a Muslim country? OR was that possible due to a religious movement?

Not allowed :)

yarr - firstly rape has less of an impact from say country's economy so this could be a valid example to discuss here

my point is in order to discuss religious vs religious morality, you need to pick the examples where there is less influence from non religious factors

the whole argument ends to the notion that - "if i do not have any ultimate accountability - who the hell are u to preach me any lessons on so called morality, good & evil etc"

But we are not comparing Christianity with Islam here. Sorry, but I couldn't get your point for the table above. I mean what the table proves about the impact of not following religion on number of rape cases? BTW, Islami Jamhoriya Pakistan where crimes are normally not reported, would have also a shocking record for such cases (only the reported one).

But its not necessary that religious ruling remained the only mode of accountability in human society. take example of Hammurabi or Chanakiya, they can't be said religious persons, but they prescribed penalties for crimes considering their society.

Bhai! mujeh to is thread mein head or tail ka bhi nahi pata chal raha. Half time for me :rule:

hold up buddy - you are going away from the topic

religion serves as moral guidance and moral values generally remains same and don't change over a period of time. But the rigidity and narrow minded interpretation of religion creates problem. Society can follow social law based on right and wrong of general conscience of the society while religion completes this process by giving theological/moral sanction to it. Has world changed after religion has come? yes. Has it changed for good? Debatable. And would world be different without relgion? highly doubtful.

Care to be more specific? What countries are you talking about?

And also, just because those countries are secular now, doesn't mean that their moral values don't come from religion.

Exactly. When we see the life of Prophet (SAW), he was not following any religion until the age of 40, but his character was the collection of all good qualities. Besides Prophet, there were also some people in Arab, who afterwards accepted Islam at initial stage, who didn't indulge in the evils of the society. This proves that there is something inside human beings, which keep him away from the evil.

If it wasn't religion, it'd be race, language, sex, ethnicity, hair color, eye color, handedness, or one of a gazillion other things. We're pretty petty when we need to be.