Re: World T20 2016 | India v Pakistan | 19th March 2016
Imran Khan: ‘Kohli is a complete batsman’
I think Rahane and Murali Vijay are the most technically sound Indian batsmen. Kohli struggled in England.
I think IK did say that he hasn’t watched Kohli in tests but from what he has seen of him in ODI and T20, he could not find any chinks in his batting.
AB de Villiers (RSA), Hashim Amla (RSA), Joe Root (England), Kane Williamson (NZ) & Steve Smith (Aus, however not such a good record in T20. has yet to prove himself in Asian conditions) are right up there among the top batsmen of this generation; players who have an all round game and have done well in all three formats (Test, ODI & T20)
Rahane, Pujara and Vijay etc. have yet to prove themselves in the two limited overs formats
Imran brings so much respect for Pakistan. yes political differences are there but in many other ways Imran makes us so proud
Agreed. Imran was so eloquent here, impressed with his logical thinking and analysis. gave very decent answers. still so knowledgeable about the game. no wonder the audience were spellbound
I liked the host too, polite and respectful (must be from UP)… not like your average jazbati desi host/anchor. imagine Arnab as host of the show!!
yes, the host took my attention too. very respectful, polite, great pronunciation of urdu and a good ability to carry the conversation forward.
for us pakistanis, it is a pain to hear mumbai type hindi or urdu and we feel it very crude . sentences such as “teray ko bola na, aisaa mat kar”, “kaya ray, abiee kuch bee bolta hai tu” “bol, kaya khayay ga tu”, sound so rude and even the educated ones will speak the same way in most parts of india
. but over the years, i started to realize that they are not being disrespectful, that is how they speak. but when you listen to someone like this host in india, it is a pleasant surprise.
Did you just insult Ornob?
Teynsion nahi lene ka. Tereku kya lagtha hai, aapun ko urdu nahi aatha hai kya? Kaali peeli mood off
IK is too towering a personality in India to be slighted
I was quoting Nohit, Moonstar ji
mein yahan pe filmi dialogue bolon ga, ‘beyzati uss ki hoti hai jiss ki koi izzat ho’
And Mr Goswami has lost that respect with his daily irrational rants and illogical conclusions. Remember he is always right. debate gayee bhaar mein..
I don’t know about Afridi, but sometimes it does feel like that IK is more loved in India than in Pakistan. The warm reception and respect he receives there from the general public to high profile figures is quite unbelievable.
He has a 100 pct winning record in debates.
He is not a politician there.
No i blame it on you by transference and order a punjab police chitrol for you.
When you listen to the greats, the “old is gold” saying really gets tested.
I do agree with imran that taking wickets is key, but he himself was saying that sloppy fielding is ‘ok’ in the past as long as you take wickets. Doesn’t fielding help you get those wickets and also put pressure on the opposing side? The other one was a gem that pakistani cricketers need more test cricket to play better in ODIs; I think Misbah internalized that saying with his ‘tuk tuk’ approach. At least with miandad, the guy could hit a six after ‘tuk tuk’ but misbah wasn’t even able to do that.
You need city teams (lahore, karachi, peshawar etc) that could be fed in from college / university cricket teams. You need a proper club system and sethi type people need to be sent packing to their yellow rags. I see a fat chance of that happening, so expect the same 'ole to continue. \
At least, I am not that emotionally invested in the pakistani team so I don’t feel that dejected if they play unprofessionally unlike 10 years ago.
Well, isn’t Imran also credited for introducing fielding drills in the practice session, especially when he started captaining a much younger side?
There’s a stark difference between what Imran the captain did, and what Imran the analyst says. As an analyst, I find him incredibly forgiving - for someone who is known for being a strict disciplinarian as captain, it was mind boggling to see how he managed to have soft corner for self destructive brats like Shoaib Akhtar and Shahid Afridi - exactly the type of players Imran would have given the boot. Well, unlike all ex cricketers, Imran doesn’t have the habit thrashing players in public, I remember how forgiving he was on the young Sami when every analyst in the country wanted him tied on the lamppost.
I do see wisdom behind what Miandad and Imran says, it is useful to know these things, and they can be an alternative strategy, but not your main game plan as cricket has changed so much over the years.
Imran is right that taking wicket should always be the main aim, that’s attacking cricket. Had that doofus Afridi understood that properly, he would’ve got Amir straight on after Sami instead of experimenting with himself, and then later trying the strategy of blocking boundaries when all they needed was a wicket and a bowler to stop their streak of easy singles.
Shut the hell up please
To me, it seems that both of them haven’t come of age when it comes to T-20s or even ODIs where fast cricket is the norm. Call it Pakistani field placement, but I was still vowed by the footwork and how the indian batsmen played the balls in the gaps to have a decent run rate. This puts the opposing side in pressure unlike doing tuk tuk / playing balls straight to fielders and then trying to go big and getting out.
I know that Saeed Anwar has become a tableeghi and probably hates cricket now, but what about moin khan, amir sohail etc? Inzimam had good technique but I don’t want the batsmen to pick up the bad habit of getting run out or classic inzi, getting others run out. Even bangladesh team is doing it and can go past 300, so I don’t know what is the hiccup with our batsmen? It is just mind boggling.
As for Imran, I still remember an interview where they asked about situations where he got mad. He mentioned of an incident where it was a crucial match and he asked the batsman that will he deliver if he is sent in now? The batsman was all bashful and then came back right away. Imran said that he hadn’t realized that the batsman being lahori was being all juggat baaz with him, but he barely controlled himself from ripping into him right there and then.