Get one of your girlfriends to call him....flirt with him...see what he does....if hes a typical man and goes for it.....you have your get out card...!!!!
Good idea but the best thing is tell your parents.
I agree with the posters above....time to get the parents involved before it gets too far.
Drastic situations require drastic measures. She should talk to her parents and they should get a restraining order from court. It is US he can be taken care of very easily.
I think that other measures need to be taken before doing something drastic....besides restraining orders are not granted for matters like this unless she feels that he will harm her in anyway. So far he doesnt seem to be harmful.
get her to tell her parents. same thing happened to be, this guy was a friend of a friend, i met him at a birthday party. i was nice to him, as in not leading him on but just being polite. he obviously thought i meant something else, he got my number of one of my friends saying i had said it was ok, not thinking twice about it and knowing i had met him she didnt think twice about it. after that he harrased me in every way possible. turbned up to places i regularly went for lunch etc rang me at stupidly early hours of the morning, i tried to ignore it but he took it too far one day when he rag me crying saying he had just taken an overdose because i 'refused to love him'. i freaked and told my parents, they were angry at first etc as they thought i must have led him on or something (which i cab assure you i didnt) but after that they sorted it right out. they talked to his parents, they in turn made him apologise for all the grief he gave me and never to bother me again. and he hasnt. they were honestly the worst couple of months in my life, i know exactly what she must be going through. tell her to tell her parents, might be scary to do so but honestly its the only thing to do before he takes it too far and does something...drastic.
Not to rain down on this sensible "talk to your parents" advice, but I am just chuckling here. In this 21st century, when women are flying off to space, are CEOs of Fortune 100 companies, flying airplanes, engaged in combat during wars, are capable of doing anything a man can do.... and to get rid of a pesty immature boy, you have to run back to your ami and abu for help???
Come on ladies, stand on your own two feet and start to solve your own darn problems.
Call 9-1-1 :)
I am just kiddin. Of course, at heart, you are after all shy mashriqi ladies. Pick up the phone and call your ami.
I’m a girl…but I agree with you Faisal…turning to your parents won’t really do her any good as they won’t really understand what’s going on. Instead of making a big fuss by telling the parents and all she should be strong enough to deal with this on her own. And if he doesn’t even have her number then what is she concerned about. If they don’t talk then let him do or say what he wants since all her friends know about the situation they’re not gonna believe him anyway.
P.S not directing towards your friend. But I’ve seen some girls that like the attention and like it when a guy is desperately after them. It may seem they hate it but deep inside them they enjoy every bit of it.
Telling your parents and being open about what's happening is a way to protect your reputation in desi circles. Regardless of all that women can do in this day in age, in desi communities in particular, their reputations are fragile.
This happened to me with a second cousin. After telling him bluntly in email that I was not interested, by stopping all replies to emails, by keeping my distance, I still was dealing with comments and lovesick comments from him. I didn't want to hurt his feelings, but I was being pushed quite a bit. I told one of my cousins. She mentioned it to my nani. And that was the end of that. He backed down.
yeah the same thing happened to me with a cousin of mine, so I told my parents and the problem was resolved...At the same time, knowing her parents, I don't think that that would be the best option...
soni27, i always get amazed at your level of nosiness and your quickness of making judgements. And its pretty scary to think there might be others like you. Please dont get offended, i just had to get it out of my system.
Its amazing to read how ppl can judge others situation so well!!!
one must realize, its not so easy to tell her parents about all this…
my marrige is somewhat the same! i studied and graduated in UK, my hubby was my senior. He kept following me for 4 yrs in my education era.. where ever i used to go, he was there. meat shop to salon, parking to gym, he was just everywhere. Like that girl i also tried everything. Without a doubt he was very very intelligent and always having A+ grades.
my parents were in dubai and so was his. he send a proposal to my folks through his parents, which my parents accepted as he was a british passport holder and already appointed on a good position in Dubai.
I used to shout at him, yell at him and abuse him. but he kept coming back!!! he said mar kay bhi tum jaisi lerki nai milay gi mujhay… regardless of my dear guppies watever has happened in my after marrige life he is a good man by heart and loves my daughters..
anyways my parents called me and said we have a proposal for u… i was like OK!!! UK mein hai, blah blah all that stuff. i asked my folks do u have his picture. they said not yet but soon. the next week my dad mailed me his pic, i was soooooooooooooooo stunned and shocked. he called me that i have a good news for u… i was so annoyed and angry i called my folks and told them, i am not marrying him, and my parents were like kya burai hai us mein… i said he is after me for so long time… my mother said has he ever done anything bad to u, touched u or anything, i said no!!!