Women

So whenever you listen to most of the lectures by scholars why they always talk about wife’s rights? What about sisters, mothers, daughters? Men are qawaam over women & that means to all women in their family not just wives. But mostly what i see is they only mention wives rights & forget that other women in different relationship has rights too.

Why scholars are more focused on wives rights? Why no one mentions sisters rights over brothers? mothers rights over their sons? daughters rights over their father?

Re: Women

Anyone???

Like I am a sister & daughter, do I have to cook for my father & brothers? Is it not my right to say no too? & if I say no they have to hire domestic help else they will cook themselves as its not my responsibility? Cuz religiously speaking it is mentioned in ahadees that wife doesnt have to cook for her husband & she can say no.
Can a sister & daughter say no too? When you listen to scholars they always mention wives & how they have right & dont talk about sisters, mothers & daughters.

Desi scholar more likely

maybe because of the sterotypes of mother in law in Pakistan

Or maybe usually what the audience like to listen too ?

Peace @tissues,

So many questions. :konfused:

because men usually have bad behavior towards wives rather than sisters and mothers

(wasay I have seen men are always weak be it mother , sister, daughter or wife)

Peace @~Iraj~

Mujeh inke sawaalon ki samjh nahi aai. :help:

Assalam-o-Alaikum

You are absolutely right ! Trend of talking and more discussion is women and wife’s rights. It is because, the rights’ violation, most probably either exist in case wholesome women’s or wife’s rights. Therefore, scholars are highlighted most on these issues. Sister Right’s over brothers or mother is no critical as we are observing in the society

Her questions are as follows :
1)Why don’t scholars talk about the rights of a daughter and a sister?
2)What are the rights of a daughter?
3)What are the rights of a sister?
4)Does she have the right to say no to cooking for her father and brother?

I mean why do u need an order to have a life instead of being a slave?

Everyone has to contribute to be in a household, as long as you are living under a parents roof you are required to within reason do what you are told. Fairness is to have somewhat equal tasks. All my kids are required to do chores, if you are 18 plus and you have a problem doing chores then it is your right to leave or do chores. This is a very disturbing trend where many women are saying that they don’t have to get an income as per their religious right or not cook and clean and yet they want the western freedoms and rights.

I think one of the reasons why scholars mostly mention husband and wife’s right’s is because a family start with man and woman getting married.
Look at Adam and Eve. After that the whole family business started. So if one can’t even be fair to his wife (or husband) then who will he be fair to other relations.
Just my humble opinion.

I think its mainly because in Islamic nations, it is mostly the wife’s right that is violated

The beauty of Islam is that everyone’s rights and responsibilities are just and outlined. Every member of the family should be courteous and supportive with each other.

And I agree with the above^, usually it’s the wife’s rights that get violated the most. Most parents are kind to their children by nature. Most siblings get along and if they don’t they are bound by bloodline so they come around. However with spousal relationships there is a higher chance of doing something unjust thus consistent reminders are needed.

Well I disagree with those who say its mostly wives whose rights get violated. If we see then parents are selling their children, they are killing them, in some parts of the world people still dont like it when a daughter is born. If you see brothers kill their sisters in the name of honour. Mothers/sisters/daughters get ridiculed too, they face emotional & physical abuse too.

If “women” rights are being violated then why only mention wife? Sometimes I think in our society its just husband & wife relation is given all the importance as if other relationships shouldn’t be talked about. If wife earns then her money is hers, if sister earns then her money is hers too, if daughter earns then her money is hers too but what our scholars mention is “wife” & only “wife”.

And siblings dont get along well either, they fight over property & assets when the father is dead but that part of who gets what & how much is thoroughly explained by scholars though.

Our scholars only focus on things they want to focus on I guess.

Islam not only prohibits female infanticide, but it forbids all types of infanticide, irrespective of whether the infant is a male or female. It is mentioned in Surah Al-Anam chapter 6, Verse 151 (6:151).“Do not kill your children out of poverty; We will provide for you and them.”

Honour killings are haram and are condemned by most scholars.

There may not be something explicit when it comes to daughters, sisters, etc but the importance of a mother is outlined multiple times in the Quran/hadith. *A man came to the Prophet and said, ‘O Messenger of God! Who among the people is the most worthy of my good companionship? The Prophet (PBUH) said: Your mother. The man said, ‘Then who?’ The Prophet said: Then your mother. The man further asked, ‘Then who?’ The Prophet said: Then your mother. The man asked again, ‘Then who?’ The Prophet said: Then your father. (Bukhari, Muslim)
If a brother is unjust to his sister or if a daughter is treated unfairly then that is also wrong and not something that is allowed in Islam. Perhaps scholars don’t touch upon it as much, which they should but that doesn’t mean it is of any less value or something that should be taken lightly. (Ibn `Umar said: “A Muslim is a brother of another Muslim. (So) he should not oppress him, nor should he forsake him).

I’ve heard plenty of talks about mothers’ rights over their sons and even some of daughters rights over the father (though many times it’s generally children’s rights on their father. For the answer to you question, my guess is that they see the rights of the wives being neglected most often than sisters’ rights over brothers, fathers etc. and probably that’s why they talk about it more.

:hat: LP,

Peace @tissues,

1. There are plenty of lecture available on social media about rights of a daughter and sisters.
    2, 3 & 4) A daughter/sister must obey to her parents if they ordered to do or don’t to their daughter/sister.

What fathers/brothers are supposed to do? You didn’t care to mention that? You just mentioned daughters & sisters responsibilities but failed to mention fathers/brothers which was the main question to begin with.

And please do kindly post those video links so I can see & I really hope those are not solely based on asssts/ property distribution.

Majority of issues stem from marital problems between husband and wife. Majority of the time, its one of these two that is reaching out for help as well from anyone who will listen.

So maybe more women in general need to step forward and find resources for daughters/sisters. If you see a need, fill it. I don’t see the point in just questioning when you know the answers will not be to your liking.

Peace @tissues

Please see/watch this video:

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMaROeZN9xo

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KAsHc0crBo