Women who "choose to" wear Hijab - Do they have no future?

Re: Women who “choose to” wear Hijab - Do they have no future?

I meant for all the women, not just you. If you dont disobey, MashAllah, continueing abiding by what Allah swt and his Nabi said.

Show me where Muhammad PBUH said that believing men wear a turban.

Re: Women who "choose to" wear Hijab - Do they have no future?

I'm not a super strict hijabi. Maybe I fall under a group who does not practice the meaning of hijab properly. I do have a fiance who used to be my boyfriend(4 yrs) or is he still considered my boyfriend?! i don't know...him n i wanted to have nikah done around the time he proposed to me but our parents wanted us to wait..i know i was supposed to forget abt him right then but i never could coz i'm a weak human, so if people want to judge they can go ahead...they're right about judging me and i'm right about sticking with one guy who i can't forget without a good reason!

Virtue is within. Hijab or lack of it does not ensure it.

corrupt angel

Boyfriend! would be someone you go out with, hug, kiss etc i am pretty positive there are very very very few hijabans who fall under that... ..

corrupt angel - pyaar ko pyaar hi rehne do koi aur naam mat do....

CurruptAngel...
Sister im not gonna judge...Im far from a saint myself...I love girls...What i will say is there are no engagements in Islam so he is your boyfriend just like we keep girlfriends...Your four years is just like anyone elses four years cos obviously it goes against Islam...

And yes i understand where you are coming from...we have feelings and thats the test of Islam...Ration vs instinct and 9/10 instinct wins out...I can say that in my case anyway...so as for that good reason it should be the pleasure of Allah but easier said done right...

Your parents should have let you get married cos then then you wouldnt have been sinning...

And as for those who judge if they judge you based on Islam then accept it...if someone points out my wrong and advises then thats fine...thats their obligation...if people start judging and gossiping then thats another story...

ManWithaPlan...
Agree that hijab doesnt ensure virtue but its an obligation so to be virtuous a girl should wear it ...we're not protestants...with knowledge comes application and with belief comes application...to believe something doesnt make you a good Muslim...I believe everything but practice very little so thats far from virtuous...

NiaKhan...
Nia your an intellgient girl so dont be naive...hijabis get upto the same things as everyone else...'When the heart acts the body is its slave'...Having a hijab doesnt mean you dont have needs or desires...they are human beings who need fulfilment like anyone else...

Hijab is a practice, virtue is nature. I would rather have Muslim girls with good values and education than just hijabans everywhere. I am not going to lecture any girl on hijab because that's their choice. Globalization has changed the world, having decent values is enough. Judging people on dress code really makes no sense.

Bro...right and wrong for a Muslim is based on how they follow their creed right...Thats Islamic virtue...hence practice is indicative of virtue...

You say decent values is enough...but what are your values based on?...If we judge by Islam then decent values include the hijab...girls who dont free mix etc...

In the Western world my values are fine...but as a Muslim my values are extremely flawed...so depends from what perspective one wants to judge isnt it...

naive? :confused:

And i believe i am the first one who admits i look and do scanning every now and then Never touched thats HARAM :cb:
My heart pumps alot of blood for sure and that dhaak dhaak awaz… after seeing something beautiful Mashallah comes out automatically :smiley:

couldnt have said it better myself.

also MWP....globalization doesnt change Islam.

:k: :cb: i love it!:smiley:

:nono: :nono: dil thak thak aur overwork karda kisi khoobsoorat cheeze noo dheke kai:( …hai allah tauba tauba tauba… is kuri da ki hoosi:D …allah bachai sanoun annaan manoos adataaan tou:blush:.

tadi tauba tauba menu tauba tauba ishq mein kareyaa di yaad karanda peya hai…

mein koi choot boleyaa koi nah…we koi naa we koi naa balley balley balley…

sadiyaa adataa nu loki sadi ada kehnde nee chado para tusi.

maan i am good with this dialouge thing :smiley: i should try yash raj movies sometimes :smiley: i can be a good actor :hula:

u mean a good actress.

i just moved to toronto from ny..and i have never seen so many hijabiz at one place...there were so many hijabz wen i went to school in toronto... what shocked me was that they had such a bad repuation in the desi community..everyone looked down upon them and made nasty commentz about then ...but after getting to know about most of them i realized that most of the girls who were giving hijabis a bad name are the girls who are forced to wear hijab from their parentz or thier parentz are too strict about even little things such as going to the mall..they want to do everything out ov curosity.....i have also met hijabz who are wonderful ppl ......following Islam and having fun at the same time...and now Alhumdillah i wear it too and thou i may not be that good of a muslim ... i try to change that i image

PyariSiiBachi...
Thanks for your contribution:)

You make a very important point...a lot of girls who wear hijab and sin do it cos they were forced into wearing it in the first place...

Parents do a terrible job a lot of the time...they enforce rules without explanation...ye karo! wo karo!...without due explanation...so hijab becomes cos dad said so rather than to please Allah...Parents make themselves Allah so kids worry about displeasing their parents rather than Allah so when papa isnt around...then you know the rest...

Parents should help their kids to build and understand their relationship with their creator rather than to build a culture based on fear...

Im at university so if you see how these girls change at halls its crazy but can you blame them?...

let me be paindu :snooty:

Why doesn't hijab stop us from exposing us to our boyfriends?
First of all boyfriends/girlfriends are not allowed in Islam. Men/Women with haya don't do exposing. It's the inner state of the imaan (heart) that can stop someone from indecent acts. Putting a piece of cloth on head can't change a person. According to a hadith, (more or less meaning is) "In the body of a human being there is flesh of meat that if it is corrected, whole body would be correct. And if it is corrupted then whole body is corrupt. And that piece of body is the heart". So, that is the root thing we should work on to improve our actions.

And if choosing not to wear hijab is a matter of personal liberty, then why not choosing to wear it is?
/quote. Well, I think in Pakistan it is not that bad. She should look at the sisters in foreign countries, they are doing a wonderful job in an strange environment. And at times of backlash (due to certain actions by some of our fellows), they are the prime target. Author is in pretty safe place.

Is life all about looking good or being good in others' eyes?
Yes, looking good (under shariah principles) and doing good too. That's one important aspect of Da'wa as well. ("Allah-u-jameelun wa u-hibbu-jamal" --> Allah is beautiful and likes beautiful).

Shouldn't only self-satisfaction and trying to be good in the eyes of Allah be what matters the most to us?
"Only self-satisfaction" ... i think not, this rather could be a dangerous thing. Islamic teachings are categorized into 4 groups (1) Ibadaat prayers Muaamilat dealings Muaashirat [social affairs], and (4) Akhlaaqiat [ethics and manners]. Considering these 4 groups and also the 'huqooq-ul-ibaad', one has to build good relations with other people as well. Also Islam prohibits 'rahbaaniat'. Therefore, one should strive to be good, not only in the eyes of Allah but also other human beings.

what is your take on the author's stance?
Overall, author has tried to show different behaviours towards here religious exposure and also expresses her disappointment. I'd say girls with hijab or boys with beard CANNOT be worried if they are lonely or don't have friendz around. Because they are following a noble command of Allah (swt) (that many of us don't), so Allah (swt) MUST be with them and they should be feeling 'contended' no matter they are alone or in crowd. However, if the author just wanted to depict the general trend in our culture, then it's ok.

I personally have very much respect for the sisters with Hijab specially the ones who abide by its sanctity as well. However, one point i'd mention that once you wear a Hijab or keep a beard, it becomes an apparent identity as a Muslimah or Muslim. Anything bad or silly you would do, it would give bad impression of a 'Muslim' person (due to the identity you carry). My understanding is that if one cannot well represent a faith, then at least should not misrepresent it with any silly acts.

Somtimes i call myself Disco hijaban :D

Nia you said it all.

Actually, in my experiences, it's the other way around. In college, the Muslims generally hung out together. But the hijabis made it hellish for the non-hijabis. Many, but not all, hijabis were belligerent and condescending towards the girls who didn't wear it. There was a lot of polarization based on a small piece of cloth, and it was ridiculous.

People look down upon certain hijabis because of hypocritical actions by them. On one hand, some are constantly preaching about hijab, hinting what good little Muslims they are; on the other, they are the very same ones with boyfriends, which they like to justify by saying that they are looking for husbands. In Islam, any relationship between a non-mahram man and woman is forbidden. If it is truly about marriage, a person shouldn't have a boyfriend for so many years (during which time they are away from the eyes of their parents). As long as you are consenting adults, Islam wants you to get married sooner rather than later. I find it extremely hard to believe that a couple can be together for so many years without transgressing limits. If you claim to be extra religious, you can certainly find a husband without resorting to questionable behavior. It becomes a case of the pot calling the kettle black.

Don't take me wrong, I admire girls who do wear hijab. But the venomous, preachy ones could at least have the courtesy to admire their sisters in Islam who adhere to other rulings more strictly than they do. My best friends in college did not wear hijab, but they were so shareef. Never had boyfriends, never went on dates or to clubs. Everyone is excels in something and everyone is deficient in something. Girls who are deficient in the visible act of wearing a hijab aren't given credit for the noble and honorable niyyah of their hearts.

Contrast that with many of the hijabis I knew.

Certain incidents remain ingrained in my mind. At one MSA function, two girls got into a water fight with each other and pushed each other into a pool in the name of good fun. It was a mixed party, and the rest of us girls cringed as they got out of the pool in their wet t-shirts. The boys obviously enjoyed the sight to the fullest. Who were the culprits? Girls who wore hijab.

Another MSA function. A group of boys and girls are speaking to one another, joking around. A hijabi girl who's an officer of the MSA loudly makes an announcement that it's unIslamic for the genders to be so frank with one another. Ironically, it was well known this same girl also had a boyfriend for six years before he finally married her.

One girl I knew was always lecturing everyone about how we were defying Islam by not wearing hijab. That's all she would talk about at parties or gatherings. One day, a gori friend of mine tells me that she saw this girl in the bedroom with a Muslim guy and they definitely looked like a a couple. (This gori friend's boyfriend shared an apartment with this particular Muslim guy).

Another hijabi I know was caught making out with a Muslim guy on campus.

My own hijabi cousin was "with" an Arab guy on campus. He was a player, and told everyone that she was easy.

One of my friends worked at the health office at college, and she passingly made a comment that quite a few "girls with scarves on their head" come in for free birth control devices.

One on hand you're supposed to cover your beauty, on the other hand, hijabis wear the same amount of makeup, if not more, than other girls.

I do believe in modest dress, but I don't believe that a hijab is any indicator of morality. It's become a social statement that allows you to be part of a certain clique that's all. I know my experiences certainly don't speak for the entire population, but little incidents over the years have colored my view such that I think sharafat is a multi-pronged virtue, more than just head covering alone. It's also an attitude and demeanor and many hijabis (those who claim to be the visible face of Islam) forget that.

1- My sister decided to wear hijab when she was in last semester of university.it was a shock for many when she after vacation went with full full burqa and purdah , even one of her teachers mocked her saying ye kia ban ker aa gae ho , it was very difficult for some one who from most active girl (she was CR of her class -) had to take the role of a hijaban who kept quite most of the time. Any way as she mashallah became very devoute practicising muslimah her dawah complelled some others to wear hijab .

2-It depends, it depends on how the hijaban/bearded behaves after the change. If he/she still talks about boy/girl friend etc then this change is just a cosmetic make ove and no one respect you, if others are sure tyhat the change has converted you into a practising muslim then mostly people show respect.

3-Have you heared that the famous net club case of rawalpindi had videos of many hijabans, it is unfortunate that many take up hijad/beard just to hide thier actual intentions.

Enjoy

http://path-to-peace.net/index.php?ind=downloads&op=download_file&ide=222&file=The Veil.mp3