Women who "choose to" wear Hijab - Do they have no future?

Assalam-o-Alaikum :slight_smile:

I stumbled upon this piece of article printed in this week’s edition of The News. Very thoughtfully written and the portrait that is depicted here by the author has strictly been of own and personal experience. The article is as follows:

my faith**
Sanctity on display?

By Aroona Moshabbbir

It was when I came across some ayahs regarding ‘purdah’, I wanted to wear hijab. It was hard! I had been one of the ‘burger bachis’ of a ‘liberal and open minded’ family. I used to wear jeans, quarters and sleeveless shirts publicly and was considered as a style diva among my peers. Gradually, I started bringing changes in my outlook - from jeans to shalwar kameez, elongating the sleeves etc. Everyone noticed the change but they thought that it had something to do with my style statement. It took me two years to gather up courage and to finally wear hijab. Literally, the world went against me, but I didn’t care. I was determined not to remove it. After sometime, many people understood while the rest compromised.

The real trouble started when I joined the university after college. Old friends weren’t there. I knew I had to make new ones. Still I wasn’t really worried. Socializing with people and making new friends had never been a problem for me. On the first day in the university, I found two other girls wearing hijab. After the orientation session, three of us naturally found each other standing together. They seemed to be nice and decent.

As days passed by, I realized they had nothing much to talk about, except boys! It seemed as if they knew everything about every boy in the university: their habits, academics, friends, everything. Each had a boyfriend with whom she dated quite frequently. And this wasn’t all; they used to detest other girls for the reason that they’d befriended boys or for not covering their heads etc.

Their hypocrisy made me sick. I left them and joined another group. A group of girls from ultra modern families; the kind of family I too belonged to. I thought I’d now be comfortable, but in vain. They used to look down upon those girls wearing hijab, calling them ‘frustrated naik parveens’. Repeatedly, they use to tell me that they feel embarrassed of the fact that I wore hijab. They asked me many times to remove it because it didn’t look good on me. One of them even commented that I was trying to attract boys by putting my, ‘sanctity on display’.

Broken, I had to leave them too.

It makes me wonder where exactly are we heading? Purdah is obligatory in Islam, but doesn’t Islam teach us not to take pride in anything we do? Hasn’t Islam declared backbiting and gossip mongering a sin? Why doesn’t hijab stop us from exposing us to our boyfriends? Islam has clearly defined the limits between mehrams and na- mehrams. And if choosing not to wear hijab is a matter of personal liberty, then why not choosing to wear it is? Is life all about looking good or being good in others’ eyes? Shouldn’t only self-satisfaction and trying to be good in the eyes of Allah be what matters the most to us? Can anyone answer my questions?

The News

An extremely touching, emotional, distressing and poignant read.

Going back to the list of questions posed inside the contents of the last paragraph and several parts of concern mentioned throughout, shall we begin by asking what is your take on the author’s stance? Have you observed any such instance in your locality/neighborhood? Why, those women who “choose to” wear Hijab, are looked down upon (by her other female counter-parts and by the society)? Why the roots of our culture are being torn with every passing day?

Re: Women who "choose to" wear Hijab - Do they have no future?

We came here from Saudi Arabia- at that time hijab and abaya was a must since we lived there. When we arrived here at NY airport my father asked me take off my abaya My father doesn't feel hijab is necessary etc]. I did and as days went by he insisted that i should remove the hijab as well. I did! and i was 13 at that time.

I went to high school without hijab the first day. I felt disgusted i felt as if i was naked and this entire world is staring at me. Went again the second day felt horrible again! Third day told abu ji off. I told abu ji hijab is something that has become part of me and i understand meaning of it. So like it or not i am going to wear it and since then Alhumdulliah it has been good, interesting and astonishing 11 years i am buddhi *yikes...]- I do listen to both of my parents and give them all the respect but sometimes i feel they may not see everything that’s best for us.

I have a problem and that is i don't care about what people think of me. I donot need to sit there and answer anyone's questions nor do i want anyone to judge me.
All of you can call me whatever you want- see if i care :D . I love to have fun, hang out with my friends go wild, listen to music, watch movies, dance like a maniac with friends/sisters, do halla gulla, have no problem have hours of conversation with men I know my limits and I know Allah is watching], I don't have any problem telling someone they are good looking we are talking about a guy here] ETC. At the same time I do go to Islamic school, do my prayers, be there for family/ siblings etc, and help out anyone in need and anyone i can.

I know that Alhumdulliah i have a decent balance of both Islam and the Crazy Wild Nia.

Somtimes i call myself Disco hijaban :D

I think Ms. Aroona Mobashir is a hypocrite she was talking about judging people and passing comments. Look at what has she done in her entire article! If she really feels she is being threatened by the western society she should study from home, get married and start making babies that should solve her problem.

I hate it when people point fingers at others not knowing three of those fingers are facing them....

After 911 i did feel people were anger and madness in people's eyes - i think i would have done the same thing if i was in their shoes. Its human nature and you cannot run away from it. Now i have noticed even on buses and Subways certain people won't bother to sit next to me because they are afraid. Do i care Of course Not. All I know i have to give answers to my deed to Allah and I better be prepared. So my approach to them is always with a smile.

I don't think roots of our culture are being torn but they are getting less and less no doubt. I strongly feel it matters how the child was brought up. The environment they were in when they hit their teen years etc. If you have parents who can teach their kids a good balance of both religion and culture it’s a beautiful thing.

To be honest i see most of the people back home taking Islam as something they inherited. Ask how many read Quran shareef in their lives and you be surprises they thought they only had to read it once and that was about it. How many people are out there who read Quran shareef and don't know meaning of it i admit i am guilty of it but you know what i have started to change myself. i want to know and understand what am i reading- plus shukar hai back in Jeddah they made us memorize Surah with translation]

The End
!

When you make a decision about wearing a hijab,.u have 2 think abt the responsibilities which come with it too. Its all about ur modesty and self respect,....from this article, u can see that sum hijabis are contradicting their beliefs. Its hypocritical really, i think its ridiculous 4 girls 2 don the hijab n den go round having boyfriends,.if they're gna have a boyfriend and do bad things puhleez leave the hijab out of it cos its ruining the reputation of us muslimah's who are wearing the hijab as a sign of self respect.....

Re: Women who “choose to” wear Hijab - Do they have no future?

inzi - i have a question!

Shouldnt that rule be for all the Muslim Girl and Boys on face of this earth?

Why the hell on earth we start pointing fingers at others … :mad:

ya to puray ke puray bure ho jao ya thore se…?

i mean COMEON..

Nia Khan i loved your testimony, :k: shabash girl!

[quote=dhobi_bhai]

Going back to the list of questions posed inside the contents of the last paragraph and several parts of concern mentioned throughout, shall we begin by asking what is your take on the author's stance? Have you observed any such instance in your locality/neighborhood? yes, woman with hijaab are VERY MUCH looked down upon

Why, those women who "choose to" wear Hijab, are looked down upon (by her other female counter-parts and by the society)?
because most women with hijaab in the past were illiterate ladies who knew nothing else than raising bad boys and slutty girls (astafirullh), and they gave a very bad image to hijaaban, so now in my country wearing hijaab leads to only two possible jobs: housewife, beggers (i'm in france)

Why the roots of our culture are being torn with every passing day?
if hijaaban had been as perfect as per Quran (raising their sons and daughters with care and seeking knowledge), there would not have been a bad image associated with hijaab

/quote

can we all just stop criticizing other people and take a look at our own selves.....if someone wears hijab its their choice if someone doesnt its their choice. we shouldnt look down on anyone but instead learn to respect people.

about 95 percent of hijabis i have known (majority in college) are cool, decent, funny smart and wonderful girls .. they have (seemingly) normal lives , i.e., decent social life, hanging out with friends (guys and girls), trips here and there etc.. i dont know them very well so I cant say that they dont have boyfriends, but as far as i've ever seen em, i** can honestly say i've never seen any of em do typical stuff htat ppl r always criticizing hijabis abt, i.e., hugging/kissing/making out with guys in public..**

wats so wrong about a hijabi havin' a boyfren? Instead of mingling with every single guy she is atleast committed to one..no?

i have a q, why dont guys wear a hijab :halo:

its called a beard . j/k :rotfl:

Too many people have issues with hijabis having boyfriends...i know a lot of hijabis with boyfriends...One close friend of mine even...

Is it halal no...but then most things arent...the hijab is one aspect of Islam and because it is visible it leaves these girls more prone to judgement...

A hijabi that has a boyfriend is the same as a boy that goes clubbing and then goes jummah...

So why wear the hijab if you have a boyfriend...your right but its the same as everyone...we do certain things and dont do others...

People pick and choose whats easy for them and avoid whats hard...
Its just the hijabi will get a worse time becuase she is a hijabi...

dont jugde pple by their looks, there are many women/girls who even though they wear a hijab, they do things that are not permitted, they hav boyfriends etc.
then there are those who wear hijab and act as they should, wearing hijab doesnt mean that you have no future, If Allah has shown the right path then following it will lead to a better future.

I suppose it also comes down to what peoples definition of a boyfriend is....

1) a guy you're getting to know before marriage and ur parents know about it.

OR 2) someone ur just messing around with

if its number 1 and parents know then whats wrong with that. if its number 2 its wrong.

because God didn’t ask us to.

lesson learnt - never go by societal stereotypes.

guys do have a hijab, they need to lower their gaze
1st glance is permissible, 2nd 3rd etc is not unless mahrem :D

24:30 Say to the believing men that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty: that will make for greater purity for them: And Allah is well acquainted with all that they do.
24: 31 And say to the believing women that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty; that they should not display their beauty and ornaments except what (must ordinarily) appear thereof; that they should draw their veils over their bosoms and not display their beauty except to their husbands, their fathers, their husband’s fathers, their sons, their husbands’ sons, their brothers or their brothers’ sons, or their sisters’ sons, or their women, or the slaves whom their right hands possess, or male servants free of physical needs, or small children who have no sense of the shame of sex; and that they should not strike their feet in order to draw attention to their hidden ornaments. And O ye Believers! turn ye all together towards Allah, that ye may attain Bliss.
33:59 O Prophet! Tell thy wives and daughters, and the believing women, that they should cast their outer garments over their persons (when abroad): that is most convenient, that they should be known (as such) and not molested. And Allah is Oft- Forgiving, Most Merciful.
Hadith:
Man: should cover the naval to the knee.
*Women:*Head to Toe, face and hands can show.
Criteria for both: Cant be transparent, Cant resemble the opposite sex, shouldnt be glamorous enough to attract the opposite sex, shouldnt resemble the unbeliever, should not be tight enough to reveal the figure.

If your not a believer, you dont have to, but dont purposely disobey what Allah swt and Muhammad PBUH has said and then call yourselves “moderate muslims.” Cuz there is no such thing, only muslims and non-muslims.

We shouldn't be worrying about "culture" at all. Culture is an evolutionary thing, it evolves with time, adapts from surroundings, adapts from "powerful nation" of the time, changes with people's behavior with time etc.

What we should worry about is following Islam for the sake of Allah.
One of the reasons "hijabans" are looked down upon is that a big majority of us follows cultural Islam hence the entity looses its "religious" value and becomes "cultural value" and people then try to stick to it "warna log kia kahayn gai" rather than "Allah ke samnay kia jawab den gai". Its not possible for every human being to distinguish one type of hijaban from the other hence we all tend to use one brush for them all.

Afridi: when did i disobey wht THEY said :konfused:

Anyway arent we suppose to follow Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H) foot steps too, well he used to wear a turban. y dont guys wears um?

Impulse...
Your first definition isnt permissable...even if your parents know about it doesnt mean its ok...

Musicmaniac...
Hijabs an obligation...turbans an option...simple...

Sidz Angel...
Agreed...wearing hijab doesnt ensure you are religious but not wearing it does make you sinful...