Women Saints in Islam?

There is no such thing in Islam (some people will contest even “normal” saints). Why is this so?

In another thread i mentioned Hazrat Rabia Basri who was deemed as such. I also mentioned about Hazrat Khwaja Chisti of Ajmer telling a women to convert to sikhism if she wanted to become a woman saint. Sorry i dont have sources for this particular event.

Re: Women Saints in Islam?

There might have been countless coz we don't know about them. Coz they did not interact with people like the males.

Exactly my point...why are they not celebrated like there male counterparts?

Coz they are not known.

Unlike christianity where the church declared people saints, in Islam it is arbitrary, people knew some great people and considered tem saints. Women were not famous enough.

there is no concept of "saints" in Islam....
and if you are talking of pious muslims, then there are hundreds of sahabiyaat....

Indeed there isnt!

Thats just a term for a holy man....right?

A saint is said to have a more deeper connection with the divine, such that you could go to them to intervene with the divine on your behalf.

I think there are religious people. Then there are spiritual people. I don't know if anyone really has the power to talk to God on my behalf. And even if they do, why bother with the risk of frauds these days, when you have 5 namazein, or 5 opportunities in the day to talk to God yourself (3 for other denominations in Islam)?

As far as the history goes, muslims never MADE any females into saints, because women have been pretty sidelined in muslim culture (not Islam, but CULTURE) for some time. You know it started pretty early after the Prophet's death, when the male sahabas left the females, like Aisha (R) and Fatima (R) out of the power decisions.

How could you possibly expect jaahils living in villages to consider a religious female a "saint", then? They don't even give females basic rights these days. Treat a woman like a human, saint tho duur ki baath hai.

Do we all ,not talk to God. When we pray?

Peace knockout_artist

If you had quoted PyariCguria's whole sentence you will see that she is not rejecting the idea, but only rejecting the idea of it being done on her behalf.

Maryam (AS) was a saint in my books ... The best woman that mankind will ever get.

As mentioned earlier many acknowledged sahabiat (RA)

There have been a number of women scholars also.

I think that is as far I am prepared to go.

I alway mess with PCG. I like reading her furious comments.

On a separate note:
In pakistan I use to drop off my family at a park for a walk. On the way, We use to play surrah yaseen -surha rehman cd. I distinctly remember on of those surah Allah swt says "the people you call, beside God, for help would be present as your army on Qe`ema--So you could see if they can help you any ways"
I mean people could making and attending phone calls to/from allah. But I am not asking any one for help but allah.

Abhay. Read the entire sentence, for a change.

2 Likes

^ aby kis to baola byyyy.
Anways I DON'T need to read whole posts.
Hum kitab a cover dekh ker subject pata ker lete heen

was there any reason to include them in "power decisions" ?

^PCG....what is the meaning of the word saint?

^ I wonder if she even under stand the word saint.
Lets see what see says.

AOA

Rabia basri on one side............ and Hazrat mariam on the other side..............
It is widely beleived that Rabia basri was a female saint but their is a difference of openion among scholars on Hazrat mariam being a SAINT or Female PROPHET.

WS

They are more than 50% of your population and they're rearing your kids - they have a great interest in the laws and policies you make. OF COURSE, they need to be part of power decisions!!!!!

See, this is the problem with you people. What reason do YOU have to be part of power decisions that women do not have?!? We're human beings - we're affected by laws and policies and the decisions our leaders make just like anyone else.

Hareem, I don't have time for your silly games. What are you getting at? Are you saying I think women should be saints? I don't think anyone should be saints. Therefore, I could care less what your definition of "saint" is.

^ but women are better doing/understanding thing.
And men are better doing different sets of things.

But I do agree women should be part of decision making as they could see the things men can't.

Main pushtu main baat nahi ker rahi.....dikhaayee nahi deta main ne kya poocha hai?

Saints in Christianity are Sahaba(companions) of prophets, but I don't know who do you call a saint in Islam?

I think you think saints are people in power like Bush.