Rabia basri on one side............ and Hazrat mariam on the other side..............
It is widely beleived that Rabia basri was a female saint but their is a difference of openion among scholars on Hazrat mariam being a SAINT or Female PROPHET.
Saints in Christianity are Sahaba(companions) of prophets, but I don't know who do you call a saint in Islam?
Interestingly the present "Saint-hood" in Christianity has a mainly Roman Catholic basis. Originally ALL believers were considered as "saints" as can be seen from the writings of the apostels in their letters making up the New Testament.
I agree with everything you wrote, except one part, because I don’t understand what you are referring to.
Yes I can talk to Allah SWT directly and that is what HE wants me to do as well. HE says in the QURAN: Al-Baqara (The Cow) [2:186]](IslamiCity - The Global Muslim eCommunity)
However, I think the idea of having someone else make dua is also sound and is from the SUNNAH of the prophet SAW.
The problem is that muslims blew it out of proportion.
One incident when a Sahabi asked Rasul Allah SAW to make dua for him, the Prophet SAW replied more or less: I will but assist my dua with your deeds…
Same would be the case with anyone such as Rabia Basria (rehimullah) that if she was pious and connected with Allah SWT, then those who write about her make her into a superhuman and tell things of her that did not happen to the Prophet (S) nor his followers. So she could have made dua for someone, but I find it hard to believe that she or anyone like her, man or woman, a true follower of Rasul Allah SAW, would have encouraged the idea that they are talking to Allah for them and everything is then A-OK.
Now, about the other comment, I just have this to add. And I am not trying to argue with you but share.
I seriously believe that there exists a misconception among todays muslims about what happened after the Prophet’s (S) death regarding Aisha RA and Fatima RA.
If we read the historic text that are verifiable, we find that the Sahabah frequented Aisha (mother of believers) RA because she is the source of most of the verified hadith. They learned 1-1 from her to the point that people contest today on what kind of seperation existed b/w her and the companions of Rasul Allah (S). Most believe she taught from behind a curtain or other seperation.
Anyhow, the point is that it is the “juhala” of islam that degraded the position of women and then today we find women trying to regain themselves.
I don’t think I need to comment on Fatima RA’s roles or life. She was a selfless person who lived a life of struggle and was obvioulsy loved by her father too much. She was promised to be the leader of women in Jannah and her status is unquestionable. I think her personality was of a different sort.
Hearing some thing does not validate sis, u can validate this by quranic tafaseer e.g Ibni khathir or ibni kaseer. I read it my self that status of Hazrat mariam is open debate whether being saint or prophet such as the case with Hazrat Khizar ( whether prophet or saint).
reasoning or logic behind are the two different realities
1) some scholars beleive women can not be a saint dues to some technical islamic and social reasons
2) others beleive that she used to Wahii which is the speciality of prophets and thus elevates from her to prophet hood from being saint
There is no such thing in Islam (some people will contest even "normal" saints). Why is this so?
In another thread i mentioned Hazrat Rabia Basri who was deemed as such. I also mentioned about Hazrat Khwaja Chisti of Ajmer telling a women to convert to sikhism if she wanted to become a woman saint. Sorry i dont have sources for this particular event.
You certainly living up to your "Nick" .............. stonecold!
each one of us has known a Woman saint.................no need to search for one..........
Your Mother is/was a Saint...................... she raised you.......Right!
I know mine was...................May Allah bless her soul!
So one goes to a saint to lead you to Jannah!
while it is all the time UNDER your own Mom's FEET!.............:)
In islam word used for saint is Wali, which mean freind and thus when we put Allaha beside it becomes Wali-u-Allah that is freind of Allah.
To be one different school of thoughts have different steps/ways to reach there one example could be
1) admi or human..............every one is
2) Abid ---------- no ibadaat are left out by
3) Zahid--------- even no act of zuhd is left out intnetional or unintentional
4) Aarif --------- he has the ma-arifat of Allaha (swt)
or in other words
1) he travels from among the people towards Allah (swt)
2) he travels from Allah (swt) to Allah(swt) that is understands different aspects of Allah (swt)
3) he travels from Allah (swt) towards humans
4) He travels among people with Allaha (swt)
One hadseesay qudsi
" Jo mera may usskaa, phir meree marzee uss kee marzee"
2nd story from bible
one is dreaming that he is walking with some one on sea-shore and he sees a 2 pairs of footsteps (that is his own and some one else) when he has good time and no problem but when ever he has hard time he sees only single pair of footsteps. He asks who is it and the reply is I am Ur Lord/God. He gets shocked and says if this is the case then why u leave me alone and go away when i have hard time while I am following ur path. Lord asks him why do u think that. He answers coz I see single pair of steps. Lord smiles and says coz when u have hard time I am holding u in my arms.
For bettter undersanding " jakaa uchatum cha taa baach shay willay chaa taa daa maa paa lyaaray yeh" (pushto)
Whatever you want to call the most righteous amongst *any *group of believers, of course women can be among them - saints, prophets, companions, angels, messengers, martyrs, etc. Anyone who thinks otherwise is following a traditional, patriarhcal and outdated interpretation of culture and trying to traject that into religion.
Main pushtu main baat nahi ker rahi.....dikhaayee nahi deta main ne kya poocha hai?
Saints in Christianity are Sahaba(companions) of prophets, but I don't know who do you call a saint in Islam?
I think you think saints are people in power like Bush.
Ok so you're asking me a question that smacks of disrespect. Then you disrespect me more by saying that I think saints are people in power like Bush? Aap ka dimagh zara off hai; I refuse to respond to such nonsense. I think my posts are very clear about how I see this situation, and I don't know where you're getting anything about Bush from, or how that's relevant to this thread.
First off, I really appreciate how RESPECTFUL your comments were.
Thank-you.
I think you and I are on the same page. I don’t see anything you’ve written about that I would strongly disagree with. I don’t know EVERYTHING about what went on immediately after the Prophet’s death, since I was not there. But I do think we should be providing women more respect, and more authority in decision making in society than we PRESENTLY do. I don’t think we’re anywhere CLOSE to respecting women, the way the Prophet used to respect women. I’ll be darned to find women respected ANYWHERE close to the way Fatima bibi and Aisha (R) were respected in today’s age, no matter how much they deserve it.
That’s what I meant by my earlier comments. We can’t respect women like normal human beings - clearly, since you can see worldwide the things women are going through despite how many generations of mankind’s existence. You’d think we’d have gotten it right by now. If we can’t give them basic respect, its of no surprise that people who do give “sainthood” to one another do not include women in this category (that’s irrespective of what my thoughts are on sainthood to begin with).
They are more than 50% of your population and they're rearing your kids - they have a great interest in the laws and policies you make. OF COURSE, they need to be part of power decisions!!!!!
See, this is the problem with you people. What reason do YOU have to be part of power decisions that women do not have?!? We're human beings - we're affected by laws and policies and the decisions our leaders make just like anyone else.
they can certainly exert influence from their homes or mosques ...but the examples you quoted were suggestive as if you approve of fitnah/bloodshed caused by some of these personalities that is explicitly forbidden in Quran .....
Hearing some thing does not validate sis, u can validate this by quranic tafaseer e.g Ibni khathir or ibni kaseer. I read it my self that status of Hazrat mariam is open debate whether being saint or prophet such as the case with Hazrat Khizar ( whether prophet or saint).
reasoning or logic behind are the two different realities
1) some scholars beleive women can not be a saint dues to some technical islamic and social reasons
2) others beleive that she used to Wahii which is the speciality of prophets and thus elevates from her to prophet hood from being saint
"And sis I speak pushto , u can talk in pushto."
WalahuAlim
tc, Ah
When I said I've heard, I meant I've heard from the Scholars, I don't remember reading this in Ibn Kathir but will find out, inshaAllah.
Ok so you're asking me a question that smacks of disrespect. Then you disrespect me more by saying that I think saints are people in power like Bush? Aap ka dimagh zara off hai; I refuse to respond to such nonsense. I think my posts are very clear about how I see this situation, and I don't know where you're getting anything about Bush from, or how that's relevant to this thread.
Well, I asked you a simple question.....what is the meaning of a saint bcoz different people have different understanding of this word but you thought I'm playing " Silly Games ".
And in every post of yours, you are talking about women being in power like every female saint has to be in leadership, or without gaining power and without being a leader of some sort she can't be a saint.
Is that really your understanding of female saints in Islam?
And I remember we did talk about this whole issue of women in leadership etc, and I told you with the proof that women can be in leadership except the position of a khalif or Imam.
Now please talk about female saint instead of going off topic.
they can certainly exert influence from their homes or mosques ...but the examples you quoted were suggestive as if you approve of fitnah/bloodshed caused by some of these personalities that is explicitly forbidden in Quran .....