Wives warning / threatening their husbands not to keep a beard

Re: Wives warning / threatening their husbands not to keep a beard

true, but taqwa is acquired through true belief...not appearance.......
devotion, obedience...and a God-fearing nature comes first...then it is your personal choice whether to adorn a beard or not....without thinking that this particular adornment is your stairway to heaven.

right, so we got one part straight

no, God-fearing also means following the Prophets (saw) example in life

he was the 'walking-quran'.

and you're going off-course again.. the beards primary reasons is not an adornment. Do you wear clothes to adorn yourself with or do you wear it for haya & religious reasons.. answer is both.. but first comes religious reasons, then haya, then adornment

likewise

yes Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) was the true example, but his choice for keeping a beard shouldnt intercede with the belief system/the word/direct orders from Allah..
A beard does not have a religious connotation, and when you say following the Prophet's (pbuh) example in life, then you should keep this in mind that his way of life was not separate from what is mentioned in the Quran.

A beard does not have a religious connotation

lé sigh!

^lol..no seriously...it is very vague...
a concept that correlates with Islam on a more personal level..than religious..

our accountability..our obligations.. go hand in hand for fard.

i really wish people would stop putting so much importance and emphasis on how to "look" like a Muslim..and actually accept the fact that we are human beings...we are unique in looks...we are not clones of each other...why hide under a cloak of looks...why not focus on becoming good muslims...as opposed to looking like one...
we do not have to live up to a beard..the beard does not set standards...

I think what you're saying is different than what brother STP is trying to get across- of course beard is not the way to heaven and it would be foolish for one to think that just by growing a beard, you're now qualified as pious and religious. However, if someone chooses to keep a beard, they are doing so for the love of the Prophet PBUH and one shouldn't stop them from it. It's not like they are doing a bad deed, they are gathering alot of sawaab for growing a beard. The wife should not start criticizing the looks or restrict them from doing something just because it's not 'fard'. All the sahabas and Prophets had beards with the exception of Adam and there's nothing wrong with wanting to be like them.

i know shay..i dont understand that…i mean if the wife doesnt like the beard…why bring up religion…or the concept of sawab for beards? i am not sure where/why/how the sawab thing comes in..??
orthodox jews keep beards…because of social and cultural reasons…but i am not familiar with any ‘laws’ in Islam promoting beard growth…jews do it because they want to ‘look jewish’…so i am not sure about the sawab thing…hmm.. :confused:

Well i have never seen Maulvi sahab or Junaid jamshed's beard but yes i have seen my husband's and my father's beard .I really love the way they look with their beards mashAllah.I feel a special noor on their faces .

I would never recommend my husband even to trim his beard less than a fist length.I wouldn't have married him at the first place if he was missing this Sunnah of our beloved Rasoolullah (saw).I don't mind long beard at all as far as it is a fist lenght or more than that is ok too,but sunnah is a fist lenght.

Alhamdulillah my husband always encourages me and supports me to follow sunnah.Even in the matter of hijab/purdah Alhamdulillah my husband,my family and even my inlaws had been very supportive of me:).

Search Results

why the hell did this major "maulvi" marry such a woman in the first place

secondly if a woman insists on such a irrational demand then its time to get rid of her or alteast threaten with divorce so she changes her way

yes but it has no mention of whether or not Allah has made this a rule or law..or a sin..or haram..etc…
also muslima21, so you think the noor is because of the beard…not their good deeds??

beard or no beard..doesnt really matter…unfortunately..people in this thread are correlating piety with beards..and i find that disturbing…keeping a beard is sure not a holy mission.

*Quran has no mention of facial hair…its importance was established post-Quran.

Secondly the relationship we have with our beloved Prophet (pbuh)..and keeping a beard because he did is our personal business…not a law.

A man’s got to do, what a man’s got to do … :chai:

^ shave it off?

... no whatever he feels like :)

Elaborate it for me please

As in my humble opnion ‘ libas ka taluq maSHraat se serif us waqt taak hai .. till the mo it fulfils the ShaRaii requirement ‘ .

We wear shalwar kameez in pakistan.
Arabs wear abayas
indian muslims wear saris
kashmiris wear the traditional pheran
turkish,chinese,american,european muslims...all have their own respective clothing..within the boundaries of the Islamic belief...are you going to label them as unislamic...??

:) libas ya daarhi se musalmaniyat nahi measure ki jati.

First, a few evidences to know what we are dealing with:

Allah (SWT) says in the Qur'an:
"He who obeys the Messenger has indeed obeyed Allah." (An-Nisaa 4:80)
"And obey Allah and obey His Messenger." (At-Taghaabun 64:12)
"The reply of the believers when they are summoned to Allah and His Messenger so that he can judge between them, is to say, 'We hear and we obey.' They are the ones who are successful." (An-Noor 24:51)
"Whoever disobeys the Messenger after guidance has been clarified to him, and follows other than the path of the believers, We shall give to him what he deserves and broil him in hell, which is the worst abode." (An-Nisaa 4:115)
"Follow not the whims of those who have no knowledge." (Al-Jaathiyah 45:18)

Rasoolullah (SAW) says:
"Verily, the best guidance is Muhammad's guidance." (Sahih Muslim)
"Whoever imitates a people is but one of them." (Abu Dawood; Hadith Sahih)

Ahaadith pertaining to the command of growing the beard:
"Be different from the Mushrikin (those who worship other than Allah (SWT)); trim your moustaches and save your beards." (Sahih Al-Bukhari and Sahih Muslim)
(In other Sahih narrations it is mentioned in this manner: "trim your moustaches and let alone your beards"; also "lengthen your beards")
"Ten things are fitrah (natural). To cut the moustache and lengthen the beard (are from amongst these ten things)." (Narrated by Hadhrat A'ishah (RA); Sahih Muslim)

An account relating the displeasure of Rasoolullah (SAW) on seeing a beardless person:

Kisra, the Persian Emperor, after tearing off the letter that Rasoolullah (SAW) sent to him, asked his ally Baazaan, the ruler of Yemen, to summon Rasoolullah (SAW). Bazaan dispatched two men to capture Rasoolullah (SAW) [Na'oozubillah]. When they came into his presence, he noticed that they had shaved their beards and grew their moustaches. He hated to look at them and addressing them, he said: "Woe be to you, who told you to do so?" They replied: "Our lord! (referring to Kisra)" Rasoolullah (SAW) then said: "But my Lord, may He be exalted and glorified, has commanded me to leave alone my beard and to trim my moustache." (Narrated by Ibn Jarir; Hadith Hasan)

From the above evidences, it can be agreed upon that the growing of a beard was an explicit command of our beloved Rasoolullah (SAW).

But what about the "It's only a Sunnah not a Farz" argument?

It is a Sunnah, no doubt, but there is a difference between an explicit command and a recommendation. An explicit command of Rasoolullah (SAW) HAS to be obeyed. Why? The aayaat quoted above should suffice as an answer if we are of the opinion that being a Muslim itself does not warrant the obedience of Rasoolullah (SAW). We will all agree that Allah's (SWT) command is Fardh. So, didn't Allah (SWT) ask us to "obey His Messenger"? This goes to say that obeying an explicit command of Rasoolullah (SAW) is commanded by Allah (SWT). Not doing so is going against a command of Allah (SWT).

A practice which Allah's Rasool (SAW) has simply recommended comes under the optional Sunnah. Take for example the sunnah of the Miswaak. Here's a hadith on the virtues of doing Miswaak: "Hadhrat A'ishah (RA) narrates that Rasoolullah (SAW) said, 'Making Miswaak purifies the mouth and is a means of gaining the pleasure of Allah (SWT).' (Mishkat)" Making it a practice of doing Miswaak will earn us Allah's pleasure and will purify our mouth at the same time. Not doing so will deny us these benefits. Similarly, the Sunnah of applying perfume ('Itar) carries great virtue, yet, it is only optional.

Let's look at an example from the life of a Sahaabi (RA) concerning the obligation of keeping the beard:

Upon being asked by a Sahaabi of Rasoolullah (SAW) as to why he always has the hair of his head shaven, Hadhrat Ali (RA) said: "I have heard Rasoolullah (SAW) as saying: 'Impurity exists beneath every strand of hair.' (Mishkat)" Hadhrat Ali (RA) had very thick and dense hair, and therefore, he used to shave it regularly because he feared that growing his hair could hinder the cleansing during ghusul. It is reported that he also had a very dense beard spanning the width of his shoulders and stretching down to his chest. Why did he then not remove his beard to avoid impurity? It only suggests that as an explicit command of Rasoolullah (SAW), it could not be disobeyed.

Also, none of the Sahaabis (RAA) ever had their beards less than a fist-length as stated by Ibn 'Umar (RA).

Furthermore, all the 'Ulamaa of salaf (pious predecessors), including the Four Imams, other great fuqahaa and mujtahids including Imam Ibn Taymiyyah (RA) concluded that growing the beard to a fist-length is waajib (obligatory) and shaving it is haram.

Well as far as the liBas is in accordance with ShaRia Requirement , no one has a problem here ..

Before we take it further and discuss whether Sari complys with the requirements or not

Why don’t you tell us what are your views on ShaRia requirements for women clothing , what should / shouldn’t be included ?