Well, I understand that a husband should not force his wife to wear hijaab, and this topic has been discussed a lot in the recent past on different levels.
I want to bring into your notice, that I know a lot of men who never forced their wives in doing whatever they wanted. They even didn’t force them to wear hijaabs. BUT when at one stage of their life they realized the sunnah of the prophet (saw) and were convinced to follow it, they faced the worst resistance from their Muslim wives.
I have heard of so many incidents in which threats were being given. I even came to know from a friend that an Army Major’s wife in Pakistan took too many sleeping pills when her husband didn’t cut his beard after she insisted too much to him. Her husband took her to the hospital and talked to the best doctors to take full care of her. He tried everything to save her. When she was saved and her health become good, she returned home to see her husband with exactly the same beard. The same husband who never forced her to do anything, smiled at her and told her that he would not cut his beard.
p.s. Alhamdulillah, my wife never insisted me to cut my beard. May be her ancestors belong to that tribe in Saudia Arab, the women of which refuses to marry a guy without this sunnah of the Prophet (saw), no matter how high his status and character is.
Re: Wives warning / threatening their husbands not to keep a beard
^ I know few people like that Major, who don't force others, but also make sure that others don't misuse their soft attitude in convincing them to take a step against their own beliefs. :) Very inspiring for me.
I have heard of so many incidents in which threats were being given. I even came to know from a friend that an Army Major's wife in Pakistan took too many sleeping pills when her husband didn't cut his beard after she insisted too much to him. Her husband took her to the hospital and talked to the best doctors to take full care of her. He tried everything to save her. When she was saved and her health become good, she returned home to see her husband with exactly the same beard.
Fish story alert! haha! So she never got to see him while she was in the hospital recovering in the outpatient? What a lousy husband!
Spock makes a good point. What concerns me in this story is what kind of husband would not try to visit his wife in hospital after a suicide attempt? :o
Of course he visited her, but during most of his visits she was unconscious. Even when she regained consciousness may be she might be consoling herself with thoughts that he was too busy to decide to shave, and he would give her a sudden surprise when she reaches home.:) it was a surprise but not in her favor. =)
Just my understanding, might be wrong. Yaar, don't ignore the main message by finding out minor mistakes in my wordings. I know a lot of people who have been given serious threats, I am sure there are people here who might know such people.
Alright, a general question to all the sisters on Gupshup.
If at any stage of life (before the age of 35), your husband wants to keep a beard, (long one similar to Molvi sahab or like Junaid Jamshed, not the french cut or other latest fashion of singers and actors...etc.) Would you be OK with it ?!?
Please answer while considering the fact that if he also allows you to follow the sunnah or fashion whichever you prefer in your life.
Alhamdulillah my wife is very supportive of it. In fact she would not have married me if I didn't keep a beard. Even some of my friends have turned down rishtas because the girl and/or her family didn't want them to keep a beard.
What I have seen unfortunately, is that the most resistance against one growing the beard is by one's own family. May Allah give us all hidayah..ameen.
I think husband and wife should be supportive of each other and before taking any action, they should think if their partner would be happy with it or not. I think nothing should be out of the question. Keeping or not keeping the beard should always be a decision that could be considered. Nothing should be above discussion.
As for Weakness, i think it means different to different people. To me, weakness is the inability or fear of taking decisions consulting your intution. Weak is a person, who cannot think out of the box. Weak is a person, who thinks keeping a beard, or not keeping it, is out of question! Priority should be given to mutual happiness of both the partners and nothing else!
although i dont wear hijab but i asked my hubby to grow a beard after we got married:)i think the point is that some women would not like flowing,down to the chest kind of beard.but otherwise a neatly trimmed beard looks nice in my opinion.
Mirch bhai unfortunately this happens in my family alot. My dad kept a beard but my mom told him to remove it and also my eldest mamo also had a beard but my own nani ammi told him to either get it coloured or get it cut and he had to get it cut.
Has anyone wondered 'why' these women goto great lengths to prevent their hubbies from keeping these long long beards? Its because they look BAD! Though I dont believe this fish story but Im surprised the women didnt go back to a coma after she saw her husband's beard again when she regained consciousness.
The other day I was at an iftar in the islamic center and this uncle with a really long beard was eating Ras Malayi, and half his beard was dipped into the bowl he was eating from! Lost my apetite, even when my tummy was signalling hunder pangs to me!
Sometimes its good to listen to your wives!! If she tells you, that you dont look good, better believe it! If you absolutely must keep it, trim and make sure it looks good on you.
On a side note, Pakistani guys have great affinities (almost a fetish) for keeping a 'moonch', like Sara mentioned. That looks BAD too!
Well, I understand that a husband should not force his wife to wear hijaab, and this topic has been discussed a lot in the recent past on different levels.
I want to bring into your notice, that I know a lot of men who never forced their wives in doing whatever they wanted. They even didn't force them to wear hijaabs. BUT when at one stage of their life they realized the sunnah of the prophet (saw) and were convinced to follow it, they faced the worst resistance from their Muslim wives.
I have heard of so many incidents in which threats were being given. I even came to know from a friend that an Army Major's wife in Pakistan took too many sleeping pills when her husband didn't cut his beard after she insisted too much to him. Her husband took her to the hospital and talked to the best doctors to take full care of her. He tried everything to save her. When she was saved and her health become good, she returned home to see her husband with exactly the same beard. The same husband who never forced her to do anything, smiled at her and told her that he would not cut his beard.
p.s. Alhamdulillah, my wife never insisted me to cut my beard.** May be her ancestors belong to that tribe in Saudia Arab**, the women of which refuses to marry a guy without this sunnah of the Prophet (saw), no matter how high his status and character is. :p
You people make me sick. Your inferiority complex must weigh a ton.
well...i believe you have been given a choice...beard or no beard...if the person you are spending your life with doesnt agree to it...there is no harm done if you dont have one.
but if you force her to believe that this is the only way you can present yourself to be a good muslim...then go ahead.
you dont have to be a clone when it comes to appearances ...having a beard doesnt automatically make you a good muslim...or a better muslim.....
Alright, a general question to all the sisters on Gupshup.
If at any stage of life (before the age of 35), your husband wants to keep a beard, (long one similar to Molvi sahab or like Junaid Jamshed, not the french cut or other latest fashion of singers and actors...etc.) Would you be OK with it ?!?
Please answer while considering the fact that if he also allows you to follow the sunnah or fashion whichever you prefer in your life.
If you really want an honest answer then mine is that I would strongly oppose it.
as far as the long flowy beards are concerned...those are so unhygienic.....
secondly...why conclude religion as ritualistic...why put so much emphasis on beards..and shalwars...etc...it just gives it a cult like mahol...IMO..there are more practical ways of becoming closer to Allah!..