Will you ever

marry a guy if his mom doesn’t like/accept you?:hmmm:

Re: Will you ever

Yes, you can easily change her mind/make her accept you. She’s a woman at the end of the day, remember? :halo:

/\ Yeah, women keep changing their minds.

Yes, so what initiator? :aq:

Just making a statement.

autumn - perhaps the degree of her disliking would be a factor? i.e. if she just dislikes you because you dont meet her standards, or she utterly hates you. In the first case a little convincing and acting nice could melt the mother. In the latter case, you could find yourself in the middle of a storm of conflicts and fights. Hard to generalize, it would depend more on the specifics of the case.

Trust me if that lady dont likes you,she wont like you the rest of her life.ahhh we women are ****.anyways if the situation is that the larka is razzi and ammi abba not ,is a very hard one.here the guy has to be very strong and should deal with his parents himself.he should not let you to confront them.its better that you respect eachother.plus education also depends alot .my cousins inlaws are from village and now they are settled abroad.her hubby did a love marriage and now its been 12 yrs and trust me the amma jaan koi mooka haath sai nahi janai daitee jiss mai she dont insult her and her family.

so think twice making the decision.

plus its not a film jis mai larki nai MIL ki din raat khidmaat ki aur 2,3 gannai gaai ,3 thappar khaii aur saab teeak hoo gaiya:D

I know you can change the mindset of some people, but this is not always going to be the case. If I could detect any animosity or that she does not like me even after I have repeatedly tried, I would find it hard to settle down with such a guy.

I wouldn't expect the guy to choose either as that is too cruel and I hate confrontrations at the best of times and life is complicated enough already without making it harder by listening and getting unnecessary arguments. I am a higjly family orientated person so I would want his parents to like me.

Sigh

Why are you sighing?

I dont think I could but it differs from case to case. If she is violently opposed to this union then think twice about entering it. If she simply has reservations about you and doubts you somewhat, you can change her mind with your good behavior.

My sister's MIL thought a girl from US would be bad for her son because she would be forward, mean, too advanced, etc. These are her words, not mine. Now, she sings praises of my sister and takes such good care of her everytime she goes to Pakistan. But its because everytime she comes here, my sis goes out of her way to make her happy.

Think of the reasons too. Some MIL simply want to choose and thats it. Some really believe a foreign born girl will ruin their family. Some think American girls dont know how to cook and therefore will starve their sons, lol. Some are just mean. Some simply need tiny bit of convincing, they might be scared of you too. Some dont need any, they fall in love.

^ so know what u mean :)

it can all be changed. Spend time with the MIL (one on one) and treat her like a friend.. talk about aiween aiween things and you'll soon be in her good books.

I hardly got the chance to meet my MIL before I got married but for some unfortunate reasons, we fortunately got to spend some time together and honestly, my MIL has loved me since then :D

u cant really make a true judgement of anyone without spending some quality time with them and without having an open mind.

That said, when i was younger, I would not have married someone whose mother didnt like me

The idea of marrying a guy whose mommy is not too thrilled with your existence is rather daunting. There are some MIL's who will NEVER like any girl because deep down they have insecurity issues and are afraid to lose their son. It's especially hard if you're going to be living with your MIL. And if that's the case, then try bonding with her. Build a relationship with her. And hopefully she'll relax and understand that you are a wonderful addition to her family and not someone who is out to usurp her position in her son's life.

No i won't, even if his mom likes me.

yeah i will but b4 i do that
i will have to watch some of those indian dramas lol
:cb:

Some of the best advice I got was (not for this problem), if she has a spouse tell the guy to convince the father, they sleep in the same bed, the mother will come around. :)

and if the daddy dear is double mean then??

no, i dont wanna live an uncomfortable life. if the MIL doesnt approve to begin with then just imagine what she would do into the marriage. its only in rare cases where they soften up and accept the bride. but usually if you marry w/o the MIL's consent, you'll live with her bitterness forever.. sadly.

I hate indian dramas. I can’t decide what I hate more…the puke-inducing titles…or the way some of the dramas make the women look subservient with that “I must serve you, my husband, my lord” attitude…YUCK!!!

And the titles make me cringe…they produce the type of shudders you experience when your hear long fingernails running down a chalkboard. Examples:

Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahoo Thi

Sindoor (the red powder Indian women use to show that they’re married)

Hamari Betiyon Ka Vivaah (Our daughters’ weddings)
Mayka** (What refers to a girl’s house…to differentiate between a susraal)

Please, Glamorous, don’t try to gain any “wisdom” from Indian dramas. I can’t seem to understand why these Indian directors get soooooooo damn attached to their dramas. It’s like they can’t let their dramas die. They develop such a deep-rooted affection for their corny soap-operas that the feel they must let it continue for ages to the point of absurdity…and that’s when the they resort to STUPID ideas just to keep their drama alive and going. And by STUPID ideas, I mean…main character dying and coming back to life in reincarnated form…main character presumed to be dead and comes back with a new face (courtesy of** platic surgery)**
Aiye Ya Yaiye!!! ** And if you do plan to get help from the dramas, then don’t watch the kind where the bahu suffers in silence as she goes about the house displaying the unrealistic obedience that only a saint can pull off. Instead watch something where the bahu has a backbone and knows how to respect others while also maintaining her own dignity. Or just come to gupshup, we’ll help you out, lol:)