Will the US invade Pakistan?

Re: Will the US invade Pakistan?

I do not agree with the ghairat brigade. The threat from extremists is real but what more can we do? We have suffered the most casualties (lost 7,000 soldiers and close to 40,000 civilians) in this WOT. I am not disputing the fact that there may be some rogue elements within ISI esp. among junior ranks who may be aiding and abetting these terrorist outfits (which must stop) but is it really fair to blame the whole organisation?

Now what do you have to say to this:

http://www.dawn.com/2011/09/27/haqqani-was-blue-eyed-boy-of-cia-khar.html

Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar said here on Sunday that the Haqqani group that the US was now charging with attacks on the American embassy in Kabul had been CIA’s “blue-eyed boy” for many years.In an interview with Al-Jazeera TV, she said: “If we talk about links, I am sure the CIA also has links with many terrorist organisations around the world, by which we mean intelligence links,” she said.
“And this particular network, which (the United States) continues to talk about, is a network which was the blue-eyed boy of the CIA itself for many years.”
Asked about US Admiral Mike Mullen’s statement that the Haqqani group “acts as a veritable arm” of ISI, the foreign minister said: “It is something that goes very, very unappreciated on our side. This is unsubstantiated. No evidence has been shared with us.” Partners and allies, she said, did not talk to each other through public statements.
Pakistan had taken up the matter with the United States, but the spate of hostile statements coming from senior US officials meant that Washington had taken a policy decision. If that was the case then “We have the right to make our own decision.”
Ms Khar went to say that scapegoating and blame games would be of no help. Pakistan wants to be a US partner. “I just hope that we’ll be given a chance to cooperate with each other and the doors will remain open —because statements like this are pretty much close to shutting those doors,” she added.
Replying to a question, Ms Khar said the drone attacks not only violated Pakistan’s sovereignty, they were also counter-productive, and angered the people of Pakistan. “I think we must not be tested more than we have the ability to bear,” she added.

In one word YES - the whole organization will be blamed if the rogue elements are not voluntarily terminated. ISI has had years and has not done so. Therefore it is clear that the rogue elements are not merely an accident but THE STRATEGY. That is why the Americans have now decided to go public.

You should watch the Nijam Sethi video on this.

The problem is not Pakistan does not want to support US, contrary to this we have done more then enough for them.

Once we started new operation against Haqqanies, need to move huge number of military assets from other borders thus weakening our defances against India. US know it very well thats is the reason they trying convence PA that india is not our enemy (which PA refused to buy).

Plus on other issue, the writing is already on the wall that uncle Sam is already lost the way, all they are trying to push Pakistan to commit suciede in helping more fronts, thus hoping that might force Talibans to reach an agreement to turn the defeat in honouable exit.

But for Pakistan also realizing US would not here longer, (in any case US is 10000km away, but need to live next door), the wisest thing to prepare post US afghtanistan, thus opening channels with various groups including Haqqanies to make sure there would be no threat for us from post US Afghanistan.

Do you really believe that Pakistan should secrify it's own defense and security interest just to satisfy crazy US?

Bring it on America bring it on and get your nose bashed. Pak soldier knows how to fight. China will help with its aircraft carrier to destroy anything US Navy throws in the war. Plus thousands of Pakistanis now resident in US will undertake damaging attacks from within. That should be fun to watch, America being destroyed from inside an outside!

But china does not have any aircraft carrier yet?The rest is equally bull ****.

Too much sasti sharab to drink.

**کچھ دوست امریکہ اور پاکستان کے مابین غیر موجودہ جنگ کے بارے ميں شديد غم اور غصے کا اظہار تو کر رہے ہيں لیکن اس بات کو تسلیم کرنے سے قاصر ہیں کہ پالیسی اختلاف کے باوجود دونوں ممالک کے درمیان اب بھی بہت سے معاملات پر تعاون جاری ہے اور اس کے ساتھ ساتھ درپیش مسائل سے نبٹنے کے لیے دونوں ممالک کے درمیان بات چیت بھی ہو رہی ہے۔
گزشتہ ہفتے نیو یارک میں پاکستان کی وزیر خارجہ اور سیکرٹری اسٹیٹ کے مابین ملاقات ہوئ اور اس ميں دونوں وزراء نے فیصلہ کيا کہ امريکہ اور پاکستان کو مل کر تمام دہشت گرد گروہوں کے خلاف کاروائ کرنی چاہیۓ۔
امريکہ اس بات پر يقین رکھتا ہے کہ بین لاقوامی سيکورٹی میں پاکستان کا ايک اہم کردار ہے خاص طور پر پاکستان کے لوگوں، افغانستان کے لوگوں اور اس خطے بسنے والے لوگوں کی سیکورٹی کے ليے۔

میں آپ کو یاد دلانا چاہوں گا کہ 2003 سے لے کر اب تک پاکستان میں دہشت گردی کی وجہ سے 35000 لوگ مارے گے۔ لہذا اس سے ثابت ہوتا ہے کہ دہشت گرد نہ صرف پاکستان کے باہر بلکہ پاکستان کے اندر رہنے والے لوگوں کے لیے بھی ايک بہت بڑا خطرہ ہے۔

ذوالفقار – ڈيجيٹل آؤٹ ريچ ٹيم – يو ايس اسٹيٹ ڈيپارٹمينٹ

[EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]
www.state.gov
http://www.facebook.com/pages/USUrduDigitalOutreach/122365134490320?v=wall**

Damn no CENTCOM here. We have been downgraded to the State Dept! :(

please correct yourself! I think external affairs ya outreach ka kaam state department nay he handle karna hota ha.

remember when, diplomacy fail war start.

wasey zulfkar sb, yea yo bato ka pakistan tumhara ithadi ha ya dushman? tum log to pakistan ko north korea aur iran jitne bhe respect nahun daty ho, key wajah ha?

There is no doubt most of us (if not all) are against terrorism, but the problem is this. US is the one primary responsible to create this mess in the name of Jehad against soviets.

Once Soviets withdraws the left on us to suffer, the result of their unholly war. Now history is repeating its self.

They went into Afghanistan, after bogging down with limited success, now looking for why of “cut and lose” which is you are famous for.

After paying so heavy price of being your proxy, there is no love lost here, all we are trying to do is save our skin.

There is not love lost between peoples of Pakistan and So call extremist, neither with you.

You were never a reliable partner (may be except Israel, where funnily you become slave of its interest thus losu

In order to “cut and lose” honorably you need to create right conditions where pinning down enemy to such an extent that you could give you at least symbolic victory.

It is very selfish on your part, while you are trying build some bridges with enemy here, you want us burn whatever bridge left (knowingly that after US retreat there is no way they would harm US due large distance, but we still need to live next door and face the consequences).

If you really want Pakistan or any other nation to help, please learn how their trust.

Yeap…China’s might armada of 1 air craft carrier (under construction) would take care of 11 commissioned US air craft carriers. Here we go - back to 1:10 logic.

I do not know why are we discussing Chinese Aircraft Carriers here, as mostly aircraft carriers used only of fighting war beyond reach of fighter/Jets and bombers from their airbase in land.

UK used it in falkland war. US aircraft careers extensively used in asia pacific and middle east.

Due to distance US need to use aircraft carriers, but any war within the region would not require to use aircraft carrier for Chinese side.

In any case despite regular proclamation of friendship and support for Pakistan it is not possible that Chinese forces would directly get involve in any armed conflict.

We need to fight our own war,

TAQDEER KA QAZI KA YEH FATWA HAI AZAL SAA
HA JURM-E-ZAEEFI KI SAZA MARG-E MAFAJAT

Pakistan with do well, if managed to reach an understanding with understanding with Iran and China to maintain uninterrupted supply line of fuel and military hardware.

In any case US would certainly have air superiority over Pakistan air force, but things become nasty for them when they send their boots in our land.

http://www.smh.com.au/world/pakistan-elite-talk-up-imminent-us-invasion-20110928-1kxck.html

ISLAMABAD: The United States might still be weighing its options about how to deal with Pakistan, but many politicians, retired army generals and television personalities here have already made up their minds that America is on the warpath with their country.
Such is the media frenzy and warmongering that popular talk show hosts have begun discussing possible scenarios of how Pakistan should react if the US attacks the country. One television news channel has even aired a war anthem.
The Prime Minister, Yusuf Raza Gilani, has called on a conference of opposition political parties and government allies today to discuss the crisis. The government is also enlisting foreign allies. There has been a flurry of diplomatic activity in the capital Islamabad, with the visits of Chinese and Saudi officials.

The US ambassador, Cameron Munter, has met with the President, Asif Ali Zardari, along with the Foreign Secretary, Salman Bashir.
After meeting with the Vice-Premier of China, Meng Jianzhu, on Tuesday, Mr Gilani said that ‘‘China categorically supports Pakistan’s efforts to uphold its sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity,’’ an oblique reference aimed at the US .
Earlier in an interview with Reuters, Mr Gilani warned against any cross-border raids by US forces in Afghanistan. ‘‘We are a sovereign country,’’ Mr Gilani was quoted as saying. ‘‘How can they come and raid in our country?’’
Pakistan’s powerful army and intelligence chiefs have conveyed their message through their posturing. The army chief, General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani, cancelled his Monday visit to Britain, stoking a sense of crisis.
On Sunday, General Kayani led a meeting with his military commanders. No statement was issued, but leaks to local media outlets warned of a ‘‘stern response’’ to any attack on Pakistan by US forces from Afghanistan. A military official, privy to the meeting, said ‘‘certain decisions were taken, primarily of some defensive nature, in the event of a possible US attack’’.
The head of the Pakistan spy agency ISI, Lieutenant-General Ahmed Shuja Pasha, also flew on Monday to meet officials from close Pakistan ally Saudi Arabia.
Senator Javed Ashraf Qazi, a retired lieutenant general and former head of the ISI, said on Tuesday that the US was ‘‘pressurising Pakistan to hide its own failures in Afghanistan’’, a widely held view in Pakistan.
He added that ‘‘US officials often lie for their own interests’’.
Criticism of the US has increased in the past few days, since the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Admiral Mike Mullen, made a statement describing the Haqqani network, a militant group based in Pakistan’s tribal areas, as a veritable arm of the ISI.
He also said that the ISI had supported an attack this month by Haqqani militants on the US embassy in Afghanistan.
‘‘Why cannot we snap diplomatic relations?’’ asked a retired colonel, Shuja Khanzada, during a live talk show Tuesday on Dunya TV, a private television news network.
On Monday, Hamid Mir, the host of Capital Talk, a talk show on the popular news network Geo, started the show asking, ‘‘Is United States going to attack on the ground in Pakistan?’’
Another retired lieutenant general who appeared on the show, Abdul Qayum, said that a US attack was a possibility.
A further participant on the TV news show, Farukh Saleem, a columnist and widely quoted analyst, criticised the local media by saying they had ‘‘put more fuel on the fire’’.
This prompted Mr Qayum to interject and he said Admiral Mullen’s statement was an insult to the whole nation.
‘‘You cannot trust them,’’ Mr Qayum said of the Americans. ‘‘There is a history of betrayal.’’

India MUST take a stand that USA doe NOT mount any serious attack on Pakistan - especially bomb raids. We simply will not allow such ruckus in the region period. China and India should coopt in this matter.

Millions of Indians have family in Pakistan.

Yes Pakistan is wrong in not controlling terrorists and it has affected USA and India - but still the scale of response must be in perspective.

I am a proud Indian American and this is how I feel.

End of foolishness by everyone now.
Serious situation.
Gailani should step down, Some wise man from any party.

This is what Americans are doing, instead of admitting their mistakes and misdoings blaming Pakistan.... and this is what PPP workers are doing, admitting that Zardari is wrong and he have done/picked wrong leader, dumping everything on Gillani, the poor soul do not even have authority to go to bathroom without asking Zardari....

The whole Govt has to go it is almost 4 years PPP has been in power and they have done blunders after blunders, further deteriorated all the institutions, the economy and industry has been destroyed by the help of terrorists like Liyari Gang+MQM+ANP or by power/energy cuts, when they came into power, the loadshedding was 4-5 hours a day, today after almost 4 years it is 10-12 hours on a good day.... 

not to mention other things... so stop blaming Gillani, it is the entire leadership of PPP which have failed, the best bet for zardari is, resign, form interim govt and leaves to Dubai for good... this the best he can do for the nation....

sorry off topic but still :

Doosray in say bhi buray hain

sorry to say, in say zyada bura filhaal aur koy nahi hay... Sindh maiN ja ker daikh laiN, pichlay saal kay logooN ko abhi tak bahaal nahi kiya aur app kay zardari sahib paisooN per saanp bn ker baiThay haiN...

Thirty five thousand innocent Pakistanis have been killed: men, women and children. The ever-ready Pakistani armed forces have defended Pakistan and the rest of the world at the highest cost," she said.

"Numerous politicians have lost sons, brothers and fathers at the hands of terrorists. Our streets are filled with armed police. Terrorists have attacked our military installations, attacked the grave sites of our spiritual leaders, attacked our minorities and attacked the very idea of Pakistan. If I began recounting Pakistan’s sacrifices and Pakistan’s suffering I would keep you here until next September.

**We do not take terrorism lightly. We cannot afford to take terrorism lightly. We have suffered far too much at its hands."
**Khar said that **Pakistan has an “irrevocable commitment to fighting terror” and will not permit its territory to be used by “militants and terrorists”.
**“We must demonstrate complete unity in ranks, avoid any recrimination, build greater trust,” she said. “Otherwise, I’m afraid, the terrorists are the only ones who are going to win.”

**https://apps.facebook.com/theguardian/world/2011/sep/27/pakistan-foreign-minister-us-terror