WILCO

Does anyone on this forum..knows what WILCO means?

Something very interesting coming up on PTV-One by the name of WILCO…

Details..in my next submission…till then keep thinking what WILCO means…

Regards,

-Raju

Re: WILCO

I think it is a drama series or a new programme going to start on PTV 1

WILCO are probably the initials of the lead characters.

Raju Uncle,

Howre you doing? Thanks for your updates:k:

I think WILCO is Signals/Wireless terminology; to confirm an order/instruction conveyed and implemented ASAP right after reception.

And, thanks for your post about this production in a thread abt Humayun Saeed, it was a good read! I was seriously awaiting the release ever since I first learned of it. I'm a die-hard Pak Army fan and cant wait to watch.

Raju Uncle,
Any updates and more info yet? Whens it starting?

Thanks Haris. The dates are around 20-25 Aug at Mohatta Palace where the grand premiere is being planned. WILCO is set out for PTV-One from early Sept. Humayun and Shahzad Nawaz (the event manager) are off to Norway for release of BOTAL GALI and shud be back by 10 Aug.

If you are interested to attend the premiere of WILCO where we very limited cards on CNIC copies to be provided--please do let me know.

WILCO is out to break records of serials in Pak Showbiz.

Cheers--------Raju

Urgh, it had better not be a mirch masala drama filled with overly made up actresses. Can you convey that message to the people making dramas in Pakistan? Tell them to please cut the cheap crap and focus on storylines, rather than cheap sarhay hua dialogues and overly dramatic music with overly dramatic camera angles.

I would like to ask Mr Jamil ONE question:

Sir, why can't we have dramas like Tanhaiyaan anymore?? i.e dramas which are high class, urban, where women act the way we see them at home, where no one is overly made up, the dialogues are strong, which portray something positive about Pakistan and yet do an awesome job at entertaining you!

“where women act the way we see them at home.”

I’d like to add… “also at work and school and generally outside, like, oh, I don’t know, in a park, because God forbid they walk out of their homes”.

:rolleyes:

^^ You've got some imagination. Your twisted mind can only see things in a certain persective, thats for sure. All I was trying to say is that drama depicted women the way I've seen them in my immediate family i.e at home.

WilCo is short for Will Comply

My Dear sTaLkEr [aik tow ye bohat mushkil hai k aap kici ko uskay psuedonome se address karen! :) ]. Nevertheless, I dont know what your age is or whether you are a male or female..but I'll try and instill some thoughts WHY plays like UNCLE URFI, ZER ZABR PAISH, KIRAN KAHANI & TANYAHEEYAN etc are not coming up these days?

FIRST "MUJRIM" is COMMERCIALISM! you see ANYTHING (including the most important of all..THE KHABARNAMA...you have to gulp some stupid advertisement! and when your TV Drama Industry and the likes are at the hands of COMMERCIAL PRODUCTS...you are bound to do what THEY want!!! or let me also say......that if ZEBA BAKHTIAR, SAADIA IMAM, MEERA, REEMA, RESHAM, SONYA (SALMAN) KHAN, MYRA KHAN, HUMAYUN SAEED, ADNAN SIDDIQUI, etc etc are NOT there in the serial...the PRODUCER willl die crying as no channel or station will accept that serial or play for telecast due to big companies not extending their advertisements.

NEXT QUESTION; "Why cant we make serials like TANHAIYEAN with cast like this?...the ANSWER; Forget it! such cast will charge an aggregate of Rs.5 Million
plus the costs etc of other works will make the serial aggregate Rs.15 Million which no channel will buy.

TANHAIYEAN and other serials I mentioned above--were made in the days BY PTV when an artist like Shahnaz Shaikh, Shakil and Marina received Rs.800-1000 per episode which PTV despite being in RED (Overdraft) could afford for YOUR (Public's) Interest! and those days the mindset was different. LIFE did not depend on 0.75 per minute SMS service by Ufone and the intake of PEPSI otherwise one would die or having one's picture on the credit card......LIFE, my friend, was simple and much more relaxed then---against the running and mind boggling one of today! hence TANHAYEAN has turned into :one scene--20 minutes adverts---which means the CLICK of remote and off we jump to HBO or STAR+ and forget where we left the play.....thus no proper follow up even. BUT there are many who do watch some serials despite the advertisement frustrations.

Hurts--doesn't it! sorry but facts ARE facts!

Cheers-------Raju Jamil

^^ I really appreciate your reply. But with all due respect, why can't women behave intelligently, the way they used to? Why can't they actually have a life rather than just being saree wearing manequins? Do they have to be paid a million bucks to do that too? :)

And Sir, I have yet to see the kind of lighting they used in Tanhaiyaan in ANY PTV play since. After that, every play seems to have been shot during some power blackout [or loadshedding as they call it]. Can you explain how they were able to light the sets so well with the 80s equipment, the overall effect with the [grand-ish] sets they built for Tanhaiyaan was amazing.

Btw, I was a toddler when i used to watch the video casettes of tanhaiyaan in the late 80s/early 90s. YOu can estimate my age through that. And i'm male as you can probably tell too :)

"TANHAIYAAN"...my friend, was recorded on sets at the PTV-K studios......fully and grandly airconditioned. Shahbaz Chaudhry's magic of creating absolutely marvellous sets in Studio "B" and the freshness of make up PLUS the balanced lights...all ADDED to the success of the serial.

AT PRESENT--it's 1000 WATSS lights on your face with tissue in your hands all the time and currently---99 out of 100 times--no BIJLI.

See the lighting of "ANA" of Humayun Saeed.....it's great!

Cheers-------Raju Uncle

dude, Rs.15m is nothing and every other serial is made with a higher bidget then that and all channels buy them, riyasat was made at Rs.80 million.

Suhaib Mian....."RIYASAT" mein mein khud thah...as guest artiste as I missed out a major role due to being in Scotland that September-2005. The amount you quote is wrong!! Yes--it was Aslam Bhatti-Dubai's production as joint venture with Mayun ( I call Humayun Saeed as MAYUN!!!) and the serial...as per Kamran Qureshi, costed around 20 M i:e DOW CRORE and not AATH CRORE! Aath Crore mein to YE DIL AAP KA HUA bhi nahin banni theeh mian....Jawed Shaikh is my buddy and I know that..........

80 MILLION is huge amount..friend.

humayun saeed himself said it in the making of the serial on ARY that it cost 8 crore rupees and i remember reading something about it on the internet being the most expensive drama ever in pak at 8 crores, also the new anarkali drama was said to be at 5 crores and ary paid alot for it.
and i allready know ydakh didnt cost 8, it was 4/5 crores.

also i dont agree with you at all, that commercialism has been the down fall of dramas, riyasat, halaat, aurat aur char diwari, moorat are as good or even better then any old dramas, if they could make it then im sure others could is well.
the downfall is simply cos of star plus stroming pak homes and our production houses wanting to copy there dramas,

btw. which role did you play in riyasat, and do you know what kamran qureshi is up to these days, i think he is the most talented and best new director we have seen in the last 10 years.

I did a two episode guest role--on special request of KK as an ARAB Sheikh. See the pic in IMAGES column.

NO....8 Crore is an exaggerated figure. It didn't cost that much.

YES---Commercialism has played down good productions.

KK is in Quetta these days...recording some serial.

Regards,

-Raju

even if you say it cost 2 crores, thats higher then the amount you have quoted above where you said no channel will buy a drama for 15 million.
so i guess they will and a tanhaya can still be made as kk has shown us 3 times and so has javeid fazil.