the other day i was watching shaadi online with my parents. i was horrified to hear what some of the men on the show wanted from their going to be wives.
they want their wife to be as beautiful as madhuri dixit
they say they want dowry w/o any shame
the girl has to take care of the guys parents
whats wrong with our society and will it ever change?
Desiring a trophy wife is nothing new. The dudes on Shadi Online may be extremely politically incorrect to say that on national television, but they are just being honest. What does crack me up is the dudes are not bringing any grand looks to the table either, are practically broke and want a hoor-pari for a wife. I mean, get real.
I have a personal bias against dowry. Since muslim women get a share in inheritance from their father's estate, so its just redundant to give them a lavish dowry at the time of marriage too. This thing has been accepted by Pakistanis from the hindu custom (where women have no share in inheritance) and depicts lack of sensibility. Greed and displays of oppulance are other negatives here, but lets leave it at that.
I think #3 above is the most tricky. Part of it is because there are still many women in Pakistan who are not financially independent so they bear these kinds of requests from their husbands. Once women are educated and are part of workforce and earning their due share, they will neither have the time or desire or the capacity to be a "sandwich". "Sandwich" is a social term referring to a generation/age when a couple is taking care of two generations at the same time i.e. their own young kids on one end and older parents on the other. It may be very unappetizing for some of you out there, but I forecast that pretty soon in Pakistan we will have proper old-age homes and nursing facilities to take care of older people. If you are a rich old geezer, you and your spouse will spend retirement in a stylish old-home playing golf and bridge with your buddies. Kids should then not expect to inherit the whole shebang from daddy. Daddy will keep a lot of it for his own retirement. Quid pro quo. :)
y do mothers n Guys look for chand si bahu/biwi? :aq:
so that they can overcome the darkness in their houses that is because of their kalay kalay sons/selves :CareBear:
i really dont understand when ppl look for prettttttttty girls… y dont they go for a nice normal girl??? i have a friend who was looking for a bhabi… n she told me abt. a girl whom i also knew… n my friend rejected that girl only coz she had a SHORT height i was quite mad at her for this reason that y do u look at girls like that… even she, herself, is jussssst normal heighted…
**the other day i was watching shaadi online with my parents. i was horrified to hear what some of the men on the show wanted from their going to be wives.
1) they want their wife to be as beautiful as madhuri dixit**
Thats there only chance of having good looking kids :D It must have somethingto do with the superiority complex instilled in them by their mummies where they think that just cos they are guys they get to have their pick and deserve the best out there. 2) they say they want dowry w/o any shame
Its become an accepted norm in Pakistan/India and unfortunately people are comfortable with giving and receiving it. Its a cultural thing and no shame is associated with it, its almost a right. 3) the girl has to take care of the guys parents
Again a cultural thing. Religiously the responsibility of taking care of parents falls on the offsprings, culturally on the daughters-in-law. We are experts at shunning our own responsibilities and shifting them on others, this is just part of it all.
*whats wrong with our society and will it ever change? *
I remember this one candidate who himself was educated tillFA/FSc which is 12 yrs of education, and he wanted a highly educated wife with at least a graduate degree if not more. When the host questioned him, he replied saying that the wife would be responsible for raising the children so her education was very important. If that is how messed up peoples' concepts are Im sure we asa nation have a long long way to go. Hopefully when people stop picking and choosing what part of religion they want to practise and what they want to drop and when they really understand religion and can rid themselves of cultural contamination they will change but it isn't happening any time soon.
exactly! whats wrong if the guy wants you to take care of his parents!?!..ofcourse that shouldnt mean that the girl is made to do everything and gets no help from either the family or thru house helpers than thats unfair but the girl shouldnt expect she is going for a vacation for life after getting married :halo:
There was this really funny applicant on shadi online. He was asked about his hobbies? His response was: " Mujhay nay MO-bail (mobile) khareednay shawk hai ji"
everyone has the right to DREAM for best!
there is nothing bad in expressing their desire, or their wishes.
ps. if you are lucky in terms of looks-personality-background-education then don't take them for granted. Fear ALLAH SWT in what ever situation you are in.