why woman is not allowed to become Imam (leader)

please note that no offence to any gender or creed by posting my threads

everything is changing women proved in most fields that they are as compatible as men. they showed their talent and leadership in the form of fatimah jinnah, margaret thatcher , Indra ghandhi , golda meyer, koria akino
Bandra Naikay and konda lisa rice etc. In church they accepted woman as priest but in our muslim society women are still as it was was.

what do you think why and why not they should be Imams. Please share your views with us

Re: why woman is not allowed to become Imam (leader)

Allah (swt) knows better than us the respective capabilities and responsibilities of men and women. Why Allah didn't select even a single woman out of the 124000 prophets (as) He sent for the guidance of humanity to different parts of the world ? Because they have better leadership qualities to guide general public.

Btw Budha, Raam, Guru nanak....etc. and major leaders of most religions were men.

How many religions do you know the founder of which were women ?

Woman are good leaders for woman, but not for both men and women together. In addition there are other fields in which women are more capable then men. For example, in bringing up a child, taking care of household activities...etc..even other fields of life but NOT in becoming Imam of men.

:salam:brother. Excellent response.

As far as I know, women can be imam in a women only congregation, but not in one with men.

Here is our Desi Shattar Murg with his Islam bashing again.

Why don't you tell us about something good in Hinduism?

If there is any apart from caste system(which hindus consider the best thing ever to happen to mankind).

hello danday sahib look i have nothing against islam or pakistan.
i would like to ask you if you are really interested then give your opinion
about the thread instead of asking me about other religions

if you dont want then you are on ignore

^^ You don't have to be a rocket scientist to figure where you are coming from.

You are hell bound to destroy whatever peace is left between Hindus and Muslims.

you know what men do when they stand behind a woman?

I cant imagine a rather revealing cloth wearing imammah leading the prayer.

Since we do not have the list of all 124,000 prophets therefore we do not know how many of them were women.
That being said. As to the question of woman not being Imam
Here is perspective of those who are in favor:
women as imam

And this is the perspective of those who are against it.

Can a Woman Act as Imam or Deliver Jum`ah Khutbah? - IslamonLine.net - Ask The Scholar

Now you be the judge.

^ wow that is quite intresting and educational. You learn somefin everyday.

Woman Power! LOL

Because if they, as an imam, issued a fatwa while they were going through their PMS, that will make the entire humanity suffer. Similarly, if they took a step during their PMS, that will surely go against the favor of whichever nation/country/community they are leading.

I dont think it would have been possible to take away their power from them only for the duration of their PMS.

bhai sahab yeh pms kay chakar main kiyoun par ghaiay

Answered your Q.

Walaikum Assalam Terrible guy. JazakAllah khair for the kind words of encouragement. I agree your last statement.

By saying that women can not be leaders of men, there is no disgrace to women. It is just the way it has been happening in most of the religions. Men have their own set of rights, capabilities and responsibilities and women have their own. Let us not mix them with each others. There are a lot of fields in which women are more capable then men. If women were good leaders of men, the prophet (saw) would have definitely encouraged a female to lead men "at least once" in his life time, to set an example for the rest of the ummah that it is alright for women to lead men. If not so, he would have atleast mentioned it somewhere. Did the prophet (saw) appointed any female Governor, Ameer, or oppointed any female for any other official post ? Did he made any female head of any group comprosing of both men and women ? From all the knowledge of Quran and hadiths available to us there is no mentioning of female leading a mixed group, but on numerous occasions leadership of men for general public of men and women is mentioned. It is amazing that still some Muslims like to go in ifs and buts by ignoring the obvious facts...

As far as the prophet hood is concerned. here is a reply:

Dr. Muzammil H. Siddiqi, president of the Fiqh Council of North America, states: Allah sent many prophets and messengers to different people and at different times. There are only a few whose names are mentioned in the Qur'an. Allah says, We did send messengers before you: of them there are some whose story We have related to you, and some whose story We have not related to you. (Ghaafir 40: 78, an-Nisaa' 4: 164). The Messengers whose names are mentioned in the Qur'an were all men. There is no woman prophet or messenger whose name is mentioned in the Qur'an. Three times in the Qur'an Allah, Most High, says, We did not send before you (i.e. Prophet Muhammad —peace and blessings be upon him) any but men (rijal) whom we did inspire…(Yusuf 12: 109; an-Nahl 16: 43; al-Anbiyaa' 21: 7). Apparently this means that only men were chosen by Allah as His messengers and prophets. But the word "rijal" does not mean only men. In most cases in the Qur'an this word is used to mean men only, but there are a few places where it is also used to indicate both men and women. See for example surat al-Araaf 7: 46, **And on the Heights (*al-Araf*) will be men who would know everyone by their marks…** We know that the people of al-A`raaf will be both men and women, so this means that the word "rijal" can be used for both. Similarly in surat at-Tawbah 9: 109, Almighty Allah says, Surely the Masjid whose foundation was laid down from the first day on piety is more worthy of your standing forth there for prayer. In it are men who love to be purified. And Allah loves those who make themselves pure. This refers to the Masjid of the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) where men and women both used to come for prayers. So it is obvious that the statement "in it are men who love to be purified.." does not mean "men only". One can also refer to surat an-Nur 24: 37, and al-Jinn 72: 6. In these two verses the word "rijal" is used and it includes men and women both.
Thus the majority of the Muslim scholars hold that the prophets and messengers were only men (i.e. males), but there were some scholars of the Qur'an who said that it was possible that some women were also prophets or messengers of Allah. We can say that most of the time Allah sent men as His prophets and messengers, but there is no conclusive evidence from the Qur'an to prove that only men were sent as prophets or to say that Allah never sent a woman as a prophet.
Why were men often chosen to perform this task? Obviously, the reason is not that women are inferior to men, because Allah has created men and women equal in their spirituality. The main reason seems to me was that the prophets and messengers of Allah were not only to preach Allah's message, but they were also to establish His rule and authority. They had to struggle and challenge the forces of evil. It would be easier for men to perform this task than women.

Let us follow the general direction which the knowledge of Quran and sunnah is giving us, instead of coming up with our own theories.

There was lady name Ibn-butan who Prophet Mohammad himself train to Imam of congretion and she ues to lead friday prayer and all the men behind her use to pray. Shahi Bukari

Hazrat Ayesa was commeder of her Army who fought war against Hazrat Ali.

Bibi Khadija was a business women who fell in love with Prophet Mohammad and married him. Now a days we call that a romance.

Queen of Seba was head of state and because of her surrender to Allah is consider a Muslim.

Now I have quote three ladies one was CNC, Business women and Head of State. So it is not true that women are only good for raising childern and maintain House.

Allah created you from dust, then from a little fluid [the sperm-drop], then he made you pairs (35:11) Now where does Allah say in above ayat the male and female are unequal. Actually pairs mean equal. So Allah say that man and women are equal.

thanks for valuable contribution

And verily we made a covenant of old with Adam, but he forgot, and we found no constancy in him..... And the devil whispered to him saying: Oh Adam! Shall I show you the tree of immortaility and power that does not waste away? then the two of them (adam and His wife) ate of the fruit (of the forbidden tree) and Adam disobeyed his ord so went astray ( 20 115-21)

In the above ayat Allah say very clearly that it was Adam who disobeyed Allah. Satan went to Adam and seduce him not his wife. So it men who is not strong not women.

In Sura An Nisa (women) ayat 28 : Allah would make burden light for , for man was created weak:

Read the above ayat again and again, man was created weak he is telling woman not woman but man was created weak. Do not listen to does mullah in masjid the ingnorated ones they are fools, I challenged any Imam where Allah has said something like this about women.

I think the answer is obvious ... the leader is subject to scrutiny and talk ...

Women should be sacrosanct to anything that could harm their persona ... Leadership puts them in the limelight why burden women with such things? Men have a different role and are scrutinised in different ways.

Then when a woman is going through her cycles people will know because her attitude will change in public for everyone to see ...

When religions were established, women were considered to be inferior to men in all regards. If religions wanted to be spread, women leaders would not have been listened to. Those in power (men) would not respect the religion.

It would have been unthinkable for woman to lead men in that time (and still is in some cultures). Most religions changed with the times and progession of womens' rights, but religions that cling to ancient culture and customs as dogma, such as catholicism and Islam, have not.

It's no more complicated than that. No reason to insult women as less capable or ineffective when on their monthly cylce.