This thread is an offshoot from the thread Is Smoking Haram. On the request of AQ, I am opening this thread and hoping that ulemas like tipz can come in here and enlighten us all regarding this issue and any other object/habbit that is unislamic.
Kaleem bhai! ![]()
we all are “Tifl-e-Maktab.”
Name calling is not islamic for sure… I am proud of your knowledge and have seen your very authentic posts in the past… but please, stay away from being sarcastic; it kills the spirit of the matter and does not help in acheiving what our intentions must be by spreading the word of Islam…
No one is a scholar here.. Poeple can be wrong for people may not know what a learned person can know.. it’s a duty of those who know to lovingly pass the message.,.
having said that, I would wanna know what is your take on this matter… I am not aware of the logical reasoning.. the only thing i have learnt is that since after consuming alcohol (sharaab) people used to lose concious so it was forbidden… the first step was it’s forbidden when praying but later it was completely prohibitted…
please, share your side of the story and any references for further source of knowledge for us ![]()
Wine was declared “haram” after some shaba were unable to join Prophet Muhammad:saw: for fajr prayer on time(I am paraphrasing and its not word for word). Upon inquiry, Prophet :saw: was told that they had been dinking wine the night before and could not get up on time. It was at this point that Allah banned or declared wine haram.
Now lets look at the gist of it, It was not declared haram because of its “nasha”. Its the fact that it impares your judgement, your are liable to lose control and liable to say things that you might regret later on. Keeping that logi in mind, anything that will keep you away from namaz or zikr Allah will be deemed haram/banned. It can be anything, for example, if you like to play chess (shaitani game) and play it hours on end and miss the prayer that you were so engrossed in the game that you missed a prayer: that game (in this case chess ) became haram. Now you tell me how is smoking haram?
That was something to learn from…
As for smoking, as I said in the other thread, I have come across two major, however opposite, opinions among the Scholars.
One group declares it Makrooh, and the other calls it totally haraam.
The one according to which smoking is haraam, holds the references from Quran where we are guided not to harm ourselves or anyone else. Wallah-O-Alam!
Those who see it as makrooh, have their own references, but as I said in either case, it is disliked.
It comes to the point where one is his own judge
… This is one of those acts, according to how I understood, that if I feel disgusted I will stay away from it according to the teachings of a hadeeth but won’t pass a fatwaa on my own against those who are indulge in it. However, discussing the fataawaas on such matters should not be prohibitted
or should it be?
nah, AQ go right ahead. I dont mind people calling it a bad habbit. Heck I know it is, I take exception to folks who openly profess their love for music and attend concerts but want to teach morality to others.
kaleem Bhai:) there is a saying of Hadhrat Ali ![]()
Look for WHAT IS being Said; rather than WHO is saying it.
When we decide to make our NAFS happy rather than ALLAH:swt:, the words of Allah in Quran Bugh yum Bainahuum (Appas kee ziddam ziddaa ) are enough to ponder upon – the words that were used for Jews when they rejected the prophethood of Muhammad :saw:
AQ, my man I will keep that in mind from now on. Thank you for helping me see the lighter side of the argument. :)
why is wine banned and not lassi.. this is discrimination..
Only becuase the contemporary arabs were very fond of drinking.
Where have you read this? Please quote refference.
So what you are trying to say here is that NASHA and imparing the senses.
YOu get to the roof and you jump. Most prob you’ll die. But there are chances that you may not. The science prooves somoking kills, in some cases it might not. So suppose you know you are killing yourslef but you still do it, it becomes suicide which is ‘harram’.
Slowpoisoning yourself would be a great example of a suicide. This is no different that
Stupid Idiot sahib, do you eat your food that coems right out of the oven or it is hot? If you answered yes, you are killing yourself slowly. There was a study done some time ago that showed that eating food that is hot (as in temperaure) can cause cancer. Do not ask me to give you refrences...google it yourself.
I am sure you do not drink coke, pepsi or soda, because if you do , you really are killing your self, hence by your logic it is haram.
You want to know where I read the hadith I posted, again, do the reserach yourself and let me know if you can refute it.
tata for now.
During the time of the Prophet Muhammed (Peace and Blessings of Allah Be Upon Him), when people used to get drunk in the evenings (like modern pubs), they used to start messing around with women like their own sisters or daughters.
Not realising what they were saying or doing with their own women because it was all a big buzz, laugh and a joke for the drunk and nothing serious. This is one of the reasons (also) why it was forbidden by Allah Almighty.
In Ibn Kathir's book (Stories of the Prophets), Prophet Solomon (Suleiman) (Peace Be Upon Him) used to love horses alot. One day he was admiring his horse that he forgot to say his Namaz or prayers. When realising this, he asked Allah Alimghty to forgive him because he was too much in love with his animals and not with Allah.
Alcohol without any doubt makes you forget alot more than just reading Namaz.
Another reason, everyone would love to be drunk all the time if they were allowed, so God has made this love a 'trial' for man kind. Would you sacrifice your pleasure for the love of Allah? In return Allah Almighty will provide rivers of 'pure' Honey, Milk and Wine in Paaradise.
Assalam o Alaikum
JUst as a comment....why argue that drinking is haram or not..when it is expilcitly stated in quran and ahadith that it is haram...why believe that " kion kay haram sharaab uss waqt hay jus iss say nasha ho aur thorri see peenay say nasha nahi hota iss liye thori sharaab jaiz hay " laholawala....
At least for me...if some hukam is proven from quran and ahadith ..then i'll not try to look reasoons behind it....
wasalam
You're correct my friend.
But some of our brothers and sisters would like to find out what made one thing haram and another thing halal.
One cigarette costs you 7 minutes of your life. One galss of red wne with dinner adds One day. Go figure...
once u're drunk u dont know what u're doing which leads 2 najaiz and forbidden things mostly.
*posted by Kaleem: *
Stupid Idiot sahib, do you eat your food that coems right out of the oven or it is hot? If you answered yes, you are killing yourself slowly. There was a study done some time ago that showed that eating food that is hot (as in temperaure) can cause cancer. Do not ask me to give you refrences...google it yourself.
I dont use oven, at all let alone hot or cold. : )
I am sure you do not drink coke, pepsi or soda, because if you do , you really are killing your self, hence by your logic it is haram.
You are very right, i dont. I found they kill after that I never used them, you dont have anything agains lemonade do you. Cuz I do drink that alot.
Secondly, I would prefer to pay 'Charity' the money which I would have rather spend on the cold drinks. : )
You want to know where I read the hadith I posted, again, do the reserach yourself and let me know if you can refute it.
tata for now.
Sorry couldnt find it. please help me in finding it. I would be really thankful.
*Originally posted by Degas: *
why is wine banned and not lassi.. this is discrimination..
Degas,, Wine was banned cos Arabs of the time were idiots and drunk excessivly paid less attention to Muhammad. see, it is the binge drinking and not the drinking of alcohal itself. Well, Lassi was not an Arab drink!!!
*Originally posted by Gupistani: *
During the time of the Prophet Muhammed (Peace and Blessings of Allah Be Upon Him), when people used to get drunk in the evenings (like modern pubs), they used to start messing around with women like their own sisters or daughters.
Not realising what they were saying or doing with their own women because it was all a big buzz, laugh and a joke for the drunk and nothing serious. This is one of the reasons (also) why it was forbidden by Allah Almighty.
In Ibn Kathir's book (Stories of the Prophets), Prophet Solomon (Suleiman) (Peace Be Upon Him) used to love horses alot. One day he was admiring his horse that he forgot to say his Namaz or prayers. When realising this, he asked Allah Alimghty to forgive him because he was too much in love with his animals and not with Allah.
Alcohol without any doubt makes you forget alot more than just reading Namaz.
Another reason, everyone would love to be drunk all the time if they were allowed, so God has made this love a 'trial' for man kind. Would you sacrifice your pleasure for the love of Allah? In return Allah Almighty will provide rivers of 'pure' Honey, Milk and Wine in Paaradise.
If Allah will provide honey, milk, and WINE in Paradise then why is it forbidden while alive? It was forbidden back then when Namaz was considered to be an important practice of religion and people tend to forget to attand to Namaz. Now that we know that Namaz is not something to worry about and rather leading a peacefull life and contribute to the good of human kind. so as long as you don't go beyond the limit I don't see any problem with drinking Wine, Beer or a drink of your choice.
Did anyone raise the question in this discussion whether its just alcohol that is prohibited or is it anything that creates "khumer" (losing your senses)? Alcohol is just one part of the whole discussion.
On the other hand, not all beer is prohibited, for example. Root beer doesn't have any khumer (alcohol), right? It tastes yukky, yes, but thats probably a personal choice.
By the way, if anything that creates khumer is prohibited (I think it is), then its prohibited in small quantities as well as large quantities. Some people say you can drink as long as you know you can "handle" it. Interesting line of thought, but hardly original.
Also cough syrups are allowed. Right?