Re: why so down? todays attacks?
niksik, are your folks from maler kotla?
no queer, but closeby.
It is very sadening indeed and we cannot do anything about it.
Honestly? I wish Musharraf was never there to begin with. Its people like Ziaul Haq and Musharraf who have put the nation on the cliff.
Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and consciencious stupidity. MLK.
so here is an initiative that I am aware of when it comes to education. its a spoke design which connects many rural schools to some key center of excellence schools where the entire curriculum is recorded on dvds and shared with these other schools. This way the best teachers are covering the subject and that is used as a resource as general education teachers in the rural and underserved areas schools. schools are being provided equipment as well. in future the hope is that the material will be downloadable from the internet, and even now will be made available free of charge for anyone who wants to use it.
it has its challenges and issues and risks but with education being a key issue, its one of the initiatives that I am keen on.
the second thing we hear id lack of leadership and lack of leadership accountability, so how is something like that influenced by people? what are your thoughts?
Get Real, Resolve?? We don’t need resolve or positivity,,, we need common sense. 60 years have gone by and this country is run by a bunch of crooks. Who’s thinking of Musharraf now? Be honest.
I know what your saying, and it seems very noble. But its in cuckooland, detached from reality if we think things are going to turn. I gave up on Pakistan and the idiots within it many years ago.
sure, and common sense dictates that people can make in impact, how is a diff issue, whether its ppl working on grassroots human development issues, or whether its political action.
One thing common sense tells me is that apathy is only mildly less dangerous than joining in the madness.
so here is an initiative that I am aware of when it comes to education. its a spoke design which connects many rural schools to some key center of excellence schools where the entire curriculum is recorded on dvds and shared with these other schools. This way the best teachers are covering the subject and that is used as a resource as general education teachers in the rural and underserved areas schools. schools are being provided equipment as well. in future the hope is that the material will be downloadable from the internet, and even now will be made available free of charge for anyone who wants to use it.
it has its challenges and issues and risks but with education being a key issue, its one of the initiatives that I am keen on.
the second thing we hear id lack of leadership and lack of leadership accountability, so how is something like that influenced by people? what are your thoughts?
Excellent plan. Do you think some NGOs may already be involved in something like that?
I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.
I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.
Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and consciencious stupidity. MLK.
If I were dumb, blind and deaf then I might have agreed that Musharraf was good for the country.
PS: I don't wish to indulge in Mush/no-Mush discussion here, so I'll stop here now.
So the media should behave like the parents eh? Favor their children but find keeray in others?
nah.
The thing is that yes the media has too much freedom and all that, but let me give you an example. In the mid 80s, Punjab India saw a major disturbance in peace, terrorism like you've never seen before. Right behind our home was a gurduwara that housed militants and their weapons and at least 2 times that I remember, some of them jumped our boundary wall and went off to kill some of our neighbors. It's just Allah's protection that none of us were harmed. Girls without dupattas on their heads were dragged off and kidnapped for ransom or were threatened in public markets, schools... oh it was a big fat mess and people were afraid to come out of their homes.
Now, 20 years later, Punjab is one of the safest states in India, one of the most prosperous and most flourishing.
Why not Pakistan? It can be done. I know people are silly, but there are crazy people everywhere man, everywhere. We have to bombard our people with the right message. Someone has to become a spiderman or batman :D
All this fuss started after Pakistan was declared a nuclear state. but we also can never neglect the aspect that india was never in favor of Pakistan and its existence.
the better question we should as is...who is providing weapons to these so-called jihadi orgs, or any political org in Pakistan?
why an indian was interested in buying a Pakistani Steel Mill?
i dont want media to babysit their viewers, but atleast focus more towards the hope. tell them how they should coop with these situations. more awareness programs, walks, talks, shows.
aik to humera abadi (population) bhi asman say baatain ker rahi hai, in which majority lives in rural areas, under the feudal influence.
ya chachi, sure Pakistani Punjab will become something (if not stable then ahem ahem) if salman taseer kinda ppl remain there as a governor.
All this fuss started after Pakistan was declared a nuclear state. but we also can never neglect the aspect that india was never in favor of Pakistan and its existence.
You may not have been born but in 1994 (?) Sufi Mohammad declared "Shariah Enforcement" in Malakand, yeah 1994, 4 years before we openly tested Nuke.
nice song, i have one too..
the roof the roof the roof is on fire..
we dont need no water
let the ##@ #@#@! burn
look lets agree that we have different views on whether or not we as individuals can do anything or should do anything. so lets agree to disagree and leave it at that.
I suppose rich dudes living abroad fund these organizations just like they did back during the Punjab situation in India. So many people came forward and arrogantly admitted to that. Khair, the argument of what came first will never end, so instead of focusing on the past, we should learn from it and try to make an impactful change. yes it’s easier said than done but someone’s got to start somewhere.
PS, regarding the steel mills…ummm, the dude likes Pakistani steel
It’s got the pawah!
what do you think i am some ten years old kid? ![]()
hmmm… i dont wana go into this topi-drama aka shariah law…but what is your point here (since i am a ten years old kid)?
yes, its really sad for our country's pathetic state of affairs. It only happens when there are major political crisises in pakistan.
security doesnt have a meaning at all.
its has made the international community's image of pakistan synonymous with "terror".
May Allah (swt) guide our nation and people. Ameen
Excellent plan. Do you think some NGOs may already be involved in something like that?
yes, its called the digital study hall initiative and it was done in India just last year. there is an expert group in US that is providing technical expertise. A team I am volunteering with is working on it right now, as we speak the teachers have been identified, the equipment has been obtained, systems are being set up right now. I cant take any credit for it because I have only been in a feedback type of role at this point. Larger responsibilities for me begin once we launch or are ready to launch.
I have often talked about Human Development Foundation, and the impact it has had. That is one of the initiatives of HDF.
look lets agree that we have different views on whether or not we as individuals can do anything or should do anything. so lets agree to disagree and leave it at that.
sorry, my bad, just playing with u, as I am bored. I shouldn't demean such an honourable intention as to rectify the ills of Pakistan.
But the more erudite among the board will know that the problems pakistan and a host of other countries face are too deeply entrenched for them to be solved any time soon. It is not simply a matter of changing the attitudes and prospects of these people. We need to understand that a game is being played, and Pakistan is a pawn. You become a pawn when you subscribe to Themockery (errr , freudian, I mean democracy) in a population that has an average IQ of tapeworm.
Please educate us on this and also let us know how we can participate.
sorry, my bad, just playing with u, as I am bored. I shouldn't demean such an honourable intention as to rectify the ills of Pakistan.
But the more erudite among the board will know that the problems pakistan and a host of other countries face are too deeply entrenched for them to be solved any time soon. It is not simply a matter of changing the attitudes and prospects of these people. We need to understand that a game is being played, and Pakistan is a pawn. You become a pawn when you subscribe to Themockery (errr , freudian, I mean democracy) in a population that has an average IQ of tapeworm.
believe me, I understand exactly where you are coming from, the complete digust, disillusionment and just anger at everything. I have been thru it, and every so often I want to just say hell with it. I think at the last elections I had said that the people fully deserve what they will be getting now, and as far as local apathy goes, if people there are not going to bother why should I, especially after being called wanna-be, gora slave, confused desi and all by locals. At the end of the day, i always come around to some sense of responsibility to do something.
I can go on and on about politics, but we have a lot of that discussion in pak affairs section already so just trying to stay away from it. All I will say is that the personality based ethnic politics of corrupt politicians are the cancer we are facing and have been facing. rest we can take over to pak affairs section.
With all due respect to every one. Not even die from foreign team.
Ppl die in pakistan EVERY DAY. we NEED to do some thing EVER DAY to save lives.
I know this thing looks ugly on international scenario, but ppl of pakistan need to be saved too!