Why Shia Call 'Ya-Ali' ? Please explain ?(Answer needed from my Shia friends. Thanx

ofcourse not all were Imams
as you know we have 12 Imams..Imam Ali (a.s.) had Hazrat Abbas too as a son but He was not an Imam..now if he ask me why He was not chosen as an Imam..i wouldnt know at the moment..i hav very limited knowledge..but i can try to find our more about this and share it with u guys later

*Originally posted by armughal: *
but is there any proof in the Quran that Muhammad (saw) was given the status of Imam????

or that he ranks above the rest????

unfortunately i am not hafiz e Quran..and i havnt done phd in islamiat either and i am not planning to become a molvi either..but i do believe that Prophet Mohumad (pbuh&up) is the best...has anyone read any hadih about it? i'd like to see it too

btw after so many ayats and hadiths..did anyone learn anything? i think no many how many hadith or ayats anyone brings, ppl just have made up their mind already

itna lamba lecture denay ki bajaye, agar sawal ka jawab diya hota to mera or apna dono ka waqt zaaya honay se bachaa liya hota....

and all these verses r used out of context....

imam used anywhere in the Quran means related to the shiaa concept to imamat according to u....

i wonder which imam it was who is meantioned in verse 15:79????

and then u put Ali (ra) above all the prophets of Allah....
and then call it following Quran....

itna lamba lecture denay ki bajaye, agar sawal ka jawab diya hota to mera or apna dono ka waqt zaaya honay se bachaa liya hota....

and all these verses r used out of context....

imam used anywhere in the Quran means related to the shiaa concept to imamat according to u....

i wonder which imam it was who is meantioned in verse 15:79????

and then u put Ali (ra) above all the prophets of Allah....
and then call it following Quran....

what about the numerious hadiths of the Prophet Mohummad (pbuh&up)? they are also out of context? is that all you can come up with? if you dont really believe in the sunni sahih sittah maybe u should stop giving them much importance..Prophet (pbuh&up) said Jiska Main Maula..uska Ali Maula

Quran 3:150
But Allah is your Mawlaa, and He is the Best of Helpers.

Quran 6:62
*Then are they restored unto Allah, their Mawlaa, the Just. Surely His is the judgment. And He is the most swift of reckoners. *

Quran 8:40
*And if they turn away, then know that Allah is your Mawlaa - a Transcendent Mawlaa, a Transcendent Helper! *

Quran 9:51
*Say: Naught befalleth us save that which Allah hath decreed for us. He is our Protecting Friend. In Allah let believers put their trust! *

Quran 10:30
There doth every soul experience that which it did aforetime, and they are returned unto Allah, their **rightful Mawlaa*, and that which they used to invent hath failed them. *

Quran 22:78
*and hold fast to Allah. He is your Mawlaa. A blessed Mawlaa and a blessed Helper! *

Quran 47:11
That is because Allah is Mawlaa of those who believe, and because the disbelievers have no mawlaa

that is the only Mawlaa we know....

and if u want to call youselves followers of Quran, then take Him Alone as the Mawlaa....

obviously it is how you interperet...with maula i meant master/leader
thats why we brought ayat + hadiths from YOUR HADITH BOOKS

lagta hai Prophet (pbuh&up) tumharay saamnay aa ker bhi ager kahaingay tab bhi nahi maano gay :)

"Of whomever I am his master (mawla), Ali also is his master (mawla)."

Sunni References:

al Hakim in Mustadrak ala al Sahihayn vol. iii, pp. 109110;

Al Tirmidhi in his Sahih (Bulaq, 1292), ii, 298;

was'nt tirmidhi one of the sahih books?

so u'll reject all those verses of the Quran for one hadith which is not even from a book that u believe in????

read my post again. its how you interpret things ok
its not from my hadith book yeh but i believe in it because its also in our books..don try to twist things

then what r we keeping the Quran for??? :konfused:

aur konsi zabaan main samjha'un? pushto main ya punjabi main?
u are just not getting the point
its very apparent that ppl translate quran and interepret things differently...that has to be a strong reason why Prophet (pbuh&up) said I am also leaving behind My Family..yet the muslims have replaced the word Family with Sunnah..its just suprises me so much that how clear some of the hadiths are in sahih books yet muslims still don't get anything out of it

and one last time:
maula = leader/master

bhai i do not care what mawlaa means....

but u tell me what these verses mean that i quoted above....
and let me repeat this one....

Quran 10:30
There doth every soul experience that which it did aforetime, and they are returned unto **Allah, their rightful Mawlaa*, and that which they used to invent hath failed them. *

the rightful Mawlaa = Allah
those that they invent as mawla besides him = hath failed them

:jazak: Brother, we can only pray now. The problem is that people follow what is being followed for years, even though it may be wrong. I am not saying we are perfect. May Allah make us stronger in the right concept of tauheed and shirk.

Originally posted by ravage: *
**Regarding Hazrat Ali over the Prophet

Firstly, you're confusing things if you're counting "ya hussain" as an instance of Shias preferring the (certain people in the) aal for wasila. Ya Hussain is principally associated with mourning and muharram, a seperate issue.

Between Hazrat Ali and the Prophet, there is no question about the relative stature between them. But higher stature and respect does not automatically imply that the Prophet should the automatic source of nusrat.

The distinction is not merely political, there is also the fact that, both implicitly and explicitly, during the prophets lifetime, the Prophet relied on Hazrat Ali for nusrat in times when he needed assistance. Some element of that history both sects agree upon, some they dont.We trace, for instance, Nad-e-ali to the Prophet during a certain war (which i forget.. someone please help out here..) which explicitly includes "ya ali" in it. Depending on who you are, you might view that as justification for our actions, or you might view calling Hazrat Ali in times of need, or you might view that as sunnah. Bottom line: we trace our calls to Ali to Prophetic tradition.

Hazrat Ali is therefore, characterised as someone who comes to your aid in times of distress, from events in the life of the Prophet. based on that characterisation, is the phenomenon that you all find puzzling.

Put quite perfectly :)

and who are you to judge that? :disgust:

ok .. folks.. enough!
Fun is over. Take a chill pill and move on to the next discussion.

Jazak Allah