Re: Why Punjabis Do Not Speak Punjabi With Their Kids
^ khote da puttar hona ![]()
hain na par sab shaadi shuda nai tuhadi kisi kam diyan nahin ![]()
par koi gal nahin koi dhoond levan ge koi masla hi nahin ![]()
pahle PK786 di pahenji nu ta aan do ![]()
tussi ek no. de nikamme haige ho
goi gaali pher bi saade friend ho
i forgive you ![]()
*makhi nak de utte behndi hai nake hondi hain.
*I am yet to meet a person having a fly permanently perched on his/her nose.
te eh tuhano kis ne dasya hai k naik hondi hai :aq:
apne kolon galaan banade paye o ![]()
ok me off for 15 mns will be back till than take care and have fun ![]()
Feeling of Linguistic pride/sentiment is going to stay same as ethnic, race and religious sentiments!
However, the communication gap among Human because of language will
disappear slowly as the world is becoming smaller due to widespread use of communication-information technology.
After looking back in ancient times....If I imagine 4000 years after this, I can see a period where people communicating with each other in one "common" language, may be a mixture of English, Hindi, Urdu, Tamil, Punjabi, French, Chinese, Arabic, etc. etc.:)
shukriya g badi mushkil naal mane ho dosti noon ![]()
forgive for what ![]()
I admit, despite being born in a Punjabi family us siblings n cousins never spoke Punjabi.
We would understand it...but speaking was the hardest part.
When I got married...my Brother in law insisted that I should speak Punjabi. Then I started slowly...n after being a laughing stock for a few years, Now I'm quite fluent n nobody can tell if i learnt it just recently.
As for my kids....I would love to teach them. Atm they can't speak it but now hubby has just recently started working on it...so i hope in the long run they will be able to speak inshaAllah.
50 years down the line there will be so many varieties of English that one English speaker will have to hire the services of an English interpretor to understand English of another English speaker. A widely spoken language mutates very fast.
I will not speak punjabi with my kids during their brought up.
I believe we punjabi people have treated punjabi as a sotely maa ( step mother ) collectively. I have no options to be part of this crime too.
I will not speak punjabi with my kids during their brought up. I believe we punjabi people have treated punjabi as a sotely maa ( step mother ) collectively. I have no options to be part of this crime too.
Eh taa badi kharab gal hai...pher naa koi Daler Mehndi noo sunega naa koi tuttak tuttka tootiyaan karega. *
*Puttar soch samajh ke faisla karo.
Those wanabe Meno-Punjabi-Aande-Ay cant really have a proper serious conversation in punjabi, neither they speak it nor they can understand poetry . They only want to show that how eaisy it is make fun of this beautiful language, because we, 'the punjabis' have already disowned this language and left it for wannabes who think it is easy to make fun of punjabi by distorting urdu words... while not knowing that punjabi is actually waaaay older language than urdu. And unlike urdu it is an original language.
Anwar Masood (peot) rightly said ' Punjabeyoon ne jitni khidmat Urdu zuban ki ki hai, itni Punjabi ki nahi ki'
parents spoke punjabi to each other but spoke urdu to us kids… so i end up speaking a mix of punjabi and urdu with a hardcore accent :halo:
That means you speak purdu ![]()
i think there is the stigma of the "paindu" factor attached to the punjabi language. and the fact that it is not encouraged in schools, offices, mainstream shows doesnt help either. every language is beautiful and unique in its own way but some languages are "percieved" by a majority of people to be superior to others. french language is romantic. a russian struggling to speak english is sexy...a person from bangladesh speaking english in their unique accent is seldom percieved as sexy. The french are not embarrassed of their accent when they speak english, but desis sometimes are.
And this includes me.
Punjabi is a beautiful language. Sufi Punjabi poetry is intoxicating. We are missing a rich part of our culture.
My parents never spoke punjabi with us,(apart from daanttein:D but did with each other)..I think in Pakistan it is almost expected that Urdu should be the major language , not the dialects or provisional languages...I know my kids and their kids will not know punjabi..again except from Daantein...where I go all punjabi too:D)...but over here its such a big loss..that kids donot get to learn the things that back in Pakistan are taken for granted
Wow, I guess Im one of the few who were born/raised abroad, and spoke only tait punjabi and not much urdu. My family on both sides are from villages and we maintain our roots/ties with our pind. So urdu is rarely spoken so everyone just spoke in punjabi at home, so we would often hear, oye toon ki Paris chay paida hoie san, punjabi bol. Code_Red pretty much nailed it, it is what it is. Punjabi is viewed as a jagaa badmash, karaari zabaan full of batameezi, by lots of punjabis and non, which is the sad part.
People embarrassed about speaking punjabi is moslty a west punjab phenomnon. In indian punjab, the sikhs take pride in their language and make great efforts to teach it to their kids. This sikh i use to work for tought his daughters writing and reading punjabi BEFORE they even went to school and learnt english. He and his wife only spoke punjabi to them. As a result his daughters could speak and understand punjabi when they were 4-5 years old that my cousins who were in their early teens couldnt :(
If anyone is interested in learning how to read and write punjabi on their own, try this website: http://www.apnaorg.com/
its the Academy Of Punjab in North America: a non-religious and non-political organization of all punjabies for the promotion of punjabi language, literature, and culture.
It has all the classical works of Punjabi poets in both shahmukhi and gurmukhi way of writing along with lots of punjabi music and new books.