Why Madhab? Why not ALL 4? WHY WHY WHY?

I need to know if there is any authentic Hadith from RASULLULAH(SAW) that his Ummah will have to follow one of the great Imams-although they were not even born in the time of the demise of RASULLULAH(SAW). 2ND-Some Hanafi Ulamma have the tendency of over stressing this Mathab and neglect the other Mathab’s. Bu doing this a person would believe that for example Imam Shafi was NOT (Authu-Billah) a Muslim by making Calamari Halaal to consume. These simple issues are causing major concern especially amongst the youth and my fear is that my children are exposed to thoughts that make great people seem insignificant in the eyes of Ulammah that promote ‘thier’ school of thought. This in no way makes us ‘Salafi’ but this is reality that faces the Ummah - please comment - Jazakallah-Khair

===

Indeed obedience in its true sense belongs only to Allah which is the requirement of Tauheed. Even the obedience of the Prophet (S.A.W.) has only been prescribed for us because of him being the messenger of Allah conveying the divine commandments to us. It is therefore required of us that we follow the Quran, being the direct commandment of Allah and the Sunnah being the indirect form of commandments. But the interpretation of the Quran and Sunnah require an intensive and extensive study which is not an easy job and cannot be undertaken by every layman. It will be virtually impossible for him to consult the Quran and Sunnah in each and every problem arising before him due to his lack of knowledge with regards to the relevant material required for inferring the rules of Shariah from the Quran and Sunnah. The only solution to this problem is that a group of people should acquire this knowledge and others should consult them in their day to day affaires as the Almighty Allah mentions in the Holy Quran: ?And the believers should not proceed all together. So, why does a party from each faction among them not proceed, so that they may acquire sound understanding on Deen, and so that they may admonish their people when they return to them, so that they may take precaution?? (Surah Taubah, Verse 122) Now if a person asks an authentic Aalim regarding a specific ruling of the Shari?ah, it would not be said that he has taken that particular Aalim to be the subject of his obedience; rather, being ignorant of the commandments of Allah and his Messenger (S.A.W.), he has consulted that Aalim in order to know what is required of him to do to carry out the commandments of Allah. This is what Taqleed means. The qualified Muslim jurists or Imams have thoroughly studied the Quran and Sunnah and devoted their lives for this very purpose. They collected the rules of Shari?ah according to their respective interpretations of the Shariah. This collection is called the Math-hab of that jurist. Thus the Math-hab of an Imam is nothing different to the Shariah; in fact it is the interpretation of Shari?ah and a collection of the rules of Shariah arranged in subject form for convenience sake. Therefore following a Math-hab of a particular Imam or jurist is in actual fact following the Shari?ah through the interpretation of an authentic jurist who he believes to be the most knowledgeable in the matters of Shariah. As for the differences of the Mathaahib (Math-habs), it has emerged through the different possible interpretations of the rules inferred from the Quran and Sunnah. The cause of this difference can be when either of the following situations arises: 1. The expression used in the two Holy sources, Quran and Sunnah, may permit more than one interpretation and jurists may differ in interpreting that expression. One jurist, after making adequate research would prefer one interpretation while the other jurists may prefer the other interpretation. 2. Sometimes two traditions of the Prophet (S.A.W.) seem to contradict apparently. In this case also the jurists, after reconciling these traditions prefer some over the others and this may also lead to the viewpoints of the jurists differing. 3. There are some issues that are not mentioned in the Quran and Sunnah. The solution to this problem is sought through Qiyaas (analogy) or some kind of expression found in the Quran or Sunnah that indirectly refers to that particular issue. Here also the jurist may differ in their approaches to inferring the correct solution from the Quran and Sunnah. In the abovementioned situation, a jurist who has the necessary qualifications of Ijtihaad (Independent judgment in a legal or a theological question based on the interpretation and application of the four Sources) will be discharging his duty by exerting the best of his efforts to discover the actual intention of the Quran and Sunnah. Another jurist may disagree with his interpretation but he can never accuse him of violating the Shari?ah nor can he accuse the followers of that particular Imam to be following something other than Shari?ah. There are four Math-habs which are well arranged and well preserved till today and are taken to be the most reliable in the interpretation of the Shariah. These are Hanafi, Shafii, Maliki and Hanbali. By following one of these Math-habs in the matters of interpretation of the Shariah, one will be discharging his obligation of following the Shariah. (Contemporary Fataawaa, Page 215-220) One question that arises here is that why one is obliged to follow only one of the four Math-habs when all of them are correct? The answer to this question is that if people are left free to follow any Math-hab at given moment and situation then this will undoubtedly lead to people making their desires subject of obedience which is Haraam as mentioned in the Holy Quran: Did thou see him, who took his vile desires for his deity, and in spite of all the comprehension, Allah misguided him and sealed off his ear and his heart, and set a veil over his eye? Now After Allah, who will guide him? Will you then not take heed?? (Surah Jaathiyah, Verse 23) Have thou seen that person who took his lust for his deity? So, will thou stand surety for him?? (Surah Furqaan, Verse 43) If one faces a situation that is in his favour then he follow one Math-hab and if another situation arises that is going against him then he will switch his Math-hab and follow a different one as it suits him. In this way Deen will become a mock. Therefore it will be necessary to choose one Math-hab and follow the commandments of Shari?ah as interpreted by the Imam of that Math-hab. (Jawaahirul Fiqh, Vol. 1, Page 151) and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best Mufti Muhammad Ashraf DARUL IFTA ? JAMEAH MAHMOODIYAH, SPINGS SPECIAL PROJECT WITH DARUL IFTA, MADRASAH IN?AAMIYYAH ? CAMPERDOWN

Re: Why Madhab? Why not ALL 4? WHY WHY WHY?

Itne bade post yaar I just cant read I can only run throught.
Yes thats what I am arguing dont follow any Madhab blindly, if you find strong evidence in any other Madhab follow that.
Thats my main argument. But better is to follow Quran and the Hadith.
Let me tell you cricket palya truely i respect TJ for its intention. It has infact, made lives of Many Muslims. No doubt people who used to not even offer salah they have changed there lives.
But I am against some of its ideologies of the Scholars written in there own books, and these are the books propagated in Masjids.
JazakAllaah khair.

I hope you realize that differences of opinion exist within the madhabs too.
What does one do when these differences of opinion come up within the madhab?

Difference of opinion isn't bad. Ofcourse therewill be that's why you have 4 madhabs. The Prophet prayed differently sometimes which is why some pray differently.. It all correct at the end.

Please explain verse 3:103 of the Quran. Atleast the first two lines then we shall talk.

Your post makes the common mistake of assuming that all knowledge and divine inspiration stopped with the Prophet (s). Wrong. He left the door open for ijtihad and consensus. The Quran was not compiled in his time but it was the wisdom of those after him that led to its compilation. The same is true for the manners of collecting and authenticating hadith.

You may be of the opinion that is enough to simply pick up a book and derive fiqh derivatives from that. This can lead you down a path of utter inconsistency and confusion. According to our main four schools of thought, principles matter and consistency is found in judgements. Why four? They are the most popular. Another could be derived and if it found staying power among the masses, it would be accepted.

Your arguments are typically made by Wahhabis. If you are not one, then I suggest your Google madhabs and read links from www.masud.co.uk If you are a Wahhabi then it is a lost cause.

Thansk for calling me a wahabi because he followed Quran and Sunnah, I also follow Quran and Sunnah.
Can you explain to me what you mean by compilation of Quran, in detail.
I though I was a salafi, no Ghair Muqallid are bap nahin hum Ahle Hadith, hain.
I am confused what am I.
I know the answer I am a Muslim, who believes in no sects, no divisions and who is consistent with 3:103 verse of Quran.

^ there are hadith that appear contradictary, so when you face such hadiths, which one will you choose? obviously something from your desire...

tahts why we need madhabs, which put the Quran and Sunnah into proper place.

If you actually read about the 4 madhabs, you'l realize that they follow the QURAN and SUNNAH better than an individual himself following it.

Hanafi, Shafi, Mallicki, Hanbali, are all sunnis, what **sects **are you talking about?

To limit desires, you're supposed to follow one.

Even the imam of haram-shareef has time to time emphasized the importance of following one of these madhabs.

I thouhgt the saudis are Wahabis, but explain to me this Authentic hadith I am leaving you 2 things 1) Quran and 2) Sunnah. said by Prophet Mohamed saliAllaahwaliwasalam.
Do you get the difference between following a Madhab or Following Quran and Sunnah please care to explain.

^ UFFF!

THe madhabs TEACH the QURAN and SUNNAH. Everything in the Madhabs is FROM the Quran and SUNNAH.

Madhabs are not something new.

Have you looked into the rulings? they're all based on Quran and Sunnah.

Who have written, Abu Haneefas book and who follow Abu Haneefa. Please i want a brief description. If the scholars of Haneefi Madhab follow him completely then why are they so many differences amongst the Haneefi Madhab.

Imam Shafeei who follow them.

Imam Malliki who follow them.

Imam Hanbali who follow them.

If the ruling are based on Quran and Sunnah, will you please take care to explain my arguments in the thread 4 Madhabs.

^ because some rulings for similar things come from the sunnah. How do you explain them? they're all correct, but how would you implement the ruling on your own? You would just end up following your desire.

madhabs don't do ANYTHING but organize the religion, and make it easier for people to live as muslims.
There are no differences, only rulings to abide by.

They're all correct.

and from Quran and Sunnah.

Please do quote some examples. I would abide by it. Ihave asked some questions, please do answer that. Try to read Quran 3;103.
Thanks in advance

Ye insan 3:103 pe atak giya.. Agay kiya hoga?

" I thouhgt the saudis are Wahabis " LOL, you have not stepped outside your house in awhile eh? The scholars in Saudi Arabia do not follow the government (which is an evil govenrment indeed and are so called Wahabis)..

Wasim, one simple example is of the Prayer. How did the Prophet (PBUH) pray? There are more than 1 way of praying (meaning raising hands..etc) Hanafi pray different from the Maliki way, is there something wrong in that? I don't think so because both follow the Sunnah of the Prophet (PBUH).

It is Haram to follow your own desire (to pick and chose which way you would like to pray), which is why we have madhabs. Get it now?

It's quite shocking, after all the debate we had yesterday, after not abling to answermy questions rather contradicting your own sayings, you opened yet another thread on same topic
I've nothing else to say you brother except this:
To you be your Way, and to me mine(Surah Al-Kafirun, 6)

May Allah Subhaanhu Wa Ta'ala send His rehma'h and mercy upon us, grant us Jaanah and accept our good a'amals...Ameen

Ameen wa rabilalameen.

Typical TJ, Deobandi stuff these people are known for creating fuss I have heard it we get the proof for Sahih Bukhari also they wanna create fuss, You have been proving this for the last 2 months same topic and 4 threads regarding this.
Anyways at the end of it I want an answer and nothing more from cricketpalya

Give me one unequivocal statement, that Prophet salaAlllaahwaliwasallam, asked his Ummah to follow one Madhab and we will stop discussing.
JazakAllaah Khair

I pray Allaah guides towards the right path, and not on the part of Muqallid.
Ameen wa rabilalammeen
Now stop floating in new threads when you are not able to answer.

^ Oh God.

The Prophet pbuh said Follow my sunnah?

TRY, just TRY to follow his sunnah ON Your OWN. You'll realize you can't.

Madhabs are SUNNAH. The Sunnah Prophetp buh was talking about.

My understanding of Sunnah, does not stop to one particular madhab.

For eg the way I pray it might be shafi madhab
Ablution might be hanafi madhab

What i mean is all the 4 madhabs consist of Prophetic tradition and juripudence. But if i find stronger authenticity in other madhab i follow that.
What i mean is by taqleed, blind following is not allowed.
Brother crescent to some it all up I tell you i follow Quran and Sunnah. Tell me which is better to follow onlly a Madhab where you have to follow only one that consists of Quran and Sunnah ruling or the above.
As a muslim you are my brother, I find a stronger evidence I follow that.
Like in saudi haram a sharieff itself
Abdul Rehman Al sudais is a shafi.
Ibrahim sherin is a salaf.
Al subail is again a shafi.

*But when they find a strong evidence, Prophetic tradition from hadith, its obligatory on us to follow. *
But you dont come any evidence contradicting your method of following quran and sunnah its ok but if it contradicts and your provided with a stronger evidence, come what may you have to follow it otherwise its ignoring Prophets tradition.
To tell you the truth all 4 Imams got hadith from different sources some where saheeh, hasan, daeef, munkar and baatil. So we have to understand the Science of Hadith before following ignorantly.
Btw i have recently changed the method of my Salah and it took 8 months for me to follow it with in depth analysis and research.
Allaah knows the best.

Wallahi these guys are funny as hell.

It took you 8 months to follow the NEW way of Prayer. Wow brother, why didn you just go to the Hanafi ways or any other madhab, it would of been lot easier, researching yourself? How do you do that? Please do give us a lecture, haha...

Typical TJ? Wasim bhai, aap to typical salafi hain, ek chees pe atak jate hain. Agay bharthe nahin...

Chalo...acha hai ise apki english to sharpen hogi.. Seriously I don't understand what you mumble jumble about man.

Just answer this, what is with this bida salifiya? Just in the last 100 years it came around... If you tell me something good, some good evidence of why it was created just in the last 100 years, then I am ready to listen to you professor sahab.

Following your desires = Haram.

Assalam O Aalaikom everybody,

How are you? This debate can last forever and no matter what happens the discussion is not going to end. I consider myself to be a student of Islam and came up with a question to figure out that

**"Were there any Muslim who did not follow any of the four Imams but rather followed Quran and Sunnah before Wahhabi came to restore Islam"?

**Looking for the answer and I need evidence along with that.

Take Care,
Allah Hafiz!