Why it bothers our ppl

when they see a husband helping his wife in the kitchen esp cooking thing.isn’t it a cute thing something that bonds u together?
but i see most ppl getting uneasy with such scenes.inlaws r the number one anti husband helping in kitchen group but even friends will comment like hes juro ka ghulam or shes not capable enuf(Sughhar)How will u react to such comments?

Re: Why it bothers our ppl

haha!

I know, many people say I'm so lucky... well I am, and I tell them... Alhamdullilah, I have a great husband and they keep quiet.

Hmm, i don't think i have encountered this negativity from many, except from one weirdo man, husband of one of my friends. He makes comments like "I'd never do anything in the kitchen, I'm a MAN!". Strange person. I give him a pitiful look and tell him he's not a strong person if he believes his manhood will be affected by that. Then he goes quiet.

Like Nik, most people tell me i'm really lucky to have a husband who helps out so much, mashallah!

Yes, some of my family members have the same kind of negative attitude. But forget the kitchen, that doesn't matter that much, what about helping with the children? Husband should do that too, especially if people are visiting and the wife has to prepare the house and foods for the guest, or if she has to do stuff for other inlaws, husbands should help take care of their own children when the wife is very busy.

nikki apa<:hugz:

Tell me about it!! My husband helps me with everything and takes very good care of me and when ppl around us see that, they get uncomfortable which I find soooo weird!!!
some even said Laila Majnu in such a negative way that I felt bad that my husband was taking care of me!!!

weird!!

Our loving Prophet (SAW) helped his noble wives in the chores and every muslim knows that but it’s sad that MIL’s and other aunties esp. feel like their son is being bossed around by his wive i.e he is a slave. I got baistified on this issue many times :bummer:

Well, that's because in our culture the most ignorant people alive think a wife is supposed to be treated like a servant and the husband as a king. If they would study some of the Holy Prophet (SAW) his life, they'd see how loving, caring, helpful husband he was. And the Prophet (SAW) is our perfect example. :)

my BIL helps my sister out a lot in the kitchen and various household tasks…she used to get the same comments as well. She just ignored it!

some desi’s just dont want to see couples happy :bummer:

I personally haven't witnessed that yet.

My hubs is a better cook than I am!

Usually when I am having a dinner party I give him 2 dishes to make.

Ignore ppl - they are just jealous

I think u r right about that, some really don’t want to see others happy. I think that they secretly want their own husbands to help out but can’t have it so will criticise others.

Don't feel bad, it is his DUTY to take care of u!

exactly :k:

who wouldnt want their husband to help out?
not that I would MAKE him help me…but I would greatly appreciate it and my appreciation would show by the things I do for him and the way I act towards him.

A wife isnt a child who needs to be taken care of...

However...both husband and wife should care for each other....and showing care for each other doesnt necessarily have to involve household chores.

Correct AE, but you know, some women have this "martyr" syndrome where they never admit or acknowledge the help they get from their husbands. Like this lady I know always says "aaj help ker raheiN haiN... waisey he doesn't do anything."

thats so messed up.

and u know the funny thing about this is....that the women that say this dont even work!! i dont hear their husbands saying....hey why should i help u at home when u dont help me with work lol

damn, i dont recall ever hearing anyone sa that either!
I need to get out more :hmmm:

my family encourages my brother to help out SIL round the house, one person cnt do all the work

Sometimes its the norm for the inlaws to not have men help around the house. I know my MIL dislikes it a lot when i ask my husband to help me out with something, even something as simple as filling a water pitcher. In my family on the other hand, both my dad and bhai are very active. They routinely help out with the dishes or vaccuming and sometimes even cook as well if ammi is busy elsewhere or not feeling well.