going by how most islamic weddings in the middle east, like iranian ones the brides all wear white same with palestinian and most other muslim countries. Why not in Pakistan?
Re: why isn't White the dominant Pak bridal color?
I like that white is not the traditional bridal color.....as red seems to suit Desi skin tones better. And I love HOW unlike Western culture......we have so many varieties to choose from in terms of color.
As to why the traditional bridal color is red? I dunno. Could it have something to do with sindoor being red? Something to consider since Pakistan was a part of India. And in Hinduism...based on what I've gathered from the movies and books I've read....white is associated with death as that's the color predominantly worn by widows.
White represents purity/virginity in Western culture. So, could it be that red somehow represents virginity in Desi culture?
If I remember correctly, in 80s white was a dominant color for shadi accompanied by pink for valima...
Pakistan is a muslim country, but South Asian country rather than Arab. Naturally, it's going to keep hold of those traditions to some extent alongside religious origin. :)
The color red is used on the subcontinent because it symbolises fertility, life and a new beginning. It's the traditional color for wedding dresses in the region. I love the color because it celebrates a woman's sensuality.
I know that in Kurdistan the color red was also the predominant one, in some villages it's still used. Furthermore beduin-cultures also use red/greens. However globalisation has given way to the white color.
there ist NO religion colour for the wedding dress! its just a cultural thing!
I think its more of a cultural thing to be honest...
Chinese brides also wear red, I believe. I don't know why, but I do think red has become (or was always) symbolic of fortune and fertility.
If I remember correctly, in 80s white was a dominant color for shadi accompanied by pink for valima...
That might have been a trend, but the traditional color has long been red.
Pakistan is a muslim country, but South Asian country rather than Arab. Naturally, it's going to keep hold of those traditions to some extent alongside religious origin. :)
This..
Re: why isn’t White the dominant Pak bridal color?
Thank God white is not the main wedding color ![]()
Chinese brides also wear red, I believe. I don't know why, but I do think red has become (or was always) symbolic of fortune and fertility.
Chinese and Indian (hindu traditions so I have been told) think that Red represents the color of new beginnings and is a sign of good luck. What better meaning behind a color than that? White was worn in both cultures for mourning.
Iranians however wear black for I think 45 days after a death in the family, some people take that really seriously. So white wedding dresses may be something they saw their royals do when they started associating with European royals? That's just my guess because I think culturally way back when white wasn't a need it was just a beautiful gown of any color.
I actually opted to get my wedding lengha in white (getting married in 10 days), because Im not really a fan of red. Red just isnt my colour. My lengha is beautiful, and I look beautiful in it (MashAllah, not tooting my own horn!). The best thing about pakistani culture is that there are no hard and fast rules about the colour you have to wear, you really are open to any colour you want. And Im so happy that my mom and my MIL both were happy with my choice.
Well I think religiously white is the colour for brides in Islam, that is why most muslim countries wear white. The reason y that is not the case in Pakistan is because of the Hindu influence (red being the colour they wear for weddings). So it basically ends up being a cultural thing in the end.
I chose to wear white for my nikkah and since I'm not really keen on red I wore a peach and gold outfit for the actual shaadi ceremony :)
Re: why isn’t White the dominant Pak bridal color?
^White is lovely. But it is not the required color for Muslim brides. ![]()
white does symbolize purity and peace in islam right(?)while red doesn't really have any meaning religiously(something i read so i'm not sure), that's why i was asking. so it is entirely a cultural thing then
ps:hindu wedding dresses(the type and color) vary going from subculture to subculture or state, so the color worn by a bride is entirely up to her, i don't think i've ever seen a cousin's wedding outfit being red, it's totally dependent on her taste.
**RED is appropriate for the occasion as it is also the color of DANGER! so, red alerts the guy what he is gonna get into...a dulhan is like DANGER wrapped in RED lurking on suhaagraat :D
RED also HIDES the "BLOOD" that could be spilled! ;) :D
Well I think religiously white is the colour for brides in Islam, that is why most muslim countries wear white. The reason y that is not the case in Pakistan is because of the Hindu influence (red being the colour they wear for weddings). So it basically ends up being a cultural thing in the end.
I chose to wear white for my nikkah and since I'm not really keen on red I wore a peach and gold outfit for the actual shaadi ceremony :)
There's no 'colour' for brides in Islam. White is often associated with purity/peace but that doesnt mean its required for brides...
traditionally the Arab nomads/bedouin brides wore outfits full of colour n pattern
I guess Shawarma is more Islamic food than Biryani?
Everything thats Arabic is NOT Islamic!
Besides religion, Arabs just like Asians have their own little cultural legacies and practices some of them belonging to pre Islamic era.
Everyone's talking about Hindus and Arabs, but what about the Moughals who had Turko-Persian heritage? They ruled the subcontinent for centuries, shaped the culture region, more so for Muslims than Hindus? As far as I'm concerned, Moughals era was defined by rich vibrant colours, sheer opulence, extravagance, there's very little (almost no evidence) to suggest that Moughal brides wore white.
Afghan brides don't wear white, I'm not too sure about red but do go for bright solid colours.