Why no science fiction related TV shows on Pakistani TV? Are people not interested in space travel stories, alien encounters, and futuristic stories? I know Pakistani literature has some of that, but most of the stuff I had seen was translations of Western science fiction.
Granted that stories related to science fiction require some special effects, which maybe beyond what Pakistani media is capable of, but shows like X-files which is basically science fiction has hardly any special effects. Some episodes do, but most of the show is dialouge and drama.
The only Pakistani movie that comes to mind is Shaani, which was really a mix of ET and Frankenstein. I can’t remember a single TV show that centered around science fiction. Jinns are not science fiction, that is fantasy stuff like The Hobbit, so I won’t count Ainak Wala Jinn in these shows.
Re: Why is science fiction absent from Pakistani media?
maula jutt was not an alien?????
hmmmmm
aur bhi sci fi hai humaray paas..when hero ka maan is yunger than hero (check later era mohd ali movies)..i mean thats like time travel and all that right?
Never seen maula jatt. Was he really an alien?
Ok, well now that I think of it that one old movie about a donkey turning human was science fiction.
I find Pakistani TV shows to be very limited in their stories. It's always the same story, someone doesn't want to marry someone, mom is angry, brother and new wife don't get along and so on. I can't say I have ever seen a decent action show.
On top of that I don't get why Pakistani TV is directed mostly towards women.
There was one long time back for children, early eighties. Where Shakeel was with 3 children and they could vanish with some kind of gadgets. I think there was some time traveling involved. But really kids stuff.
Ok, well now that I think of it that one old movie about a donkey turning human was science fiction.
I find Pakistani TV shows to be very limited in their stories. It's always the same story, someone doesn't want to marry someone, mom is angry, brother and new wife don't get along and so on. I can't say I have ever seen a decent action show.
On top of that I don't get why Pakistani TV is directed mostly towards women.
chey arab rupyay wala aadmi does not sound as good as "the six million dollar man"
ghazi-sawar dunn have the same ring to it as knight rider
alif-jamaat and a-team can not be compared
I think thats the issue
x-men? what k-sahiban?
that is stopping ppl.
but seriously, desi tv shows suck...once in a while u see stuff like ragon mein andhera...in my view still the best damn TV drama in pakistan history. aur andhera ujala...or alif noon...or sunehray din...
we dont have many good shows period, let alone sci fi
pakistani alif laila was way better then sci-fi movies. but i did have seen sci-fi kid dramas some 9-10 years ago on PTV world (i think that was some channel's name).
since we are still not that advance that is why Pakistani media fail to produce any sci-fi amusement for mature (yeah right) audience.
ps. ainak wala jin bilawal ko bhut pasand tha...otherwise wo acha drama tha.
chey arab rupyay wala aadmi does not sound as good as "the six million dollar man"
ghazi-sawar dunn have the same ring to it as knight rider
alif-jamaat and a-team can not be compared
I think thats the issue
x-men? what k-sahiban?
that is stopping ppl.
but seriously, desi tv shows suck...once in a while u see stuff like ragon mein andhera...in my view still the best damn TV drama in pakistan history. aur andhera ujala...or alif noon...or sunehray din...
we dont have many good shows period, let alone sci fi
True, but all those shows (except X-men) were popular in Pakistan. That means people do like science fiction. Ok maybe thelay wala, mochi and teendabbywala don't care much, but that's another story.
I know you were joking about it, but I think it does have something to do with us not being able to connect properly with concepts of science fiction. Imagine if they made a show like Star Trek but everyone spoke Urdu, and everyone was Pakistani, it would be hard to relate to it.
In my opinion, Pakistani TV sucks so much because of the horrible acting by a lot of the younger actors, and the same roles being played by the senior actors. Those youngsters cannot even deliver dialouges properly, it doesn't even seem like they practiced before coming on camera.
I try to watch some dramas on ARY or GEO, but the acting is so horrible. Plus, do they still have sound issues on sets? The scenes made outside, I can hear the wind blowing hard in some of them. I thought dialouges were added later, but apparently not in Pakistani dramas.
And why doesn't India make sci fi movies? I thought their audience was more educated and diverse. They made Mr India, and then they made those two ET like movies and that's it.
BTW, their TV dramas, regardless of how good their sets, sound and editing maybe, look completely stupid and unconvincing. I saw a drama 3 weeks ago where two brothers were confronting each other in rain. 3/4 of the whole episode was just both of them looking at each other with anger and showing the same scene from a different angle. At least crappy Pakistani dramas can be blamed on a culture which doesn't appreciate arts too much, and an industry which doesn't allow much creativity. They just have no excuse.
And why doesn't India make sci fi movies? I thought their audience was more educated and diverse. They made Mr India, and then they made those two ET like movies and that's it.
BTW, their TV dramas, regardless of how good their sets, sound and editing maybe, look completely stupid and unconvincing. I saw a drama 3 weeks ago where two brothers were confronting each other in rain. 3/4 of the whole episode was just both of them looking at each other with anger and showing the same scene from a different angle. At least crappy Pakistani dramas can be blamed on a culture which doesn't appreciate arts too much, and an industry which doesn't allow much creativity. They just have no excuse.
hmmmm they made a couple, Mr. India and errrrr this one x-menish movie with sunjay dutt and sunil shetty in it...forget the name.
but crappy and all.
indian horror flicks are also lame slasher ttypes.
I think there is good material to have sci fi or fantasy movies, look if lord of the rings can work, why cant a movie depiction of maut ka taqub (anyone read that) what about tilsim e hosh-ruba, why not have a spy series based on err X2. yes i know ibne safi had dhamaka filmed about prince zafara and jameson which i have not seen but want to see, somethign samad has failed in finding for me.
we have some really good material...
when we can do histroical stuff like aakhri chatan..another good drama..why cant we do more of those, why are we soap opera nation?
lol....u only get to see three-four hour movie.
sci-fi movies unique costly ideas, and then accustomed expensive equipments are the major reasons. even in hollywood u have to comeup with something new in order to amuse ppl and to get their attention.
hmmmm they made a couple, Mr. India and errrrr this one x-menish movie with sunjay dutt and sunil shetty in it...forget the name.
but crappy and all.
indian horror flicks are also lame slasher ttypes.
I think there is good material to have sci fi or fantasy movies, look if lord of the rings can work, why cant a movie depiction of maut ka taqub (anyone read that) what about tilsim e hosh-ruba, why not have a spy series based on err X2.** yes i know ibne safi had dhamaka filmed about prince zafara and jameson which i have not seen but want to see, somethign samad has failed in finding for me.**
we have some really good material...
when we can do histroical stuff like aakhri chatan..another good drama..why cant we do more of those, why are we soap opera nation?
y dont u ask raju uncle...he knows javed sheikh very well (who played Imran). i am sure javed sheikh might have it in his flop flick collection...err i mean movies.
is it language, or is it a literacy rate you are highlighting?
TDW- after movie production moved from Karachi to Lahore, several things got changed. it is true that in us punjabi one thing is dominant than any other ethnic group exist in Pakistan, n that is “boliyan marna”.
then KHI was filled with educated, resources-less immigrants, whereas Punjab not only had-have resources but also target audience moved from educated class to labour-local business class, who only wanted to pass their time through junky thumkaz.
rightnow instead of stressing about sci-fi movie, we better make movies at least havinf some story (plz no love lafraz)
y dont u ask raju uncle...he knows javed sheikh very well (who played Imran). i am sure javed sheikh might have it in his flop flick collection...err i mean movies.
dhamaka was a flop, but hit pakistani movies suck, therefore i have a hope that dhamaka was actually good.
javed played imran or price zaffar?
u are rite...he played Zafarul Mulk.
acc to the site....Imran and X-2's team was not shown in the movie. The voice of X2 was recorded by Ibne Safi himself. Maulana Hippie the film producer played Jameson and actress Shabnam played the role of Sabiha.
i am sure if they had shown Imran's character, it would've been hit. :(
ps. still i believe safi's magnum opuses can produce some great movies.
Magna opera actually
While x2 gets the more visibility ahmed Kamal faridi is an amazing character as well, and the side adventures of zafar plus the saff shikan personna are all great works.
My dad is a faridi fan and an ataturk fan so my name was an obvious choice, Ali was already in the name for x2
There was one long time back for children, early eighties. Where Shakeel was with 3 children and they could vanish with some kind of gadgets. I think there was some time traveling involved. But really kids stuff.