Re: Why is science fiction absent from Pakistani media?
I am glad they haven't. They can't get their normal stuff to be not-cheesy and if they were doing science fiction, oh wow, that would be a disaster :o
Every day life in Pakistan is science fiction, look at how people survive without electricity , clean water, proper nutritious food, without treatment of diseases, people use chooran or taweez to treat appendicitis, the roads in Pakistan look like surface of moon, full of pot holes, kids get educated without teachers in government schools, folks get treated without medications and doctors in government hospitals.
So Pakistani awam are used to this fictional life , that is why science fiction does not appeal to them . Sci-fi does not seem anything fancy or fantasy to them
Another thing, how come we never got translated Anime? Anime is huge in the gulf, they have been showing it since the 70's. I don't understand Arabic, but seems like they did a good job with the dubbing, it looked convincing. Yeah we got TMNT, and a few others, but why stop there, why not keep going?
As also mentioned in first post and If I remember correctly, there was a pakistani movie in 80's I guess, with the name "shaani" ...
watch it on your own expense :D
anime art or in other words rivalry japanese art is not considered notable in the western world. anime artists are not only disgraced, but also anime art's presence in respective artist's portfolio will lower their demand.
besides quality dubbing is entirely a different process, and requires a separate team. (as to some extent u also have to adjust facial expression meeting that areas specific connotative demands, using graphical renderation, etc )
since anime is oriential thing, whereas urdu n english are the widely spoken languages in Pakistan therefore it is really hard to dub japanese (which requires almost 8 years to get learnt) or any other oriental language.
besides, another aspect is "Imperialistic" approach cuz through these visual attributions are used by superpowers to form a colony in regions like Pakistan (geographically speaking Pakistan presence is really an important one to every superpower).
what u can see there is nickelodeon having a joint venture with ARY (i think), and can conjecture many things.
umm zobia, if anime can be translated into Arabic, why not Urdu?
I dont think cost of set/education/class is an issue...
the real reason is NO PAKISTANI MAN or WOMAN HAS BEEN IN SPACE.
all they do is fly about in f-16s
And zobia anime is very well respected in the UK, the bbc even did some for the 2008 olympic titles
saff shikan…:jano:
i am planning to write screen play on this specific novel.
ps. my mamo also named his son, Imran ![]()
lol…even u can do it.
(well i can do it)…but i said Quality dubbing.
but then u gonna question why dont they do it…well it is good to ask service provider (channel owners) this why question?
as once raju uncle stated that channels over there dont care what viewers wanted. to them its a business, and yes entertainment is a huge business.
ritenow, pak scene is much better in terms of media otherwise when i was there it was entirely monopolized (of course PTV).
Japan n Chinese are rivalries, and Pakistan cant lose China’s friendship. (as china is still not that advance cuz of its communism, in terms of free media)…but ya Koreans are (but i cant talk about them)
I dont think cost of set/education/class is an issue...
the real reason is NO PAKISTANI MAN or WOMAN HAS BEEN IN SPACE.
all they do is fly about in f-16s
And zobia anime is very well respected in the UK, the bbc even did some for the 2008 olympic titles
but is it considered high art in UK?
it is produced massively, and mass production also leads to devaluation.
also, look at the target audience...akhir ko un ko bhi thora satify ker day. besides, anime automatically denoted Orientalism
anime art or in other words rivalry japanese art is not considered notable in the western world. anime artists are not only disgraced, but also anime art's presence in respective artist's portfolio will lower their demand.
besides quality dubbing is entirely a different process, and requires a separate team. (as to some extent u also have to adjust facial expression meeting that areas specific connotative demands, using graphical renderation, etc )
since anime is oriential thing, whereas urdu n english are the widely spoken languages in Pakistan therefore it is really hard to dub japanese (which requires almost 8 years to get learnt) or any other oriental language.
besides, another aspect is "Imperialistic" approach cuz through these visual attributions are used by superpowers to form a colony in regions like Pakistan (geographically speaking Pakistan presence is really an important one to every superpower).
what u can see there is nickelodeon having a joint venture with ARY (i think), and can conjecture many things.
anime is not just big in far east. a japanese anime show, Grendizer (goldorak, goldtake in Europe and US) was extremely popular worldwide, dubbed in arabic it was probably the biggest thing in middle east back in the 80s.
hey they were able to do it, we can as well.
btw not anime, but ever seen urdu version of teenage mutant ninja turtles?
anime is not just big in far east. a japanese anime show, Grendizer (goldorak, goldtake in Europe and US) was extremely popular worldwide, dubbed in arabic it was probably the biggest thing in middle east back in the 80s.
Gabtin Majid too!!!
Qaza Wajid had his voice in TMNT. He also does cassette kahani stuff, so I guess he was the obvious choice.
Yeh Hain Dekho Ninja Turtles
Sub say Anokhay Ninja Turtles
Shredder in say ghabraye.
I have observed, in a very general sense, that Desis are typically very literal people. Science fiction doesnt really fit - generally speaking - into the (culture? lifestyle?) Its perhaps seen as "silly" or inane.
WHen Desis arrive here for the first time, they tend to beleive the ads that they see (we posted about this recently) and ads in USA are VERY deceptve. NOT that these are illiterate or stupid people - far from it - but they have leared all their lives to be very literal, black and white. I know of more than one Desi who received one of those reward certificates and thought they'd won a million dollars. And a person from India who spent close to $10 thousand on the amazing "DR Zitzmore" who creates beautiful glowing skin. And another who arrived in USA and walked into a uni-sex haircutting parlor for a haircut - when the pretty, perky beautician asked him if he wanted her to "blow it out" for him, he had an immediate and embarrassing physical response, turned beet red and said "Uh, no,. uhhh thats ok" lol! There is just such a literal quality in Desis - and yes I know that I'm making a generality - but it seems to follow that they wouldnt "get" sci-fi in the same sense, they would see it as silly. (?)
In Late 70's there was this Kids PTV play named 'Tick Tick Company' where couple of kids use to travel to the past using time machine ..
I am sure that if no one else, Raju Jamil Sahab would know of that
lol...i already answered ur query (post #29), as i said about "Quality dubbing"...otherwise with the help of and movie tool u can also do it. :p
ps. TDW y dont u dubb any one them....app logoon k leya khena bhut asan hai...isleya baatain bana rahay ho :p
I have observed, in a very general sense, that Desis are typically very literal people. Science fiction doesnt really fit - generally speaking - into the (culture? lifestyle?) Its perhaps seen as "silly" or inane.
but most of the desi tv shows and movies are silly, literal or not.
In Late 70's there was this Kids PTV play named 'Tick Tick Company' where couple of kids use to travel to the past using time machine ..
I am sure that if no one else, Raju Jamil Sahab would know of that
I dont think Raju uncle was a kid in late 70's
Re: X2’s signature
I remember a children’s play in early 90’s on PTV in which time machine’s fuel was khajoor kee ghuTli ![]()
and what was the name of that play “A Date Machine”
yes yes, pun was intended
^Lol.
but is it considered high art in UK? it is produced massively, and mass production also leads to devaluation.
also, look at the target audience...akhir ko un ko bhi thora satify ker day. besides, anime automatically denoted Orientalism
zobia your text book on anime is outdated. Anime has many symbolic and emotional themes aimed at intelligent people, including loyalty, altruism, and heroism.
Its not mass produces, one movie takes hundreds of people working sometimes years.