Why is it...

…that if a girl asks a guy out to the movies, she’s considered and labelled assorted names [we all know which ones], but if a guy asks a girl out, then amongst his circle of friends, they don’t perceive of him as immoral or cheap? Isn’t it a case of double standards? Either the girl is NOT immoral or cheap for asking the guy out, or the guy IS behaving immorally by asking the girl out.

Either way, the gender makes no difference. The action is what is important. Anyone understand me? It’s double standards right. If the guy knew that the girl had asked someone out before, he would think - ‘oh she’s immoral’. But when he asks someone out, then it’s not immoral. Why? Simply because he’s a guy ? Where in the Quran does it state that if you are a guy, you can ask a girl out to the movies?

Kind of hypocritical, non?

That's the society of today unfortunately Nadia.

nadz... :-) pata kia...i think a lot of the fault lies in US...not the society...

socho yaar...

i am gona admit here...if tomorrow i find out about a girl who asked a guy out to the movies...the first thought thats gona come to my mind is...HAI KITNI TEZ KURRI HAE

if we truly thought it was OK then we wouldnt care what ppl said coz in our heart we would be confident of the act...

its just an excuse when we say WHAT WILL PPL THINK...the truth is DEEP DOWN we OURSELVES believe its wrong...

just a thought...kya khayal hae?

What’s wrong with a girl asking a guy out for a movie/dinner? :konfused:

Chalo jee, idher bhi bichaaray **United States **kau qasoorwaar thehraa diya. :nono1:

Its is very hypocritical.

I think she meant 'us' as in 'ourselves'.

i meant us..as in we...not as in the country usa

I thought Irem meant us as in "ourselves"

thanks Mehnaz and 50b

I think funguy was just being corny.

There is nothing wrong with women asking a guy out. Heck..such an act should be lauded. Anyone who thinks less of a girl asking a guy out is an idiot. there I said it!!!

so ladies..ask those guys out.

Matsui I lub u for that :D

i have always been asked out by girls and i have never ever thought of them as immoral or c h e a p. it takes a lot of guts to do that. :D

"Asking (a momin boy) out for a movie by a momina is halal..."
Molvi Qurbanullah Sheerazi...

I used to be so against all this dating shating a while ago. But now I dont really think its a big deal. its all about society... for us desis its a big deal, probably cos our religion doesnt encourage inter gender interaction too much. If in a society, dating was totally acceptable, no one would be branding the girls who ask guys out with any names. But in our conservative society, girls are considered passive and arent really expected to ask a guy out or make the first move.

Its all about what you think of dating as, and which society u live in. traditionally men have always been making the first moves.. but its not that uncommon for women to make the first move either.

Khadija (r.a) asked for Mohammad's (p.b.u.h) hand I think.

Even in gora's society, traditionally, men have been asking women out. so i guess its just the way it is,,, but if a chick makes the first move,, i dont really think its looked down upon.

In our society though, dating itself is still a bit of a taboo, so girls, being the fairer sex, are expected to be at least a little more sober or shareef or in control than the guys,, and wen a chick makes the first move,, shes branded a $lut, which is bullcrap.

Irem,

Sorry, can you please elaborate on your earlier post. Sorry :( i don't understand the meaning. (i just came home from writing my final exam, haven't slept properly in ages, and mind is completely blank right now). You said you would think, "Hai kitni tez kurri hai". Would you think the same about the guy, "Hai kitna tez munda hai" - or do you think the girl is more tez for asking the guy out, and guys being guys - well we can pardon them for asking a girl out.

My question is - shouldn't the same standards apply for both guys and gals. If the girl is acting fast and loose, isn't the guy as well if he asks a girl out? Warning with the language ahead, but - it's like 'studs vs sluts'; why is the guy considered a stud for asking the girl out but if a girl did the same thing, she would be branded as extremely 'cheap'?

Brit Chick and Belle, aye i agree and it sucks. i hate it.

Hum Sa, well - this is just my perspective, i could be wrong. But if the girl asks the guy out for a movie and it's just the two of them - um that's not really Islamically appropriate. That's just my opinion, i don't want to step on anyone's toes. i've done that all week. i'm sorry, i just don't think it's Islamically appropriate. It can be completely appropriate under other circumstances but not from an Islamic point of view. (Just my one dirham's worth of opinion).

Yes I know Nadia :)

Kaka,

hmmm.

Which Molvi was that if you don't mind my asking? i mean, does he have a website?

Originally posted by KAKA-ATOM-BUM: *
**I used to be so against all this dating shating a while ago. But now I dont really think its a big deal. its all about society... for us desis its a big deal, probably cos our religion doesnt encourage inter gender interaction too much. If in a society, dating was totally acceptable, no one would be branding the girls who ask guys out with any names. But in our conservative society, girls are considered passive and arent really expected to ask a guy out or make the first move.

From an Islamic pov, if the guy and the girl are just there by themselves, no third party, at the movies, that's not correct though. At least that's how i understand it.

..but its not that uncommon for women to make the first move either.

yeah :D

Khadija (r.a) asked for Mohammad's (p.b.u.h) hand I think.

Yes, she did, she initiated the move towards marriage.

*In our society though, dating itself is still a bit of a taboo, so girls, being the fairer sex, are expected to be at least a little more sober or shareef or in control than the guys,, and wen a chick makes the first move,, shes branded a $lut, which is bullcrap.

hmmm. i really understand where you are coming from, that it's culture that makes us determine what's "right" what's "wrong" - and even in gora cultures it is usually still the guy who makes the first move.

From an Islamic pov, not a cultural-Pakistani one, it would still be wrong though for the guy and girl to be alone at the movies together, by themselves, or am i mistaken... ? But i have seen Muslim guys asking girls out, knowing it will be just one-on-one for a couple hours (at least a couple hours, if not more), and the guy's image is still 'okay' amongst his friends, i.e., no one's calling him immoral or cheap. But if a Muslim girl was to do that, hai haw asmaan gir jaata.

Re: Why is it...

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *

Kind of hypocritical, non?

yes, very hypocritical...

I've seen that most guys never refuse if a girl comes up and offers them to come to see a movie but then she's labelled as those names...I once noticed one of my guy friends going out alot with a girl from my univ and I asked him if he liked her but he was "you kidding? don't you know she's a b---" but well, I was like "and what are you? a bas----?" ...These guys, they're quick to label a girl as a slut but they never look in their own 'girebaan'....quite disgusting IMO!

Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
**Irem

Hum Sa, well - this is just my perspective, i could be wrong. But if the girl asks the guy out for a movie and it's just the two of them - um that's not really Islamically appropriate. That's just my opinion, i don't want to step on anyone's toes. i've done that all week. i'm sorry, i just don't think it's Islamically appropriate. It can be completely appropriate under other circumstances but not from an Islamic point of view. (Just my one dirham's worth of opinion).

LOL...Why are you saying sorry?? You don't have to coz you're correct, no matter how we look at it. It's not appropriate Islamically.