Re: WHY is it that if a Punjabi boy marries a Pathan Girl...
I am punjabi rajput, I use to see a pathan girl in UK, she was born in Pakistan and studied to masters level, she always stayed a step back because she reminded me always her family will never allow us to get married. it was hard for her to find a match as most of the guys back home were not educated
eventually she surrendered and got married to his cousin back in NWFP.
It varies from family to family some Pathan allow it, some dont, vice versa.
interesting topic..usualy educated and advanced pashtun families may give their girls to punjabies. ordinary pashtuns consider giving their girls in marraige to punjabies near to taboo.. on the other hand no objection is raised when male paxtun marry a punjabi female.
i dont know abt punjabi side and their thinkings in this case..
The reasons are obvious. They are too regressive, backward and known to get physical.
Actually the people in punjab and karachi encounter pashtuns as mazdoor, driver, chokidar etc..so this level of pashtuns wil definately show this kind of nature.
I guess for most part parents have more conservative views when it comes to their daughters, things that are generally acceptable for guys are not right away acceptable for girls...
My own observations: some Punjabi female friends of mine usually ditch pathans and make fun of their accents and cultures. But when at parties and there are pathan males they really try to hook up with them....I have seen it the other way around as well...
Plus, I was at a wedding where a pathan male friend of mine got married to a punjabi girl. They had fallen in love and decided to get married. The girl's mom was like: "seriously in the beginning I thought pathans were like animals and so dangerous that I was scared of them" And now her daughter married one :-) LOL they make a great couple. And no, he is not a beast, backward or anything like that....
I think that people have certain prejudices towards "the other" but there is also a sense of attraction, a curiousity which makes the opposite attract to each other.
Plus, I think that there is an increase in inter-race marriages now in Pakistan and in diaspora as well, which is a good thing 'cuz this will hopefully take the horrible prejudices people have and perhaps we won't have propagandist/silly comments on net forums etc. :-)
**Punjabion ki tu kiya bat kerty hu meri aik dost “kamboh” hain os ki ammi n emery samney aik din kaha, “Mery putar ne behan wastey rishta batiya Arain da main kiya chup ker ja:mad:(bhai bhi kamboh hi tha:D) Asi Laini aey araiyan di daini nai unhan non” yani ham on ki laite hain daity nahi
Main Arain hon or main ny dill main kaha “teri tu m…”
So masla pathan ya punjabi ka nahi phir Punjabion main bhi takhsees hoti hai," Or ararion main or ziada, Ludhiyana, Jalandher ty Ambala dy raain:rotfl: Chal so chal**
**{you know it’s just nothing good or bad thinking creat so:D Like Ahl-e-ktab orat se shadi jaaiz hai(bari muslman ker lain tum ne on ki Oratain Islam chahar dang alam main phyla diya) Orat ku kehty hain woh ahly kitab merd se shadi nahhi ker sakti whoi mentality lain ge dain ge nahi yeh nahi sochty it’s all about give and take[kuch de rahy hu tu le rahy hu]
My own observations: some Punjabi female friends of mine usually ditch pathans and make fun of their accents and cultures. But when at parties and there are pathan males they really try to hook up with them....I have seen it the other way around as well...
Plus, I was at a wedding where a pathan male friend of mine got married to a punjabi girl. They had fallen in love and decided to get married. The girl's mom was like: "seriously in the beginning I thought pathans were like animals and so dangerous that I was scared of them" And now her daughter married one :-) LOL they make a great couple. And no, he is not a beast, backward or anything like that....
I think that people have certain prejudices towards "the other" but there is also a sense of attraction, a curiousity which makes the opposite attract to each other.
Plus, I think that there is an increase in inter-race marriages now in Pakistan and in diaspora as well, which is a good thing 'cuz this will hopefully take the horrible prejudices people have and perhaps we won't have propagandist/silly comments on net forums etc. :-)
I guess this is perspective. These days if you are in the west, if you bring home a boy or a girl with one parent who is Muslim parents are pretty happy! (I mean education etc is needed) The only problems I've seen is with converts and that too Black ones marry Paki girls.
I think u hit the nail on the head there, certainly are prejudices.
i have a kashmiri friend of mine in ayub medical college, he told me that when he got admission in islamia college peshwar, all of his family members were against his going to peshwar bcoz they thought that pathans are wild and barbarian and peshwar wil b not good 4 him.
but that kashmiri friend told me that he found pathans totally different from the image made about them in kashmir..he found pashtuns more simple, decent and civilized.
its the personal choice of parents who gave their daughters to punjabis or vice versa..
but i personally dis-like inter-provincial marriages... i want pashtuns to remain fair at large.
I myself am a pathan girl. No offence but I'd never marry a punjabi man because I'm betting I'd be even tougher than him. Our men are supposed to be our protectors, our rocks. And a punjabi man for me just wouldnt fit that picture.
Besides, I'm already engaged to a wonderful hansome pathan anyway. :)
Kashmiris traditionally will only marry their daughters to Kashmiri boys BUT Kashmiri boys can marry out of the caste.
The reasoning is that the bloodline carries forward through the male so whomever he marries, the children will remain Kashmiri.
Sounds contradictory to me because if all Kashmiri men marry outside and girls can only marry another Kashmiri....there are going to be a lot of Kashmiri spinsters!
Similarly, in the Jewish culture the bloodline carries through the mother so the opposite applies to them. (Mom MUST be Jewish..doesnt matter what dad is)
Then his parents will be happy for their son to marry a Pathan girl... BUT, if a Punjabi girl wants to marry a Pathan boy, her parents don't want that to happen.
And if a Pathan boy wants to marry a Punjabi girl, his parents will allow this, but if a Pathan girl wants to marry a Punjabi boy, her parents will NOT allow this?
So the boy can marry a girl out of his ethnicity, but a girl cannot do so.
I am generalising, but i want to know why this is? Who has the answers?
well what a stupid ignorance this is which is present in our society against Islamic teachings. everyone is equal in Islam the difference is only in taqva and those who think and say not to marry their daughters and sons out of caste or race in muslims is just rubbish and hinduana style and is a double policy.
that is why we say that we all just say that we are muslims and we also say that we are following Islam, but when it comes the nikah matter then we all either pashtuns, punjabis or else mostly follow the UnIslamic indian style of marriage only in castes or races as if other muslims are cheap or of lower level.
that is such a stupidity and the ppl of this mind deserve a slap on their faces.
our Prophet Hazrat Muhammad(SAW) had also married out of family and out of tribe and caste with Hazrat Khadija(RA) but we dont see that, we just keep weeping and following every UnIslamic rule of society which must be broken at any cost.
Actually we have a complex of superiority which must be eliminated and must only see sharafat and haya in this matter. not UnIslamic racism and caste system as if others are of cheap caste or tribe.
no pounching monk! thats not a propaganda thats a bitter truth which must be accepted. im also punjabi and i see pathans polishing shoes or doing drivery of punjabis. no special seat they have in punjab. yes some of them also have but to very small extent while others are just rulling here and there.
and this is something to think about for the whole nation because they are also our brothers and sisters. no doubt they are also ignorant but if they are ignorant then we are not less ignorant too. we also have many ignorances in our culture and social system against Islam.