Hey guys, my cousin sister just received a rishta from some distant relatives. One thing I couldnt help but be sick at was the guys mothers comment : " humeh toh gori chitti larki chaayeih, aap ki ghar ki betiyoun ka rang kitna saaf hai blah blah"
I just mean to say, what is with the Desi mentality of wanting girls with “gorah rang”?? Do other factors not count at all? e.g. education? Deen? etc
because of the British Raj in Indian Subcontinent. they were looked up as masters. they left a long time ago, we became free but we still have this slave mentality/inferiority complex that anything and everything 'white' is superior. that's the reason why we want our kids to be fairer even though we [the couple] may be the darkest people on earth.
Bollywood is also encouraged to have this notion the beauty lies in fair color...kaale hero yaa kaali heroin ko bhi powder lagaa ke goraa/gori kar dete the/haiN...Rekha is one example.
I have my own theory.
Coming from an ethnic Kashmiri family me and everyone else in my family is EXTREMELY fair. In the UK everryone gets mistaken for looking Spanish, Romanian, Italian, Eastern European or Greek or French.
Everyone is SHOCKED when we say we are from Pakistan.
I am not sure if this is right but I think the presence of the Kashmiri and Pashtun ethnic groups(both of whom are extremely fair and some are even white) is such that everyone else in the subcontinent thinks they are really beautiful, so for them everyone who is fair is beautiful.
I once had a tutor. She was an Indian christian. Once she asked me 'Are you Kashmiri? You look like one'. When I said yes she said Kashmiris are the most beautiful people on Earth. That was HER opinion.
Its a preference no matter how ridiculous or shallow it seems to you. You cannot do anything about what people are attracted to no matter how unfair. You too have every right to demand gora husband as well.
Sure it might sound unfair if a guy is dark himself but still demands a gori chitti bride, but so what? Its like a woman who is only 5'2" but would'nt date any guy below 5'11". There are plenty of (short) women out there with that requirement.
Btw, I've never seen girls with dark complexion, having any problems attracting guys and making boyfriends.
Lack of awareness and I think this soch is only in lower class nowadays.
Ofcourse other factors does count as well but the foremost factor is gori ho, does not matter if she has healthy brown glowing skin.
They're a bunch of strangers that came to your home....whom your cousin invested no feelings in. It didn't work out...baat khatam...they're not worth wasting your emotional energy on. He wasn't the right fit and there may be many more such rishtas....and getting worked up over each of them isn't going to help. They have their preferences and you're entitled to yours (both superficial and those of more substance). Move on to the next one...and from the next one....until you find the right one. Again it's easier to do when you've no attachment to the person. Being rejected by someone you invested emotional energy in is more painful.
if its any comfort - i actually prefer girls with darker skin. But thats just my preference. Im saying this cuz i dont want you to think every desi dude is gora rang hungry.
No, Im sorry if I gave you the impression that I thought "every" desi guy was like this, I didnt mean this at all. It was just the ladies comments shocked me a little.
It's not so shocking. Right here in good old southern Ontario, most guys and their mommies are looking for the gora rang (as pure as fresh snow). As someone mentioned above, even if a guy prefers the darker skin tone...... if mommy doens't approve, then he doesn't even know of that rishta (especially if going through the meet-through-parents route). Even really well-educated guys (or their moms, idk) have said no to really good rishtas and explicitly said they want a gori wife/bahu.. but, hey, we've made it to 2013 at least.
Gora rang is important to everyone...desies and non-desies.
Just make sure you marry into people who don't place value on superficial things.
No! Most western non-desis like tanned complexions. But some are of course racists. They won't care if you are a gora chitta desi, just you being from Pakistan / India shall put them off.