Why is everyone on Pakistani TV so fair?

I am not really a TV watcher at all. I watch Hollywood/Bollywood movies sometimes but not TV shows.

Today, I came home and my mom was watching HUM TV and I caught a few glimpses while on laptop.

Everyone is white. Every single person. I know the population of Pakistan is not that white.

Not a single person on Pakistani TV is dark or even tan.

Why?

Re: Why is everyone on Pakistani TV so fair?

they look like that coz of makeup and lightening. eg sunita marshall pretty dark but looks fair in dramas.

Loads of makeup and lighting. They're starting to move away from it though...Amina Sheikh for example. She always looks goldeny-tan whenever she's on TV.

^This. Even Resham's character in Sanjha is tan. I'm glad people have stopped caking on the makeup.

Dude, the girls in Pakistan really are a lot fairer than the girls overseas. A lot of them do not spend too much time in the sun. And have you guys seen that when women drive in Pak, they wear those sleeves so their arms won’t tan?

I get a all kaali kaloti during the summer even when I apply sunblock and have a farmer’s tan :bummer:

I will agree with Passionate ... they do not go out and stay under sun too much, unlike us
who are always out during summer, taking summer courses, going to work .. and obviously, we commute through trains/buses alot ... so yeah it does make a difference.

I have friends back home who always tell me .. yaar tum itni tan kyun hogeye ho, pehle tu aesa color na tha :(

Are you sure Mabrook?

Sunita Marshall is the only one I could think of that is tan but I can tell she’s tan.

I’m not talking about overseas. I am actually referring to people in Pakistan. Are they all really that fair? The people on TV look so perfect at times they don’t look Pakistani even.

And I get that farmer’s tan too…I don’t mind even tanning but cannot stand tan lines.

I have asked this around here bofore and this thread makes me wanna ask it again.

How did Sadia Imam turn from pure tan to pure white? Doesn't even look like it's all make up, she actually does appear very light. (I am sure there are other examples but she is the only one I can think of)

You can compare skin tone of indian actors with pakistani ones...........

and pakistani actors are very fair or white as compared to indian one..........:)

I can identify pakistani drama just by looking at skin tone of artists..........thats truth........:)

chk this page n u’ll see most of them r normal colour.

Showbiz Masala: Pakistani Celebrities without Makeup

now i remember ppl who studied with nadia khan n zara sheikh told me that both r sanwali while they appeared so fair on tv. even saba qamar is not as fair as she appears. she’s quite ordinary. chk her arms for her real complexion.

Saba Qamar - YouTube

Woah...that was so weird Mabrook...seriously aisa bhi nahin hona chahiye hai ke makeup ke baghair insaan faltu lagay. That's bad.

in this case we should appreciate pakistani make up artists…:smiley:

Everyone of you familiar with Rekha(Indian actor)

what do you think about her complexion she was very tan in her early days then after few years she always appeared more fair than her early skin tone…:faizy:

lol, desi skin is usually the same. It's either makeup/lighting or exceptions amongst the actresses. Also, you'll notice that Pakistani models are tan and very typical Pakistani looking so I think being on TV has a lot to do with it.

I have no idea…never noticed it. But Rekha had an amazing face - fair or not.

That’s what I think too. And after seeing that blog Mabrook posted…I think we could all be models!

There are some sanwali salonis on t.v. these days, which is a nice change ....

Amina Shaikh
Syra Yousuf (she's actually Afghani)
Sanam Saeed
Isha Noor

Syra Yousuf is actually fair …

This is her without makeup picture

^That's what I was thinking too.

btw, Amina Sheikh and Sanam Saeed are very attractive ladies! :)

She looked quite sanwali in Mere Naseeb and on her FB pics.

Too me she seems wheatish n very pale. she looks better in sunlight. many ppl hav fair pix when taken in sunlight.