Why India Became a Democracy and Pakistan Did not

Re: Why India Became a Democracy and Pakistan Did not

Yeap. They follow their own religion "Marxism".

As someone who grew up during India's post Nehru years, I, perhaps, have more vivid memories of what happened there than many of today's younger Indians who are driven by a sense of patriotism fired by a lot of the false propaganda put out by the Indian government and school system. Yes, India is a democracy but it came very close to not being one on more than one occasion. The Emergency years and the mess that followed with the Janata government and the subsequent re-election of Indira Gandhi leading upto her assassination and then her son's coronation and his assassination were some of the worst years that India went through. During the Emergency, I remember Russi Karanjia, Editor of Blitz newspaper (himself a Parsi but he latter became a virulent Hindutvaite) write editorial after editorial decrying India's population control system (called Family Planning) calling it a “waste of Hindu semen.” And Indira's younger Sanjay, who was one of his close friends, took matters into his own hands sterilizing thousands of Muslims in his attempt at reducing the Muslim population of India. Also, at Turkoman Gate in Delhi, the homes of hundreds of poor Muslims were demolished by Sanjay himself driving a bulldozer to make a point. He was cheered on by other friends of his in the Indian media like the writer Khushwant Singh who was then the Editor of the Illustrated Weekly of India and who writes for Outlook, a Congress magazine these days.

I could understand how Pakistan wanted to break away when Nehru's lot dominated the Congress, considering how his descendants turned viciously anti Muslim. These days, Rahul Gandhi, the latest “prince” makes statements claiming that his family took “revenge” against Pakistan by causing Bangladesh to break away side by side with the mullahs at Deoband during the UP elections. Considering that it is Deobandi mullahs who are responsible for much of the trouble inside Pakistan, I wonder why no one seems to have thought about looking at these madmens' antecedents. After all, it was first in India that the Deobandis started asking poor Muslims not to vaccinate their children and ended up causing more Muslims to suffer from polio than any other community in the country. After that, the disease was promoted by them in Pakistan. And this may not be the only place where they are out to make mischief. Incientally, the Deoband Dar ul Uloom is and has always been funded by the Government of India.

In any case, countries have to rely on their armies when they have to fight dangerous killers. India has had to position its army and paramilitaries in trouble spots and Pakistan will have to use its army to do the same. Even if you hold elections, the elected government would have to send the army in to the trouble spots as no government – civilian or military – can tolerate killers holding vast portions of the country hostage. There are lots of good people in Pakistan and I hope that you will win. Extremism needs to be defeated so that good people everywhere could live in peace. As far as India and Pakistan are concerned, let us save our aggression for the cricket fields. It is not civilized to take pleasure out of someone else's pain. There was and continues to be a lot of sadness in both countries and I hope that it would change in the future.

Peace and happiness to all good people.

^ This is so atrociously wrong and venomous that normally it wouldn't deserve a response. But you claim to be a person who lived through the Nehru years so I will give you the respect of your age.

What false propaganda does the Indian school system put out?
Do you really think false propaganda is necessary for youngsters to be patriotic?
You claim the Nehru family targetted muslims - do you even know who Sanjay and Rajiv Gundy even where? Yes Sanjay went gungho with family planing but that was equally targetting all he can find - not just mulims.

There is a new good spirit sweeping through our country. Why can't people like you put away the cynicism of the past and join the youth? Why can't you use your intellect to teach something useful or provide first hand accounts of how your generation liberated our country from the british? Instead of trying to create wedge issues.

You don't leave anyone! Nehru, Indira, Rajiv, Russi, Kushwant Singh, Deobandhis ....anybody who has accomplished anything in the public eye!

Come on!

Jai Bharath!

Far be it from me to respond to someone who can neither spell "Crazy" nor "Gandhi," leave alone spelling "mulims" (sic) with the lower case "m" and "Deobandhis" (sic also). But then, I do need some humor in my life - when a clown presents himself on a thread, I cannot resist the urge to laugh.

At the very least, we learned to spell better than today's youth, if you are an example of today's Indians. Personally, I am convinced that you're full of it.

Considering that I lived through the times that I am talking about, I am certain that I know what happened then better. Jai Prakash Narain would, at all of his meetings, actually call on forcibly sterilized Muslim youth to stand up and show those gathered what was being done in India at the time. The pictures taken before censorship was clamped and accounts of what happened at the time are more than available in historical writing from that period. Yes, I was conscripted into watching Krishnaswamy Associates' propaganda piece, "From Indus Valley to Indira Gandhi" like every other school and university student at the time. And we had to memorize the "Twenty Point Programme" which screamed down at us from every hoarding that the eye could see in the cities and small towns across India.

It has been said of the Fascists that the leaders were manipulative crooks while the followers were mentally challenged to use a polite term. I can see that that is as true of India as it was of Italy in the past. Let me be clear here - I was born an Indian and I have lived in India most of my life. AT the same time if I was to deny what happened - good and bad - I would be either a liar or an idiot, or, more likely, both. I will not. If you choose to, then you know what you are.

The reason India is so far ahead is because they did not have leaders when they had a chance to change history saying, 'Udhar Tum Idhar Hum'.

India embraces diversity leading to a 'true' democratic political system . Pakistan does not.

I would disagree here brother, no doubt that army has been the most efficient institution in Pakistan and byand large consisted of soldiers that have been read to lay their lives for the country. However beleiving that army was feared by the world is bit naive. We have never even been able to sustain a war beyond 14 days!

To subcontinent sir and stircrasy:

i think u r wasting ur time responding to much older fellow.the generations of our fathers and grand fathers were the laziest lot.Thats why india never progressed during their time.They were happy to have one govt. job which provides job security.we know how notorious lazy these govt servants are in india.these people need perks without doing anything.the real india which is progressing today is under our generation who were born in 1970s.Subcontinent sir is proud of livin in nehru era but let me tell u it was their generation which was very loyal to congress and nehru family.it was their generation which made the congress as the family property of nehru-gandhi(false) family.let me tell u one thing that it was under janta party govt (morarji desai as pm) and the under bjp govt(vajpayee) that india ever had better relations with pak untill kargil happened.it was their generation which had bilindly supported congress and gave us the congress of today which has all sycopants like arjun singhs,nd tiwari sheela dixit et.al.Subcontinent sir is just shifting the failure of his generation on us just by saying that our education is screwed and our present generation is blindly patriotic.No sir,we have come to realise our potential now on our own.so ur failure as indian cant be blamed on us coz we r still suffering from ur mistakes and trying to undo them which according to u is blind patriotism.If india progresses with our blind patriotism then we r proud of it.at least it better than the mess of india ur generation had made.

sir it easy to rant about your generation's faliure,which our generation is reaping now.It was ur generation's faliure that we 've to do with present leaders.By mistake BJP made Dr.Kalam as president coz they didn't had any option but he was blessing in disguise.Today's youth wanted to him to give the 2nd term.But it were the leaders of ur generation who just denied such a fine man to lead india.its not the mistake of us younger generation.it is the mistake of ur generation who kept on choosing the same corrupt leaders.and its going to take a lot many time for us and the coming generations to undo the mistakes of you people who just go out and leave their country in middle and than sit on net to rant in forums.why didnt u people challenge the govt of your time not to give your children wrong education(which you claim now that the present generation is bought up on wrong facts and education).You cant blame us for the mistakes that you have committed by saying we are blindly patriotic.

Its better instead of ranting you try to correct your mistakes with us instead of blaming us.

Ajtr the guy has a point. He simply talks about the issues at heart, so don't dismiss him as "old" and "frail".

Indians are nationalistic, and patriotic lot. Sure there is economic revival going on. However if you look at the Indian government's economic policies a bit closely, they may be a tad bit worse compared to Pakistani government's economic policies.

The miracle of Bangalore has three main factors but many people tend to ignore these:

1. Large international industrialist families (Tata, Mittal, Birla, etc.) that are now 200 years old dynasties.

2. Lack of anti-Western feeling in the country and Indian submissiveness to foreigners.

3. A positive role of Indian-Americans (and other NRIs) in terms of outsourcing

If you look closely, Chinese have very similar factors supporting the "Miracle of Guanjo".

If you see South Koreans, and Taiwanese miracles, you would find the same 3 factors driving their industrial growth (that is many times larger than India's).

If you take these factors and try to analyze Pakistani economics, you would find the following:

Unfortunately Pakistani industrialist families were utterly destroyed by commie Bhutto. Thus we lack the massive capital needed to run modern industrial empires.

Pakistani educated man on the street of Karachi (and other major cities is rabidly anti-West). Blame it on Islam or Leftie-liberal disease, but this is the reality.

NRP (Non-resident Pakistanis) harbor the same anti-West feelings. And the ones with positive attitude are in much smaller numbers compared to NRIs and NRC (Non-resident Chinese).

In summary!

System of government is a factor, but you just compare the Asian tigers from China, to Japan, to Taiwan, to South Korea, to Thailand, to Vietnam, and you would find that they all have varying levels of democracy or dictatorships or a combination of the two. And yet they have done much better economically than "pure" democracy of India if you normalize things on factors like population, resources etc.

Off course Indian nationalism will not let you look beyond India shining. That would support my point (and the points raised by subcontinental) that Indians tend to be jingoistic nationalists.

I tend to agree with Subcontinental that ultimately the most stable form of government is some sort of democracy. However a democracy without prosperity will either fail, or end up using some kind of fascism (religious, or ethnic).

My hats off to India for their well being. Best wishes for their future.

But remember one thing,

Just because we have similar skin color, or we share Bollywood music, or some other superficial stuff is common, does not mean that we can simply transplant the Indian dhoom-cracy in Pakistan. As we still are different people at least politically.

Far be it from me to respond to someone who can neither spell "Crazy" nor "Gandhi," leave alone spelling "mulims" (sic) with the lower case "m" and "Deobandhis" (sic also). But then, I do need some humor in my life - when a clown presents himself on a thread, I cannot resist the urge to laugh.
At the very least, we learned to spell better than today's youth, if you are an example of today's Indians. Personally, I am convinced that you're full of it.

The only problem is that I feel you have just learned to spell and nothing more. It is very imperative that certain things are let go. There is no point in harping on something on which absolutely nothing can be done.

The topic here is about why India is still a democracy while Pakistan is not.

I could understand how Pakistan wanted to break away when Nehru's lot dominated the Congress, considering how his descendants turned viciously anti Muslim.

This shows your understanding or the lack of understanding on what Nehru's descendants have done for the betterment of muslims in India.

**similar skin color - **Moin ee nahi manega :smiley:

For example Rajasthan economy is 17% Tourism based, and the same goes for Himachal, J&K, Kerala, UP & Bihar has piligrimise Tourism for mostly Hindus
, Similarly Pakistan has some beautiful places like Swat and other places in Northern Areas and Punjab & Sindi has many Historical important places, and how many they are attracting, the foreign tourists visiting Pak is smaller then the number visiting Cox’s Bazar & Chittogang Hill Areas in Bangladesh

OOPS this thread turn to disscuss Diff in Economy then Democracy:smack:

If Indians r nationalistic and patriotic then what is wrong with it.Tell me which country’s citizen are not patriotic. Even cold war and the race to moon was fuelled by patriotic and nationalistic fervor. I don’t know about Pakistan’s economic policies so I’ll refrain from commenting on it.If you feel they are good then its good for u guys and if u feel they are bad then sorry coz in both circumstances its doesn’t impact India.

Miracle of Bangalore did not happened with tata,birla and mittals.Tatas entered into IT field much later may be around 1995-96.But long before that Bangalore had gained momentum with infosys,satyam,patani.The CEO’s of Infosys,Satyam,Patatni were friends from ENGGineering college(somebody correct me if im wrong).this was the success story of 6-7 middle class guys since 1981who floated infosys.Then Wipro in IT after that Tata consultancy services came into picture.Before Tcs came into picture Bangalore was a success story.

Yes there is no anti west feeling in India that doesn’t mean that Indians are submissive.

True.Roles of NRI’s cant be denied here.But same is the story of NPR and Chinese living in USA and investing in china.

Even India experimented with socialism for 40 yrs.Bhutto and Indira Gandhi had lot in common.She nationalized everything in India from banks, coal etc etc.And without competition and along with the politics of strikes,license raj quota raj made all Public sector units as loss making.Even china which had same thing under communism but they did opened upto west and experimented with capitalism in 1980s so they survived and USSR didn’t opened up so it collapsed. If you se this way china is not following true communist model.its a mix of both.same is the case in India today when MMS opened Indian markets under PV narasihma rao under economic crunch in early 1990s. As Chinese success model cant be successful in India same is the case with Pakistan.its upto Pakistani people to decide wat they want.But the question is like majority of Pakistan is still confused about what form of governance they want.In this sense they look for short term goals.like people were not satisfied 10 yrs of democracy and they applauded Musharaff’s coup in 1999 now same people against him.So every 10 yrs Pakistan expreriment with democracy and then theocracy.Any form of governance is not pure in this world.Even west doesn’t have pure democracy.can take any example of banning headscaves in schools in france, patriotic law in USA(UK?confused). when national interest matters there tend to be some breach in rights and freedom.If patriotic law is valid in USA(UK) then TADA and POTA is valid in India.If banning headsarves and turbuns for Sikhs in france is valid then demanding uniform civil code in India valid too.

No Mr. Subcontinent is not correct in blaming present Indian generation when all the failures of present day India has roots back in his time which he and his ilk never cared to solve.and our generation is carrying the baggage og his generation’s failure.And then he comes up after 30 yrs blaming my generation.

India is not asking u to follow Indian style governance ie democracy or dhoom-cracy or demo-crazy(whatever u wish to call it,cause democracy gives u freedom of speech).Its your western friends who r daily giving u the lecture about democracy not us and not even china.And yes we r too different from each other we r much more diverse in linquistically and the way of living etc and even in politics.
BTW topic was why demo cracy is successful in india not in pakistan.

Originally Posted by antiobl

Ajtr the guy has a point. He simply talks about the issues at heart, so don't dismiss him as "old" and "frail".

Indians are nationalistic, and patriotic lot. Sure there is economic revival going on. However if you look at the Indian government's economic policies a bit closely, they may be a tad bit worse compared to Pakistani government's economic policies.

The miracle of Bangalore has three main factors but many people tend to ignore these:

1. Large international industrialist families (Tata, Mittal, Birla, etc.) that are now 200 years old dynasties.

I hate to burst your bubble but you have the wrong information. The miracle of Bangalore is due to entreprenuers. You should have heard about Infosys, HCL , Wipro. The list is endless. To claim that the magic of Bangalore is due to industrialist families shows your total ignorance..

1. Lack of anti-Western feeling in the country and Indian submissiveness to foreigners.

What do you mean by Indian submissiveness to foreigners. Do a phone call from Powell ring a bell to you..

1. A positive role of Indian-Americans (and other NRIs) in terms of outsourcing

Very true !!!

Oh Bhai, all of the three factors are important.

There is no denying that entrepreneurship is the key for Bangalore, Beijing, Shanghai, Guangjo, Seoul, etc etc.

Once the things starts, mega corporations are essential for "continued" success.

Mircosoft would be dead by now if only "Bill the entrepreneur" was running the show.

Big businesses have the essential infrastructure to manage 10000s of employees, and related logistics.

So take #1 is a quality and not something bad for India.

**Ordinary Indian people are more polite, humble, and submissive in their dealing **with foreigners. That's the attitude that helps in tourism and even in expanding the industrial base.

Again that's the quality that you should be proud of.

===================

Colin Powell called both Indians and Pakistanis after 9/11. Indians were the first to offer military bases. You can call it "being friendly" or "being subservient" to Colin Powell. But Indians did take a lead on that moment.

^^ People here beat the Banglore success story but they forget the other towns and cities in india which had the same success like bangalore.such as:kochi,coiambatoor,gurgaon.noida,pune,chennai,trivendram,kolkata.

,hyderabad,vizag.

now it depends on their geographical knowledge of india or its just denial.

other towns which r coming up r trichy, salem, nellore,indore,bhopal gwalior,gaziabad,meerut.so look out for these success stories in next 5 yrs

India also has power among states more diluted, not the same with Pakistan, and thae perception of that (real or imagined) has always been a source of ethnic/provincial politics in the country, so its not ideologies that the politics are around as much is its around ethnicity.

Absolutely!

Banglore is just a symbol of, and a metaphor for Indian achievements.

Best wishes to Indians for their continued successes.

You mean MQM started with ethnic cleansing. I agree.

First create some toilets in slums of New Delhi before making IT boom in your country propagate all around the world.

^^ contact sulabh for that.they r the people concerned for providing toilets in delhi and other cities.and if u want they can teach u their business too.u can replicate their success in providing cheap toilets in ur area.