Why for a muslim in the present age... ?

It is easy to pick up a dollar falling from pocket (knowing it’s value in This world) , but difficult to pick sunnahs falling from him ( which he also knows has “infinite value” in both the worlds ) ?

Money : Paisey ki Qadar karna seekho

Sunnah: Sunnat hi to hai, farz to nahi ?!

Re: Why for a muslim in the present age... ?

You are ascribing sunni-only values to all muslims... please spare me that.

Last line is very much reflective of the mindset of some of us...

Time to re-evaluate ourselves...

Thanks for such a thought provoking thread :)

pretty strange analogy.
who sits and thinks of these?

because then people give away dollars also..

why is it that we have such a focus on sunnat when ppl cant follow faraiz, and cant even satisfy haqooq al ibaad...

to use your money example that becomes penny wise pound foolish.

Fraudia bhai... I think we are missing the point... STP did not say that leave the Faraaidh and run after Sunnahs...

, ,

if a coin drops from my pocket i pick it up and throw it in front of a car. keeps the others in check

AQ, 'we' are not missing the point, I got his point. I meant other people that I see who are missing the point. you know the ba-raish, ooncha pajama and pagri/topi bhai hazraat burning public property and businesses.

what use is for them to observe sunnah when they cant repect their fellow man. same goes for ppl like sipah e sahaba, sipah e muhammad, or any of these people.

the 'sharia' following folks killing innocent ppl like in the suicide attacks we have seen or harassing people like jamaat folks did on new years eve, whether u were going to some new years party, or u were just stuck in the same traffic trying to go to your daadis house. you car was going to get dented at the hands of these ooncha pajama, muthi bhar darrhi types..u know what I am saying.

when sunnah becomes show-sha for ppl and the basic essence of the religion escapes them we have a problem.

and I see too much focus on sunnah, less on faraiz and even less on haqooq al ibaad.

but this post was intended to look into ourselves and reflect upon than pointing fingers at the wrong of others, or so I looked at it this way..

I am not disagreeing with you. :)

I understand your point brother, but you see in life usually our duties run in parallel. We can afford to wait for achieving one first and then switching to other. Zindagi ka kia bharosa. Also if it were like that then Allah would have ordered us to first complete all the fariz and then focus on Sunnahs.

Sometimes with the "barakh" of one we are blessed with the "Taufeeq" of other as well, and it becomes a chain reaction towards good.

@ Anwaar Bhai. JazakAllah khair for clarifying the point in a better way.

STP, believe me i am not disagreeing with you and appreciate your points.

but as they say without niyaat/imaan nothing is worth much.
can u be a mushrik and follow some sunnahs and faraiz yet be right? no right?

I am not talkign about ppl not following faraiz, e.g. missing a roza or namaz, or not going for hajj even if one can go..I am talking abotu people going against the religion per the examples i gave.

obviously to people like that following some sunnah has become more important than following some basic haqooq al ibaad. actually they are even trampling over other sunnah, because its not just how the prophet dressed or groomed himself or how he prayed but how he interacted with people. that is sunnah too

one can say that those ppl are not even following some of the sunnahs of how the prophet lived his life, and how he interacted with people who disagreed with him or who he disagreed with.

I know..and I appreciate that. I am just stating at the same time that lets not just focus on the visible sunnahs and forget all teh rest as many have done in the old country.

I agree Fraudz that in alot of cases we do not practically implement some sunnahs related to human rights and rely on few related to ourselves.

One common example can be our reaction to anyone who misbehaves/ criticizes, shows rudeness to us. How many of us follow the Sunnah of smiling back with politeness ?!?

I am certainly among those who need to do A LOT of improvements in his daily life to practically implement the "Manners" and "Moral Values" of the Prophet (Saw) when it comes to dealing with people.

Thank you for seing my point STP
I surely see and agree with yours.

oh and dont worry about my cynicism and skepticism, as much of a moron I appear to be in such threads, the advise does sink in.

so dont stop posting. it does make me think, and if it can make a gunah gaar like me think, it has impact on others also. dont be discouraged by my moronic responses.

Fraudia bhai, itnaY zabardast alfaaz apni shaan maiN:D?

J/K

its true my responses in such threads are often moronic and on purpose to make ppl think, really know what they are saying and for ppl to think about things as well.

last thing i want ti for someone who wants to spread knowledge to stop doing it because of me thinkign that I am just a heckler for teh sake of being a heckler.

Fraudia brother, I always felt encouraged from your posts. Though it might not seem apparantly but sincerity does pours from the depth of your words from which I have learned alot. And plz don't say anything bad about yourself. There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that you are alot better human being than me in real life. I wish I can become as good as you, one day (Insha'Allah) Please pray for your brother.

May Allah (swt) bless you and your family with all the blessings of this life and hereafter.

The following hadith makes me feel that a lot of us (Muslims) are easily doing a great loss to ourselves by leaving a lot of sunnahs in our daily life, like sleeping, drinking, wearing, eating, appearance......etc by the way of the Prophet (saw).

A popular hadith which nearly means this way:

Making a single sunnah alive in the age, when following Islam would be like carrying charcoal in your hand, fetches us a sawab of 100 SHAHEED.

**p.s. I have read and heard from a lot of scholars, presently couldn't find the exact source.