Why don't most all Muslim Men use their god given right of Polygamy?

Re: Why don't most all Muslim Men use their god given right of Polygamy?

if its part of their culture, many do that. Quite common in Muslim parts of Middle East and Africa.

even in those countries, non desperate women don't accept a polygamous man unless he is providing alot of financial security. in some arab countries, teh husband has to have a certain income and wealth to qualify to have a second wife. polygamy is more common in the poorer arab countries where most women are illiterate and poor and cannot provide for themselves.

The fact that it is not a norm in the desi culture makes desi men less used to the concept. They may have the inward desire, but those who do are afraid of the social stigma (mainly) and wary of additional financial responsibilities.

It's mainly the culture which overrules the religious privilege that they have.

many often guys are stupid enough to do such things out of competing with other males. Oh I have bigger car than yours and more wives than you have. A pure male chauvinism for most of the part (at least in Middle East and Africa). If they dont have such competitive enviornment around them (like in India/Pakistan) there is no need for guys and take upon such a huge responsibility.

For the people who're all in favour of polygamy, as others have mentioned before me Islam has put certain conditions on the practice. When Islam says you have to be just, its practically impossible. Its not just $$$ we're talking about, its love, affection, counsel, support, trust, etc... While giving this option, it has a built-in opposing ideology so think before you run your mouth like that.

why not?

those who have one wife..and devote each n everything for the one wife.......even then the wife always is unhappy/unthankful (as seen in almost all the threads here).......if she is going to remain this way.....wats the matter if guy marries another one?.

Not many men out there can afford two sets of bills for everything, two homes (or at least separate spaces) etc. A lot of those who practise polygyny in the UK do have them in council houses tho living off gov benefits cos they just want another woman to have sex with but can't afford or manage the extra responsibilities.

Most guys would also struggle to divide the time equally (esp if one or two of them has kids or they live a long distance apart) and also there's the obvious negative reaction they'll prob get from wife no.1 (with maybe the threat of divorce) and the extended family, not to mention his kids from her - a lot of them end up despising their dads when they take a new wife (we know of family of 4 children where none of them will speak to their father anymore cos of what he has done). Then of course hard as might be to believe there are some men out there who genuinely do love their wives and can't imagine sharing a bed with anyone else..

For those who want to but can't it's usually just that it's too much hassle..

F it! It is not any person's "right". Read the BOOOK!!

And thanks for generalizing that all women have drama.

In today's world, you don't even have to marry someone to support them financially.

I am disappointed in you.

LOL! that makes no sense. you're saying wives are unhappy/ungrateful so whats the guarantee wife #2 wont be like that? you just generalized most women so i dont see how adding another woman will help. if your generalization is accurate, the man will have to suffer twice the amount of ungratefulness and bickering...

Wife#2 will be like that......i didn't say she will be any different...and bikkering n stuff......since he is going to divide his time equally (theoretically)....he will have 3.5 days of bickering with one wife...and 3.5 days with another......as opposed to 7 days bickering with one wife only.....so its not twice the bickering.

generalization?....hmm...i see all these threads here......wives complaining all the time...didn't see as many threads from guys here......(saying that because personal experiences are different, so i pointed out the common sample that we all can agree..i.e the forum)

oh yea...forgot.....only thing guy gets out of the 2nd one is the ability to sleep with 2...absolutely no other incentive for him..:p

yeah and do u see WHY they complain? alot of their husbands are total jerks who force their wives to live in joint families and all other desi bullsh** . as far as sleeping with another woman is concerned, that is just disgusting and shows that ANY man who has more than 1 wife is incapable of love and emotion. he is just a horny pig.. gross.

WTH is up with thinking, mentality and the threads these days! Jeez.

Agree. Its not just about equally splitting the financial and emotional aspects of marriage. If your happy with your spouse, why would you go and get married again? If you can't imagine your wife with another husband, what makes you think that its any easier for her to accept you with another women? Also, children don't easily accept either parent getting married again easily, and when it comes to splitting the property between the kids, it gets ugly.

I knew a man who is our distant relative and had four kids with his first wife and then got married again and had two kids. They all lived in one house and the original wife was hurt but accepted since she had no where else ago. Sadly both wives have passed away but the kids make each other and their dads life hell. I know that he regrets it now and the kids have no sympathy towards him.

POLYGAMY?

yahan, life1 is forcing men to consider celibacy.

Re: Why don’t most all Muslim Men use their god given right of Polygamy?

Yes, but most desi men arent :hehe: doesnt work that way plus you really think they’d marry a below average looking uncle with multiple wives and kids out of all the men after 'em? Have you ever hung out with 'em?

It's more of a middle eastern thing than a desi thing. Yes we are Muslims but we are also Pakistanis/Indians and our people don't do multiple wives. Islam originated in the middle east where this type of thing occurs and therefore it is in the Quran.

And people need to use their heads a little bit. The type of guys who could do this financially are very few, like multi millionaires comes to mind. And keeping 4 women happy emotionally, are you crazy?!

You know they all start cycling together when they're in the same house right? :)

Thank god you're not a Man. And are you straight? The question sort of makes you seem like you're not. God gave us all feet. Doesn't mean we have to use them all the time. No idea what that means but it's the first thing that came to my mind.

Islam gives the right of polygyny NOT polygamy.

Polygyny= only one partner has more that one wife/husband.

Polygamy= both partners have multiple husbands or wives.

Anyways, the difference aside, I asked my fiance whether he was going to be a polygynist.

He said "tum ek nahi sambhli jatee.. aur kaise sambhaloon ga"