I was just wondering why Brides never wear makeup on their mehendi night. And if they do than how much do they wear and mainly what the whole significance is behind this fact. I would greatly appreciate all your responses.
Thankyou…
Re: Why don't Brides wear makeup on their mehendi?
lolz.. it is intresting to see how they look during mehendi and at the wedding? you notice a huge difference..
I've always wondered that too, it honestly looks horrible not so much in person but in pictures/video. Really natural, light pinkish makeup would be better than nothing at all.
To look their best on the wedding day.
Although I think now days all the girls have some
make up on, even on mehndi.
most girls put on some basic foundation. I think from "mayoon" to wedding day the girl is supposed to put stuff on her skin to make it all glowy and pretty and then put on the cakey make up on the wedding day to stand out :-D
Because they want to look more pretier on their wedding day
they want a change in looks on their wedding day:D
got it dear?
i wore make up, but kept it fairly natural.
Yeah i am getting married InshAllah this summer.. i am having 2 mehndis one here in Canada and one in pakistan.... My mehndi here is the only big function here soo i am gonna wear makeup.. like a **** load of it.. HEHHEHEHEH..
but for my mehdi there i am nto gonna wear n e makeup at all... its just soo i look different on my baraat.. u know.. NOOR jaar tha hia:P
I see all the girls wearing makeup if not then definately foundation is there.... I don't see a girl in menhdi without makeup these days..
One of my friends-She had full makeup on plus had gajre all over her lol gajre ear rings, necklace - stuff on the head and bangels as well.. it was nice ---interesting...-- memories
Firstly, Congratulations! I wanted to know, it's a first time I am hearing of 2 mehendis. I actually am getting married back home as well but I think we are just going to have everything there [like mehndi, shaadi, valima,etc.] but when we come back here, I am gonna have a reception to all those who missed my celebration.
Are you planning to do a reception here as well or just the mehendi?
oh and answering to the question, don't people put that yellow paste [forgot it's urdu word] on the bride-to-be. Is that why she doesn't wear too much makeup?
AsmaPrincess Hey.. thanx.. and congrats to u as well.. yeah i am gonna do a mehdi here cuz all my firend wanna do dances and that stuff.. and the funny part is that my freinds are throughin me a MAYU as well and sereval dokli parties... soo when i got to pakistan.. its all gonna repeat.. and InshAllah wheni com back to Canada i am also gonna through a reception here..
its not that i want to.. ITS JUST THAT everyone is complainin to my rents
well for waering makeup on the mehdni here .. i dont want to.. But everyone sayin that i should go all out
ok.. I dont know if i should or shouldnt
Re: Why don’t Brides wear makeup on their mehendi?
For my mehndi, I’d do my own makeup, concealor, foundation/powder, blush, mascara, eyeliner and lipgloss.. ![]()
On the mehndi day, a little bit of makeup is good (for pics and the video) (just foundation, mascara and NUDE LIP GLOSS!), and from any store you can buy "hi-glow blush" which is a liquid form, that tints your cheek bones, giving a very natural look...I think that would be ideal. However, in regards to makeup on the wedding, I totally disagree with the way it's been done in the past (esp in Pakistan). They layer it soooo much, that the bride does look gorgeous indeed, but she looks totally different! I mean it's the most important day in your life, and you don't even look like yourself!
Makeup is essential I agree,but within limits, so your eyes don't look 10x larger and your nose doesn't look half it's size etc.,
I mean do you really want to spend half of your wedding night trying to take the layers of makeup off? ;) (not even the best make up remover can help you) Plus I think a majority of guys don't like a lot of makeup anyway...(atleast I hope :S)
miss - oh wow, that is soo excitin..havin two mayos and two receptions..well reception is a must..but two mayos..thats really nice...juz for all the girls to chill even if they can't make it to the wedding..after all, after parents, bride's friends are the most excited for her...well to answer your ques, i personally wldnt go without ANY makeup..i would do atleast some...like as others suggested: a lil foundation, mascara and nude lipgloss [not toooo glossy]..plus i dont want to go wearin full makeup..the types of mayos that i have seen at my familys weddings..with that kind of stuff smeared on ur face, the last that ppl want is foundation on their hands..lol
Re: Why don’t Brides wear makeup on their mehendi?
hehehe..i agree saaya! ![]()
Asma-... hey.. but the thing wid me is even when i dress up i dotn wear foundation n e ways.. i dont like it much.. u usually wear surmah and thats about all.. and my some lip close.. nuthing else relaly.. soo i mite do taht for my mehdi here... but i bet i wont wear n e makeup in pakistan..
i think and alot of pther ppl think that i look alot better without make up.. especailly my fiancee.. aur mai kis kai liyai thiyaar ho rahi houn.. uski hai liyai na.. hehehhe
soo i am pretty sure i am not gonna wear makeup
heheh.xtly! har cheez apne fiance ke liye to karte hain...if u feel better without makeup..then dont' wear it..after all, u gotta look confident n urself durin the most special event in ur life!!
ok next ques...cuz i am hopin i am doin this rite..since my weddin is bak home, i haven't really done nethin..as in shopping, booking, invitations..basically NO PLAN...i am waitin for myself to get there..which is probably gonna be like a month b4 my weddin...and then get started..is that enuf time?????? r u able to do things while being here?
Asma...you have to start on some things already. Like the booking of the venue cos it gets a bit too difficult to get the place of your choice depending on the time of the year you are getting married in. I had the venue booked 3-4 months in advance. The invitations are no problem as they wud be ready in two days. All u have to do is to check out the samples and pick the one of your choice and they wud do the rest. About the rest...you can get every thing there in matter of days. I had the misconception that formal dresses can only be ordered for embroidery and stitching but u wud see a lot of boutiques dealing with formal line and blv me...they are much more stylish and upto date with the latest fashion and cost you the same even if u had ordered them. Ready made dresses saves a lot of time and tension that you might face going to tailors all the time....and they never give u back the dresses on promised dates.You can get the customized jewellry also done in abt 10-15 days time and some times even faster than that. So don't worry...every thing wud be just fine...Wish you all the best though ....enjoy your time while u are there in Pakistan