Why doesn't god reveal him/her/itself...

and the end the whole “true religion” argument?

Re: Why doesn't god reveal him/her/itself...

Can I ask you a question as an answer to this question?

Unless we somehow convince God to register on this website and post here, how can someone answer this question.

tlk I tell you some thing.. since op would have ego involved in it.

see... first we go to think.. why do we have so many symbol in math??
plz tell tlk

If God showed Himself to us where is the TEST? Believing and fearing and Obeying Allah without seeing him is TAQWA. that is how Allah will judge us.... who had more Taqwa and who wanted to SEE Him before believing.

if God ever shows up, there would still be people who would call it an illusion, There is a reason hell was created. It was never meant to an empty place. This whole world cannot be believer at the same time.

tlk what if God does not look like a man?? what if he already around?? what tools do we have to measure him?? feel him ??

Well young man, let ME ask YOU a question.

When you're taking tests at school, why don't your teachers hand out the answers to you? If they would do that, every student would do well, and heck If they keep carrying on like that, all students would make it to Top Universities such as Yale, Princeton and Harvard one day. Wouldn't that be awesome?

You getting my point?

Now we know that our life on this Earth is a test. If God would reveal himself to us, where would the test be?

Fundamental principle- Human mind is incapable of comprehending God, for anything that can be understood must have limits and God CAN NOT be limited.

In saying that, God has manifested his Will through his chosen representatives some of whom also brought scriptures and also through the system that governs us, i.e. Nature. There is a prefect system of guidance and the test is to read the Signs, identity the Will of Allah (swt) and begin the life long struggle to seek nearness to Him.

Re: Why doesn’t god reveal him/her/itself…

Recorded in the following books:

(1) Al-Harrani, Tuhaf, 57;

(2) al-Kulayni, Usul al-Kafi, I, 140;

(3) al-Qadi al-Quda`i, Dustur, 153;

(4) al-Razi, Tafsir, II, 164;

(5) Ibn Talhah, Matalib;

(6) al-Zamakhshari, Rabi`, I, bab al-sama’ wa al-kawakib;

(7) al-Wasiti, `Uyun, see al-Majlisi, Bihar, vol.77, 300, 423;

(8) al-Rawandi, Sharh, see Kashif al-Ghita’, Madarik, 69;

(9) al-Tabarsi, al-'Ihtijaj, I, 150

In this beautiful sermon, Imam Ali (as) says-

Praise is due to Allah whose worth cannot be described by speakers, whose bounties cannot be counted by calculators and whose claim (to obedience) cannot be satisfied by those who attempt to do so, whom the height of intellectual courage cannot appreciate, and the divings of understanding cannot reach; He for whose description no limit has been laid down, no eulogy exists, no time is ordained and no duration is fixed. He brought forth creation through His Omnipotence, dispersed winds through His Compassion, and made firm the shaking earth with rocks.
The foremost in religion is the acknowledgement of Him, the perfection of acknowledging Him is to testify Him, the perfection of testifying Him is to believe in His Oneness, the perfection of believing in His Oneness is to regard Him Pure, and the perfection of His purity is to deny Him attributes, because every attribute is a proof that it is different from that to which it is attributed and everything to which something is attributed is different from the attribute. Thus whoever attaches attributes to Allah recognises His like, and who recognises His like regards Him two; and who regards Him two recognises parts for Him; and who recognises parts for Him mistook Him; and who mistook Him pointed at Him; and who pointed at Him admitted limitations for Him; and who admitted limitations for Him numbered Him.

Whoever said in what is He, held that He is contained; and whoever said on what is He held He is not on something else. He is a Being but not through phenomenon of coming into being. He exists but not from non-existence. He is with everything but not in physical nearness. He is different from everything but not in physical separation. He acts but without connotation of movements and instruments. He sees even when there is none to be looked at from among His creation. He is only One, such that there is none with whom He may keep company or whom He may miss in his absence…(for full sermon: Nahj al-Balaghah)

So do you we are kind of a game for God? that he'll leave use clues and we need to figure him out? so we are just being used for God's recreation. Is that what you mean?

Same answer to the poster who posted about exams etc

no they wont...

Yeah or Maybe!

If it is true then what can you do about it? :-)

not recreation for Allah!!!!!!! He is Above it All. He wants us to obey and worship Him but not because He needs it but because WE Need the blessings and rewards which will be the result of Obeying HIM with out seeing HIM.

did the angels not say to Allah why do u make insaan they are fitna and fasaad makers. but Allah said He knows what they do not. so lets stay within our limits.

Yea_Boii, thank you for the post as it shows that you are willing to think and question. This also gives us all an opportunity to ponder and learn. Imam Sadiq (as) said: Verily, knowledge is a lock and its key is the question!

I would like to ask you:

-In brief, what belief do you hold about the creator and the purpose of creation?
-What exactly would you like to see revelead by God that he has not already?

It is also narrated from Imam Sadiq (as), “It is not the right of Allah upon the people that they should recognize Him before He introduces (Himself) unto them. It is the right of the creatures upon Allah that He introduces (Himself) unto them. It is the right of Allah upon the people that when Allah introduces Himself, they should accept Him.”
Tauheed of Shaikh Saduq p. 412, H. 7

Even if Allah/God shows himself to the mankind, there will still be people who will not believe him as their Lord.

Another scenario is that if Allah/God shows himself, everyone will believe in him. Then what? would Allah not want His creation to obey him? to follow the guidelines set by Him ? In this case, despite believing in Allah/God there will be evil people around, who will not follow word by word of Allah's commandments, then Allah will again judge them based on their deeds.

Allah needs not to show himself to anyone. He does that to people who have love for Allah, who fears Allah in every path of their life, and who struggle to be in spiritual relationship with Him.
Jo khaak mein mile usse milta hai aashnaa
Ae aazmaane waale, ye nuskhaa bhi aazmaa

Allah says that you'll find him where ever you direct yourself. Moreover, we dont need God to show himself to believe him. Quran to anyone is proof enough that such a miraculous and such accurate book can be sent by no one else but the true Lord of both worlds, Allah the Almighty. One needs to be pure in His search for Allah to His pleasure. Allah is closer to us than our jugular vein.

Also, unlike hindus, Muslim's God/Allah doesnt have any shape, or form. Since we as humans have shape, we are unable to see Allah, but will be able to see him when we die.

Allah reveals himself through many ways. Its just a matter of seeing it yourself. Struggling for survival, miracles that one experience, making things possible which literally seemed impossible. A miraculous birth of a baby. Sun,moon,Earth..all been controlled by Allah.

Allah cant keep revealing himself to every generation. Imagine Allah gathering every single human on Earth and telling them that He is the God. People at that time will believe. What about generation after generation? Just revealing himself will be enough for people to accept him? This is why Allah has been revealing himself since the creation of mankind. From Adam (AS) to Noah, Abraham,Moses,Jesus,Muhammad (PBUH,AS'S).

As far as the question of how we know which religion is true. This sher sums it up nicely.

** Logo! suno ke zinda khuda wo khuda nahi
                                 Jis mein hamesha aadat e qudrat numa nahi.**

And its true. There are many religions in the world, but the only religion of whose God is the God that is beyond death, is the Allah of Islam. The one who shows His signs of existence is the Allah and no one else.

if Allah showed himself to humans they'd pass out before he was anywhere
close to doing so, that kind of diminish the purpose wouldn't it

Actually all the humankind bore witness to Allah (swt), even without Allah (swt) showing Himself (can Allah ever be seen?)

[7:172] And when your Lord brought forth from the children of Adam, from their backs, their descendants, and made them bear witness against their own souls: Am I not your Lord? They said: Yes! we bear witness. Lest you should say on the day of resurrection: Surely we were heedless of this

Another scenario is that if Allah/God shows himself, everyone will believe in him. Then what? would Allah not want His creation to obey him? to follow the guidelines set by Him ? In this case, despite believing in Allah/God there will be evil people around, who will not follow word by word of Allah's commandments, then Allah will again judge them based on their deeds.

Once people attain an absolute faith on the Almighty, then there shall be no chance of disobedience.

Allah needs not to show himself to anyone. He does that to people who have love for Allah, who fears Allah in every path of their life, and who struggle to be in spiritual relationship with Him.

So what comes first; "Allah showing himself" OR love/relationship with Allah? can one develop this love/relationship without having any faith?

Also, unlike hindus, Muslim's God/Allah doesnt have any shape, or form. Since we as humans have shape, we are unable to see Allah, but will be able to see him when we die.

How exactly will you be able to see Him when He (swt) says:
[6:103] Vision comprehends Him not, and He comprehends (all) vision; and He is the Knower of subtleties, the Aware.

Allah cant keep revealing himself to every generation. Imagine Allah gathering every single human on Earth and telling them that He is the God. People at that time will believe. What about generation after generation? Just revealing himself will be enough for people to accept him? This is why Allah has been revealing himself since the creation of mankind. From Adam (AS) to Noah, Abraham,Moses,Jesus,Muhammad (PBUH,AS'S).

Do you think restrictions like time and space matter to Allah (swt) like they do to us? If they dont then if He wanted show himself then it would be just as easy for Him to show Himself to everybody at on single moment.

And its true. There are many religions in the world, but the only religion of whose God is the God that is beyond death, is the Allah of Islam. The one who shows His signs of existence is the Allah and no one else.

There is no god but God. Jews, Christians, Muslims, Sabians, all claim to follow the same God.

^ i agree with everything you said Nussairee... my whole point was that Allah needs not to reveal himself, when he can do that by giving signs to humans of his existence. It is then upto the individual whether he accept him or accept him not. You are right that humankind bore witness to Allah, but yet again people are following what their heart feel is the right path.

Well Yea_Boii, let me ask you a question: Do you believe in Brad Pitt? Do you think he exists? If so, have you seen him with your own eyes? If you haven't, then how do you know for sure he's real? Oh, you've seen him in movies, you say? And you hear about him in the news all the time? So you think the movies and the TVs and Entertainment Weekly is sufficient evidence to prove Brad Pitt's existence? Well, on the same note, just take a deep breath and look around you. You'll find plenty of proof of Allah's existence.

And if by chance you have really seen Brad Pitt with your own eyes, then substitute his name with any other famous person who you haven't met/seen personally, and the same logic applies.

Allah has surely revealed Himself to us by his signs.