That's exactly what's the perception back in pakistan i.e. if you want to nab good rishtas become a doctor. From my MBBS class 80% of the girls are not practicing because they got married either in their last year of MBBS or during house job. The thing which personally irritates me, is that the class had 80% girls to begin with.
In pakistan girls aren't much into outdoor activities like boys. So they spend most of their energies in studying or cramming especially for pre-med field which results in them getting higher marks. Because of that majority of the girls get in medical colleges on merit. Quite interestingly even if a girl becomes a practicing doctor her family or in-laws will never be sending her to the remote villages or areas which are in dire need of doctors.
Their should be some bond or some condition that every one has to do some years of practice in the remote areas to be qualified as a doctor in countries like pakistan where govt is spending a hell lot of money to make such doctors who left the country the instance they get their degrees.
what a sexist statement to make.......
girls should be allowed to study whatever they want...........and its upto their own free will what they want to do afterwards............its this same mentality that is keeping our desi women from achieving their maximum potential.
Nomi, I dunno if you're doing your standard s*** stirring but you can study whatever you want without using scare public resources. Medicine as a subject does not exist for fun, it's a professional qualification which exists to produce doctors to take care of the population. You wanna study for fun, do it on your own dime.
Somewhere like the UK, it's not enough to be smart and get the grades, you need to show your commitment to the profession.
The mentality that is stopping women reaching their potential is rubbish like once you're over a certain age you should be put on the shelf. And haw hai women shouldn't be working with men, or at night etc etc.
girls should be allowed to study whatever they want...........and its upto their own free will what they want to do afterwards............its this same mentality that is keeping our desi women from achieving their maximum potential.
I'm a medical student and I would prefere a doctor husband although I'm definitely open to other options and wouldnt reject a greaty guy just because he didn't have the same profession as me. It would just be easier because he would understand the demanding hours, late night work, etc. The last thing I want is for my husband to be all suspicious of me working late at night. Honestly only a medical professional can understand another medical professional. Its a whole other world. And its such a humbling experience. I love the fact that I'm able to help someone out as a job. The connection between patient/dr is so rewarding. But if I were to come home and discuss it with my non dr husband, I feel like he wouldn't really understand what I'm going through or how tiring it can be. I guess as long as the spouse respects the other persons profession and tries to not bother them with "khana chahiye ABHI, chai lao ABHI" kind of demands and just respects each other it would be fine.
Nomi, I dunno if you're doing your standard s*** stirring but you can study whatever you want without using scare public resources. Medicine as a subject does not exist for fun, it's a professional qualification which exists to produce doctors to take care of the population. You wanna study for fun, do it on your own dime.
Somewhere like the UK, it's not enough to be smart and get the grades, you need to show your commitment to the *profession*.
The mentality that is stopping women reaching their potential is rubbish like once you're over a certain age you should be put on the shelf. And haw hai women shouldn't be working with men, or at night etc etc.
True, both male and female docs in Pak should do their job for at least 3 to 4 years instead of getting married or moving to some other country.
Men and women are not free to date in Pakistan. So, I guess the resume is the only way in letting potential rishta's know that they are successful. Personally, I don't see any difference in parents sending their children to a privatized school in the uk, or mothers in Pakistan wanting their daughters to become doctors for the sake of getting a better rishta. In both cases all they want is the best for their children; to be successful.
The fact remains that in Pakistan, there are a plethora of private medical schools. My BIL's wife's sister didn't get the marks to get into any of the gov medical colleges as they are highly competitive so her parents are paying for her to go to the fairly new private medical school (she needed okay grades to get in but nothing like the gov. college's) - it's not on the WHO list of approved schools yet so her degree wouldn't mean anything in US/UK for example.I don't have a problem with this, if someone really wants to become a doctor, good for them. My problem is the lengths people go to, to get the rishta and then don't work for even a day afterwards if they get married by then.
Absolute troof. They are practically selling degrees in those private medical colleges. These days if you are loaded, getting a degree in medicine is no biggie at least in Pakistan. And to be honest I am glad these half-baked messiahs coming out of them commercial production lines are mostly using their degrees for getting married and not practicing medicine.
i have another example of a couple married of same field … shoaib malik & sania mirza … both are sports person & see each other for 2 or 3 weeks once in 3 months …
shaadi karan da ki faida hoya fer taanoo jado naal nayi rena te … they just labelled themselves …
they understand theor professional needs & odd timings :hmm:
true that…but the ‘doctor’ craze is so funny…a LOT of kids end up going to central asian or eastern european countries or china to get a doctor’s degree…
Well someone had to put it out there, you were condescending yourself saying all girls are pre-med and implying that is all we want or what our families want. I don't know what the reasons are for other girls...but for me personally, I have humanitarian intentions.
medicine comes into the field of science and I am quite aware of all the fields which consist of the overall area of "Science" .... kudos to all who pursue it....to better themselves & humanity
alternate can be anything, but your attitude was condescending regarding that all girls are pre-med. Home ec is just what I hear ALL the time...so sorry if my choice of word bothered you
I never said being a doc is just for rishta or prestige. I just gave an anthropological view on why women would make good doctors/health care workers....and there are numerous studies on my statement in the 2nd paragraph. Plz ck them out if you don't agree.
Being a doctor was a considered to be a NOBEL profession, and sadly it is losing that value in this society...but for me it will never be mediocre or a field where it is just for rishta/prestige.
If you agree with that, then all is well. Peace
haha, come outta your illusion that you're gonna save humanity by becoming a doctor. If you want a to be a humanitarian there are other options for you.
Have ypu ever stepped in a hospital? You need to familiarize yourself with how medicine is practiced today. You don't sit with each patient and sort out their problems or read books to them. You apply the science you were taught within the limitations the laws put on you. It's impersonal and stressful. Oh healthcare is also sort of a business, soooo ;)
Again do whatever you want I don't care, some people do enjoy the career as it is and they excel, the others get married off in their last year, loool. Taking the resources someone else could've put to use.
Some of you people are amazing. You seem to know what goes on in the heads of people you have never seen or met. Maybe it's just me but I see alot of contempt for pakistani girls studying medicine. Becoming a doctor is being portrayed to be as easy as learing how to drive. Maybe there is a tiny minority that does it for rishtas but I just find it hard to believe that most people would put themselves through medical school just for that. Whatever someone might say it is not a cakewalk.
As for those worried about precious resources being spent on girls who are only after rishtas, what do you think of those who study and then marry or just move overseas? Presumably, the only money being spent is on those in government colleges which are very competitive and you wouldn't just get in for rishta purposes. Even those critical of rishta hunting girls agree that these colleges are proper medical schools.