Why do we have to live with inlaws?

ok, usually the boy who lives with inlaws will say jahan larka rehta hai nthats where the girl should live, however living with boys parents is not islamic, its become our culture, is it ok for boys to live with their parents and then expect wife to live there as well…

i know im mentioning religion, but we all pick and choose it, no one here can sya they are perfect muslims…

Re: Why do we have to live with inlaws?

This should not even be the last thought bothering your soul with an unemployed husband and second baby on the way! Or do you just enjoy feeling like an eternal victim?

I'm not really an old member but I've seen this topic being discussed to death plenty of times. How about using the search button honey to see what most of us have to say about this topic? :)

Yay!! Inlaw thread.. my favorite! :aisha:

Didn’t your own husband live with you and your parents for a while?

:rolleyes:

I don’t think one “HAS” to live with in-laws a rule…and to be honest I’m not keen on it myself…but sometimes circumstances cannot be helped and that could be the living arrangement you find yourself in and you have to deal with it as best you can.

yeah that is unfair. the in laws should move into a tent in the backyard asap. :jhanda:

^ No, that's way to close imo.

Some people have a prenuptial agreement , where in they decide the terms and condition of marriage . That is the only solution to this problem. Once you are married you have burned your ship.
But again in desi society the girls and girls side have little upper hand. Many parents of marriageable age daughters get happy that their daughter got a viable rishta , therefore they do not want to impose condition for fear of breaking the rishta.

And if it is a love marriage then since love is blind the details are left to be decided after the wedding , bad move.

Yaay , I award you title of “My Most Favorite Guppan”. :k:

if you are talking about your situation then it is because your husband wanted to live with them.

in general, it depends on family. some families encourage independent setup while other still live with joint system.

if your spouse is well and can afford separate living then go with it, because Islam also encourage couples private life and privacy.

In-laws :shoaby:

maireee begum k In-laws aaney waley hain Pakistan sai soon to visit us. Dont give her ideas

I'm looking forward to your thread then DC6.

Should we all write a hypothesis on what the contents of the thread may be?

it will be awesome. go a head.

Why can't you do a search instead of opening the 120918723917239182th thread on this topic?

Why don't you blog about some things...instead of opening a new thread every.single.day.?

please allow her. she is alone in pakistan. i dont know how could she manage to appear on gs. if she start searching it will consume her time.

there are advantages and disadvantages to both situations Nadz. I got married 6 months ago, and I DONT live with my in-laws. Yes, its nice to have our own space, and not have to ask if we want to go somewhere, and do our own thing...but at the same time there are things we cant do, that couples who live with the in-laws can do.

I will give you a couple of examples. My friends who have gotten married and live with their in-laws:

• dont have to pay rent/mortgage
  • dont have to buy their own groceries
  • dont have to pay for internet and cable and home phone connection
  • dont have to buy all new furniture to furnish their apartment
  • dont have to buy all new appliances and dishes and utensils
  • they are able to save more money
  • they take more vacations than I can
  • they have people in the house to help them out
  • if they are sick, they are not expected to still do everything
  • ramadaan is better with lots of people - me and my husband live alone in this city, and we have no one to have iftar with, or celebrate Eid with!

The grass is always greener on the other side! We always want what we dont have! Trust me, its not perfect living on your own either. Like I listed above, my husband and I have to do all that stuff on our own, and because of that, we cant fully enjoy doing everything we want. I would love to travel more, but because we have so many expenses, its not possible. It was really hard setting up house at the beginning. And we have to be careful about what we are spending, to make sure at the end of the month we have enough money for rent, for groceries, for electricity, for our car payments, for our insurance, for our outings, for savings.

Be thankful to Allah you have a free roof over your head, free food to eat, free internet connection, free satelite, etc. Cause when you have to pay for this all on your own, then you will realize the advantage to living with your in-laws.

Zara ghaur sai parhoo. In-laws mairey nahi, begum k aaaa-rahey hain. If anything you should expect a thread from her. :)

Oh man :hinna:, I was starting to dream about all those lovely stories you would have had for us.

Why not invite your wife’s parents too - now that should be fun. :smiley:

all these advantages are there even with my backyard tent solution. :snooty:

nadz, you should have thought about this before moving in with your inlaws.