I just came from Pakistan, it was all dandy, though one thing I noticed is that all rich and “involved” Pakistani women didn’t cover their heads. In fact, they wore cloths that would put to shame Playboy playmates.
hehe.. they dont cover lots of things... head to door ki baat hai.
waisay... interesting though.. the more money people have.. the less clothes they tend to wear..
Re: Why do upper class Pakistani women dont cover their heads?
*Originally posted by KhanAbadosh: *
In fact, they wore cloths that would put to shame Playboy playmates.
Aren't you a bit exaggerating?
Re: Re: Why do upper class Pakistani women dont cover their heads?
*Originally posted by Phat_gurl: *
Aren't you a bit exaggerating?
What do you want pictures?
Transparent cloths ring a bell? Its a new trend there.
Re: Re: Re: Why do upper class Pakistani women dont cover their heads?
*Originally posted by KhanAbadosh: *
Transparent cloths ring a bell? Its a new trend there.
did you have a waterfight with them?
Re: Why do upper class Pakistani women dont cover their heads?
I suggest you pick up a copy of Playboy and learn the difference between topless and transparent.
Re: Re: Why do upper class Pakistani women dont cover their heads?
Transparent is more of turn on the topless.
**** edited **** :nono3: - Baba
what is the laws regarding women's clothing in pakistan? at what point you be arrested for violating dress code according to relgious laws?
As far as I know there are no such laws in Punjab though there might be in NWFP since the MMA came in power. Recently they have declared that all school uniforms be Kamiz-Partoog, no more pants and shirts. Even though the MMA is in power, I saw x-rated movies, posters etc. in many of the stores. Also loud music and all that other "banned" stuff they said in the news were happening right before my eyes. So basically it is not like Taliban in Afghanistan.
All these religious retards are no different then the previous politicians. The only difference is that these guys carry with them 12 foot long beards.
*Originally posted by rvikz: *
what is the laws regarding women's clothing in pakistan? at what point you be arrested for violating dress code according to relgious laws?
In India, 'Purdah' was the practice of upper class women to distinguish them from ordinary classes.
I guess in Pakistan it's the opposite.
*Originally posted by MyStiCaL_MisS: *
In India, 'Purdah' was the practice of upper class women to distinguish them from ordinary classes.
I guess in Pakistan it's the opposite.
It reminds of the movie "Sahib bibi aur ghulam"...always gives me shivers
aren't we being a lil generalized here ?!?! just a thought ....
agree with Aleezay, this is a stereotype…
many upper class women observe the proper Islamic purdah…infact most of the women from the traditional upper class land owning families of Punjab n Sindh that i have seen do observe purdah…
it is mostly those with new money the nouveau riche who think aping the west is the way to go and have abandoned the islamic dress code… ![]()
assalamoalikum ![]()
baloo ka style kharab ho jata hai is liyee dubatta nahin kertein
the topic is generalisd in my poinion but this is the trend. it must have gotten worse since i went pak last year (karachi to be exact) i was ashamed and appaled to look at them. :(
well, it's actually better in Karachi now.
Women are taking on abayas for fashion but they are being obliged to cover their bodies now.
I would not say that they're wearing transparent clothes!
The farthest I've seen them go is sleeveless and maybe capri pants in place of shalwaars. And even then, that was worn in a family gathering.
Now if you're talking about fashion shoots in a magazine, well, those are quite different from reality.
Granted, Pakistani women wear what they want within closed doors, but then, that is their right.
The last time I was in Karachi, which was June 2002, I saw the two kinds of dress-codes getting more rampant.
There were more and more women and girls who were wearing full hijab with abaya and all that. I was told that there is a huge movement in Karachi to invite women to dars and quran classes and all that. And on the other hand, there were more and more women and girls who were wearing western dresses, jeans, t-shirts and skirts.
And this divide is not based on rich people or poor people.
I saw plenty of rich women who were dressed in hijaab and many middle-class girls hanging out at The Point wearing jeans. A few years ago, it was that in bazaars and restaurants, most females will be wearing shalwar kameez (fashion varied). Now, its either one end (which is full hijab) or the other end (which is sleeveless, skin tight jeans, mid-rib baring tops).
Pardah / Hijaab is necessary upon every woman who is close to the age of puberty or has reached it.Many complain that the Pardaah enjoined upon the Muslim women is far too restrictive and rigid and is in order to keep them inferior to men. Ignorance and misunderstanding can only be the cause of such beliefs. Besides Islam which other religions or nations have given homes full protection from exploitation from strangers? While at the same time guides women upon importance of purity and morality as well as upholding her status and dignity.
Faisal, I noticed also that many young girls are now wearing full Hijabs and Niqabs, but this is also a fashion statement in Pakistan these days. You will see girls covering their entire face living only the eyes, but they will have so much makeup done on their eyes that they still attract attention from bystanders, though I won’t ignore the fact that many do it because they are true to their faith.
Also, one other think I learned was that any woman that covers herself entirely or is seen wearing a burqa is considered “chaloo” in some areas.