Why do the bride and groom sit on a stage?

It’s so silly if one thinks about it. I don’t think I’d want to sit on a stage when/if I get married, like some sort of monument for everyone to gaze at.

That is precisely the point Cat. You’ve got to do it. No escaping age-old traditions. What do you think men feel with 2000 Haars (currency bill laden necklaces) hanging down their necks? And a full Sehra. I think, it is a very nice tradition and I would want to do it over and over again, if I had a choice. One can never get enough Salamis.

Its fun
lil lil kids come up and say ‘dekho dulhan’
and go ooooo and aaaaaaa over everything

grownups are annoying
aunties are Very annoying

they will come up and start asking
‘yeah sonay ka set susral waloon ka hay yeah maikay waloon ka’

‘acha in main say susrali ka kaun kaun sa zaivar hay’
then they will study the designs on the zaivar and probe and touch you as if to examine every inch of the face and take nuks out
Naak teeri hay, ankh bhengi hay, ek kaan doosray say bara hay and blah blah blah

kangans and sonay ki choorian are examined and counted thoroughly and then asked 'is main say maikay ki kaun si hain aur susral ki kaun si ’

the young aunties are fun
they will wanna know ‘makeup kahan say karwaya’
or ‘mehndi bari achi rang lai hay’

boorhi boorhi aunties will come and give you jhappis and kissies and duaans disregarding that you just spent around a fortune getting your hair and makeup done

all fun till you get extremely bored and annoyed and nudge your dulha sitting next to you and propose getting up and running for the car

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

[This message has been edited by Anchal (edited May 31, 2001).]

lil lil kids come up and say 'dekho dulhan'
and go ooooo and aaaaaaa over everything

Anchal sweetie, I think they were just being too sarcastic towards you.

yes cats...just grin and bear it....

you'll find that it will create memories to laugh over later on.....

and great things to talk about with your hubby cuz of course you won't know everyone and you'll be wanting to ask him who that annoying aunty was who that nosy person was, etc., etc.

Anchal....apnay is dumm challay ka kuch karo....

Seeing that you guys have good memories of it all, it can't be too bad. I guess all the fuss that is made, is a once in a lifetime thing (even with the irritating and nosy aunties). But I'd just feel sooo concious!!

I just asked my mum and at first she said "tum zameen pe beth jana" hehe but she says it's so that everyone can see the rassams and that in western weddings, they also have a high table, so the bride and groom are clearly visible. Okay fine, maybe I'll put myself on a pedestal once in my life. :)

Wah Catz abhi to tum ne kaha"…I’d want to sit on a stage when/(((((((((((((((((if))))))))))) I get married, like some

sort of monument for everyone to gaze at."

Within 3-4 posts youi decided you INDEED are going to get married .Woh kaise???

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

All these marriage hall,StAGE ,BHANGRA GHARVA DANCE ETC ARE NOT TRADITIoNS BUT RECENT ADDITIONS TO MUSLIM WEDDINGS ,SO its not that important anywayze.

See some old movies like Pakeezah,Chaudvin ka chaand ,Mere mehboob,Palki,Niqaah,mere huzoor ,those were the ways of my grand father & grand mothers .

Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha

Interesting!!
I almost had an heart attack when i went to a friend’s wedding..and looked down from the stage… oh boy ..lol 300 people staring at me

for a moment i was just like

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

then it was fun lol… went to several seminars and stuff…

so its good

FYI, it's still a big "IF" and IF it does happen, zameen pe bethney sey to acha hai na?

Originally posted by cat-woman:
*FYI, it's still a big "IF" and IF it does happen, zameen pe bethney sey to acha hai na? *

I don't know about the girls but that's how a guy feel like. It is like an ancient ritual when u want to sacrifice someone and then before sacrifice you give him something to cheer about and give him food waghera waghera. Baqi bakray kay saath kiya hota hai sab behtar jaantay haiN. It has been happening for ages.

Btw, mubarak ho aap zameen par ya stage par kab baiTh rahi haiN?

catty meri jaan..if they dont sit on teh stage..how on earth will you differentiate between the groom and all the yuppies that hang around him...and how would you distinguish the bride from all the others who decide to wear their shadi ka lehnga too? btw..its nerve wrecking sitting up there..everyone noticing everything you do!
ps-ROFL Anchal..that is SOOOOOOO true..esp teh zewar part...tauba kaan kau haath laganay wala icon

[This message has been edited by isloo_ki_anarkali (edited June 01, 2001).]

So, what's the bare minimum you need for a marriage? Is it one maulvi, two witnesses (oh and a boy and a girl)?

As FYI said, there are so many new traditions tacked on to a 'muslim' wedding that I'm petrified of getting married. It's not married life, it's just the wedding...

Sometimes I think I should just have a drive-through wedding in Las Vegas. What do you think? Anyone know where I can get a muslim Elvis look-alike maulvi?

hey, actually there is some more to the couple sitting together for that long in the reception. It is basically a display of the fact that the couple is together, sort of an announcement; as this is the first time they are together publically.

Re: Why do the bride and groom sit on a stage?

Hey Catty now u say so i never think about that, that why a dhulan and dulha sit on stage but like someone said here its a old tradition. Some of ur gurlz and guyz are so negative about it sittin on a stage lolz. I enjoy it when i got married give money and stuff.
But also very heavy. One thing i feel very sorry is that the Dulha & Dulhan have to sit the
whole day. But i enjoy my marriage a lot.

I had the experience of sitting on the stage with my wife three times:

1) Shaadi in Lahore
2) Valima in Lahore
3) Function in Vienna (for our friends here who could not go to Pakistan)

And I actually liked it. :D

and how often is that?:stuck_out_tongue:

i guess its probly a legacy of the pre-islamic times of pakistan when most ppl were either hindus or buddhists.. these customs just manage to stay on as non-religious add-ons to functions.. i wud say the "phoolon-ka-mala" is also one such inherited practice..

I didnt' want to sit on the stage the entire time, and no one minded if we walked around, but we had no choice because everyone else wanted their pics taken on stage with us! That took up the entire evening.

that and that heavy dress with loads of jewelry, its just not possible to walk arround.

[thumb=H]stage5718_8834490.JPG[/thumb]

a pic from my friend's wedding on 6th jan 2005....
starting from the left: me, the dulha, the dulhan, my wife....

so that is the norm, the dulha and dulhan in the center, and the couples (newly wed or old couples, all of them) will come and stand on either side and have their pics taken....