Why do some women in Pakistan...

who don’t want to be touched by a stranger male, easily let them help them in wearing bangles and shoes in the shops ?

2 Likes

Re: Why do some women in Pakistan...

haha i have always wondered that too!

***Vanity BAZAAR....................:D

Trumphs Modesty................:(

awww yaar come on, those guys are like bhai to them. Bhai zara woh wali chori dikhana

I know some boys now grown up men who used to sell chorian on chand raat just for the glamour of it. Meaning a chance to be near so many girls and the chance to hold their hands.

good point...lol i wondered the same, alwayz. But i remember even as a 10 yr old i neva let any of those guys in bazar selling chodis help me with it...so ya it amazes me how the hell all these grown up girls have no sense or maybe they just enjoy it?!?...it's pretty cheap.

They enjoy buying and enjoy wearing choorian , but I do not think they are cheap. Growing up in Pakistan I used to be assigned the duty of taking my sister, bhabies , mother and all for buying choorians I used to be a watch dog during the whole process but never thought about it anything more than it was :
My sister, my bhabies and and my mother are buying choorian and that is it.

ChuRiyaan wala, Shoe shop wala, then there are male tailors not to mention others...
But then we have issues if someone in a business meeting wants to shake our hands.

Confusion people. Confusion.

Male gynecologists are the one's that really get me.

Even though my gynecologist is male.. and Muslim.

He's awesome.

look with the amount of churhiaN the average pakistani girl buys, it wouldn't take her long to figure out the size (i.e. diameter) they need... so pick out the one u want and tell 'em to give it to u in a size that u know fits u... same goes for shoes.

Only if things were so easy in Pakistan. The size variations are enormous even in famous company products, you have to try them on to be sure that they fit you. Chorian are very non standard product.

ok i dont mean any offence to u or anybody and nor do i think going out 2 buy chories or anything is wrong...all that i am asking is y do u need anybody else be it a guy or a girl to wear yr chories?. Also, i would like 2 believe that most of these girls are naive enough to understand that most guy there are just having fun puttin chories on them but i bet there are girls who actually enjoy all this cheap attentions. So i was refering to those girls and boys as cheap.

Believe me, though i never went out much on eid days but i mite have gone like only 1-2 times out on eid day to get chodis and i have come across guys who r quite rich and all but have the stalls only for this damn purpose so dat they get to flirt with the girls. Thats sad.

I am just amazed how the shoe shop salesmen are so used to putting shoes on your feet. They just grab the shoe and start touching your foot, one guy was openly trying to flirt and touch my foot really inappropriately and it took a few times of me saying no for him to realise i mean NO. Now i tell them in advance i can try on the shoe myself.

^ xactly...and God knows what kind of desperate people some of these r....

really? every time i went I told 'em to give me the size of sawa-dou (i.e. 2.25 inches)... these sizes were prettey consistent considering the variety of places I bought them from, abnd fittend me perfectly every time, Alhumdulillah...

And take their various measurements! It's amazing about women who are so proud about being touched don't care when a tailor is checking bust, waist, hip size, etc.

I honestly think some women almost don't consider them "human" enough to be concerned about.

Quite contrary, I bet those are the same bunch of women who believe in "when in rome, do what a roman does"... so it might be the cultural thing. I think, for them, if it is okay to shake hands at the so called business meetings, as it is the social requirement, then it would/should be alright for them to have those male chordi walas and tailors taking their measurements.... come on ladies it's a social norm in Pakistan...helloooo.

Or if not, then i think those ladies are simply hypocrites... for them fulfilling the social norm, hand-shake for example, made by goras is totally acceptable, while they will moan over a poor male holding their hands for the bangles size... and then they will start talking about personal space and the uneasiness of getting measured by a male tailor.

Yeah i know, it's always more rewarding to kiss the shinny polished shoes of goras as compared to the tooti howi chappal belonging to a poor man from Pakistan.

No doubt, Hypocrites will be the hypocrites!

PS: I never appreciate any man touching my any part of the body... no matter for whatever freakin' reason.

Re: Why do some women in Pakistan…

When I went to Karachi after 5 years in 2003, my aunts took me to their ‘family tailor’ so I could get my clothes stitched. The guy came up to me to get my sizes and I was shocked when he asked me to take my dupatta off so he could get my measurements. I was like uhhh no, I’ll bring those to you tomorrow from home. He’s like, you can have your aunt do it.. and I was like, right here in front of you and these men? Uh no, thanks. It was so weird! Then a week later, one of aunts and I were picking up clothes and she was talking to him about her other sister and she was saying, oh she doesn’t eat much, she’s gotten so skinny, and the tailor went, koi nahi, she’s not skinny, her chest size is this and this. I was like OH my LORD- is he seriously saying this?! And the person he was talking about is actually a hijabi. It was just SO bizarre that he remembered her actual size and that’s how he determined who was fat or not? :konfused:

I have never had men trying to put chooriyan on me but one time at this boutique, I went into the fitting room to try this outfit on, my aunt came a lil later to see how it looked and I saw BOTH the salesman from behind the counter peering over to check it out too. And this was when I was only 13.. gadhay.

^ its best to do what you did... give them a naap thats perfect.

2 Likes

Re: Why do some women in Pakistan…

:omg:…funny yet true