do not realize that they are pretty beautiful gorgeous good looking etc?
what are the reasons?
not only gals but guys too… like recently someone told me i never thought i was good looking and i was staring at him with my eyes wide open and blurted out are you kidding me! half of the paki community in uni goes gaga over u lol …
i myself have to reconfirm that i am pretty lol i cant think of myself as pretty .. all the time people around me say it and then dil ko tassali ati hai hehe
number one reason is that people don't usually openly tell a good-looking person in front of them that they think are good-looking. maybe because they do not want that person to become maghroor and start acting haughty. maybe they feel by telling them this that person will get offended or think that they are just trying to flatter them for a purpose.
second reason is beauty is in the eye of the beholder. maybe a girl who one guy thinks is really pretty another guy may think is average.
also sometimes peoples personality, dressing, style of speaking, persona etc influence how someone sees them and on these basis they may find a person more or less attractive
i think that its very much a logical fact that beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. However, generalization is there, like maybe 90% people will find a certain someone beautiful, 5% will find them attractive on a lesser level (as average), and another 5% will only vividly look at their flaws and think they're not at all attractive.
I would think it works in another way. For instance, you would realise and feel a certain energy (not necessarily from opposite sex, but also same-gender) from someone who think you look nice, or your hair looks nice or you're overall quite attractive. This feeling will tell you how that particular person sees you, so the more people seeing you that way, makes you realise in general what percentage of people find you attractive or pretty in everyday life.
I don't think anything anyone can say to you will make you beleive beautiful. I guess beleiving that comes from within ourselves. You could tell a fat ugly person for 100 years that they're beautiful, but they would never beleive you from their heart because their everyday life and dealings with people give them a totally different experience and thats what they will beleive.
I believe that actually everyone who is normal is beautiful or we can say that there are very few who are extraordinary or there are very few who are actually ugly, this is the excellence of creataion of Almighty. Specially in pakistan we find all different kinds of shapes and structures.
Now the question of attractiveness. Your style, your dressing, grooming, cleanliness, talking, moving etc. that makes you attrative. you might have seen someone whom you might give only 5 or 6 on the scale of 10 but people are attracted to them like hell.
atleast this is much better than those ppl who keep praising themselves all the time and keep posting their pics every now and then on fb just to hear sum comments....i mean seriuosly.............i know one girl, she thinks she's like God's gift to mankind or sumthing like that......she keeps taking pics of herself in dff poses and posts them on fb.......arrgghhhhh...and she keeps ranting about all the expensive designer clothes she bought. And she goes like "Yaar yeh humaare college ke larke bhi itne losers hai,,,khoobsurat larki dekhte hi pata nahi kya ho jaata hai..........and im like whatever!!!!!
Get a life lady!! Stop obsessing over urself!!And the worsep art is she's not even that pretty!!!Pata nahi apne aap pe itna ghuroor kyun hai usse?
Some people are pretty down to earth and prefer not to nag about their looks. Another reason could be that some people may not be bothered about the way they look. Hence, they don’t say anything
Those type are still a little bit better (more tolerable) than those who think they are all that and a bag o chips :)
Then there are those who are decent looking but either they have a mental disorder where they see something completely diff in the mirror or they are fishing for compliments.
i myself have to reconfirm that i am pretty lol i cant think of myself as pretty .. all the time people around me say it and then dil ko tassali ati hai hehe
I exactly know what you are talking about Aisha ..
this world is such a difficult place for good looking people like us
Because we are conditioned by society to see all the flaws in ourselves, rather than what is good about us. We constantly (especially girls), obsess about any small flaw (hips too wide, etc), and judge ourselves compared to the ideals of that society. I'm not tall, nor am I extremely thin, but that's often what is portrayed on beauty magazines, and thus that is what I will be conditioned to see as beauty.
We are biologically hardwired to see beauty in two things: symmetry and proportion. If your nose is too large for your face, you are not beautiful. If your lips are too small, you are not beautiful. Beautiful is in nearly perfect proportion and symmetry. Most people do not have that.
Another example would be hair. Silky hair is more beautiful than coarse hair because it exudes youthfulness. Youth is a great determiner of beauty because it reflects a perceived ability to bear children.
Beyond that, it is mainly our conditioning which determines what is beautiful --fair being better than dark, etc). But what we generally deem beautiful as a race (human race), is pretty much unable to change, and it won't change.
=
ppl ususally know if they r ugly or pretty but sumtimesss
they are wurried that uther ppl dont think they r pretty
so they will say sumthing like im uglllyy
to often b reassured they r prettyyy by uther people
lol even i do it sumtimes