I mean they rather have McDonalds instead of a korma, regardless of the fact that McDonalds literally destroys your body. They are far more in tune with US politics. I mean they can rattle off the policies of Reagan, but have no clue who Sheikh Rashid is.
Also its odd. Kameez and jeans…the moment it becomes fashionable, everybody is wearing it. Before then well lets just say S&Ks weren’t acceptable. It was all jeans and shirts or t-shirts or god knows what else.
Oh yes please help me when I hear a Pakistani speak Urdu like a colonial master. That is just wrong on so many freaking levels.
However the icing to the cake is when they have “authentic” items from Pakistan on display to show that they are Gorays but in touch with the Motherland.
So whats with this desire to be more gora than gorays. Inferiority complex?
Forgot to answer your question…well for me, I don’t know that I can help but love the US, since I was born and raised here. My parents left India/Pakistan very early, had lived here in the US longer than they had their respective Mother Lands, so I don’t know that we have any choice but to love our land
And I for one would rather chow down on nihari & daal fry from Al Markaz (my local desi dhaba watering hole) than hit up the drive through of the Golden Arches
And I really don’t have anything in my house that is from Pakistan (except my curtains because they are cheaper to get made in Karachi than Dallas )
And I’m not much in to politics at all, regardless if it’s Pakistan/India or America…
I mean they rather have McDonalds instead of a korma, regardless of the fact that McDonalds literally destroys your body. They are far more in tune with US politics. I mean they can rattle off the policies of Reagan, but have no clue who Sheikh Rashid is.
Also its odd. Kameez and jeans....the moment it becomes fashionable, everybody is wearing it. Before then well lets just say S&Ks weren't acceptable. It was all jeans and shirts or t-shirts or god knows what else.
Oh yes please help me when I hear a Pakistani speak Urdu like a colonial master. That is just wrong on so many freaking levels.
However the icing to the cake is when they have "authentic" items from Pakistan on display to show that they are Gorays but in touch with the Motherland.
So whats with this desire to be more gora than gorays. Inferiority complex?
Hmmmm......I think so.
It seems "CM" Bhai Sahib you never understood the meaning of Allama Iqbal's saying:
It's especially amusing when everything described above is demonstrated by Pakistanis living in Pakistan who have never or barely spent any time overseas.
Agreed those are the worst. If you spent only 4 years studying in the US before you immigrated. There is no way you can have an american accent when you speak any language!
McDaddo: It's is a waste of money. I'd rather have the Anday wala bun kabab for Rs30 rather than throw money at McDaddo. I wouldn't refuse if it were someone else's treat though. I like Korma, but I like pulao better. Politics sicken me, whether is be US or Pakistani.
Shalwar Kamir: I should wear them more often.
Urdu: Meri angrezi se to behter hi hay meri Urdu. The gora sahab syndrome is usually seen at O & A levels schools in Pakistan or at LUMs(this one's a guess)
Agreed those are the worst. If you spent only 4 years studying in the US before you immigrated. **There is no way you can have an american accent **when you speak any language!
Intriguing isn't it that when it comes to Arabs everybody gets all self-righteous about how emulating them is a bad thing. Yet when it comes to the US everybody gets so defensive.
It's because anyone can be American, while same isn't true for being an Arab.