Why do people spend so much time in the bathroom?

It always amuses me to see a whole library stacked inside a bathroom. Many people read their newspaper there, or novels or magazines. I have heard folks spending 30-40 minutes in the loo…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

Why?

I am sure there are more comfortable places in a home compared to the loo. Why spend so much time on that rather uncomfortable seat? Why don’t they just get out of there quickly and lie on a sofa or something to catch up on their reading?

Sometimes I feel, that our forefathers in India/Pakistan realized this problem, and therefore designed loo in the most uncomfortable way. Now, I am referring to what is commonly known as “khuddi”, where a person has to squat. It will be rare to find a person spend a minute more than necessary in that position.

i think this is a desi problem. When I was living in a Univ Residence, we had co-ed floor so the washrooms were also co-ed. So, there I am, in one of the loos, reading a newspaper, and some gori bandi comes to the next stall, and long story short, she was out in 2 minutes. I was like, still on the first page of the newspaper.

That happened quite a few times.

Also they're not very discrete about the ..hmmmm.. the splashes that are caused...

anyways..

Just the fact that major US companies sell bathroom magazine storing shelves etc in major retail stores prompts me to believe it is not a desi phenomenon.

I agree with Fraudia…It’s basically dependent on the person itself. Can be Desi, but has not to be. Btw I don’t need more, than 20 mins for my shower

. As far as the toilet is concerned…Hmmm 3-5 mins…can’t bear it longer than that

*“na maiN momin vich masiitaaN, na maiN muusaa, na fir’aun!”

[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited October 06, 2001).]

You people have it all wrong. For some people, going to the loo is a mission as in “things don’t flow freely” so they have to spend some time in there to get the job done. Now imagine sitting there for 20 minutes trying to do what you have to do. Do you stare at the cieling? Check out the toiletries? Admire the view? Count the tiles on the floor? You’d rather just do some constructive reading until the job gets done.

Sounds like voice of experience…

Cat, u suggesting that most bathroom readers are constipated?

Maybe true for some but hardly a universal cause. Some people just like it, I guess.

Well the beauty is that you can just sit there with a nice book and relax every muscle in your body without worrying about a mess..........

Actually, apparently I come from a bathroom-loving family...

1.) One of my uncles is known to regularly read the newspaper in the bathroom
2.) The biggest collection of Archie's comics I've ever seen is in my little cousin's toilet in Dubai
3.) According to unconfirmed reports, another uncle tends to disappear into the bathroom with a cup of chai.......

i can easily spend 20+ minutes on the loo if I don't have anything to do. Its almost like meditation.

khekhekehkhekhe!!

A highly amused cat rolls on the floor hosing herself.

Well, I can identify with you!
We have a well-stocked magazine rack in our toilet.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

Are you serious?!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

Will it be doughnuts and cakes next?!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

No man in the world has more courage than the man who can stop after eating one peanut!

[This message has been edited by Asma44 (edited October 07, 2001).]

Uff Catty again on heat?!

Hi hi

*“na maiN momin vich masiitaaN, na maiN muusaa, na fir’aun!”

Walked 2 miles home ?? That would have been a very uncomfortable walk. Were you walking funny??

**Cat, u suggesting that most bathroom readers are constipated? **<<

Well yes, I think that’s part of the problem.

I personally try to spend as little time in the washroom/bathroom as possible. One reason being that it is the home to all demons and things that are evil. Thats why you should read a dua entering with your left foot into the loo. Regardless of it being a bath or a shower, the duration shouldn't be more than an hour. As for taking food in there, thats just digusting and wrong because of all the bacteria that resides in there. The objective of a washroom is to clean yourself and relieve yourself. Its not there to spend leisurely time to relax and unwine; no matter how decorated your washroom.

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

i also wonder why people do that....
i myself cant stay in the bathroom long....
last place that i wud like to be in....
excpet when needed....

MUGHAL          ya mujhe afsar-e-shaahana banaaya hota
         _.+._          ya mera taaj gadaayana banaaya hota 
       (^\/^\/^)        
        \@*@*@/         nashaa-e-ishq ka gar zarf diya tha mujh ko
        {_____}         umar ka tang na paimaana banaaya hota

One reason being that it is the home to all demons and things that are evil. Thats why you should read a dua entering with your left foot into the loo.

Well, we ought to say prayers while entering a mosque and our own homes too! That doesn't mean they are demons & evil involved...

Personally, I think the demons are the bacteria and viruses, that breed on dirtyness. And if we keep your washrooms clean, there is nothing to worry about. Though the dua will still holds & help!

Americans have the most habit of reading at the loo. No wonder its called it the 'rest room' ;~)