What you've said is your personal opinion when you said "personally".
Yes, I do agree that when you enter a mosque or a home doesn't mean that there are demons involved but we're talking about the washroom. However evil and good reside everywhere. What you've said is not specific to the washroom.
If you've read the translation of the dua I believe it says (i'm not a 100% sure) "protect me from the male and female of evil"
The bacteria is there yes thats a given but there maybe just maybe more than bacteria. I'm not sure if you believe in supernatural but I do "personally" because its stated in the Book of Allah.
Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.
This is what I thought of one day, of course while in the loo without anything to read.
When you are in a public bathroom, you smell certain odours.
You of smell something when tiny particles travelling in the moist air go in your nose and tickle your olfactory senses.
ever since I realized where these particles come from and what they are, i've tried to spend as little time in bathrooms as possible. I keep my mouth closed and breath as little as possible, i know its silly.
The other day I read a study which said that everytime a person flushes, about 2-3 million atomized particles (very fine spray) are released into the air and stay there for at least 3 hours.
I don't think it's a desi thing at all. In fact, we were always taught to be quick about the whole matter....spend no more time in there than you absolutely had to.
But eating or drinking in there???? UGh! No feakin' way!!!
as for me, i spend 10-15 minutes in there tops. its different for everyone man! some people are outta there before you can count to ten. everyones digestive system is diferent. not everyones sphincter muscle is the same size!
eating or drinkin anything in the toilet is plain disgusting!
yes duaa must be read, before entering, and after leaving, to protect oneself from the male and female jinn. this is in addition to there being bacteria and all, which are invisible to us...
as for reading things on the loo...i always thought it was wrong? same with speaking...
did you know theres Hadith which prohibits one from speaking whilst in there? If someone calls your name, instead of answering verbally, ur meant to like bang a cup or something , to indicate that u are in fact in there...nothing more. wats the wisdom behind this? anyone care to enligten us?
i am known to spent much time there, but when ever i count ,it took 30 min every morning to use toilet , shave and shower.
I think this is not much time and if it is then the other reason is behind that i go to washroom once in a day.
Normally the *illegal * things i am used to do in wasroom but not at the time of natural necessites , smoking in student life (but when all came to know so after that i didn't)
But i can guess most of people go for decision making in wash room not willingly but they do when bussy there.And i belive some of posts having an excellent creative impression are the production of Washroom studios.
*Sardar Ahmiq Singh *
*Hujra Number 4 Nankana saab *
Why is everyone focusing on the toilet…there are soooo many other things to do in the bathroom.
I spend 20 min (min) and 1 hr (max) in the shower.
I spend about another 10 minutes shaving…like every other day or when necessary
then there’s make-up application, and of course, its like the only room in the house u can be left alone in…i used to just lock myself in there and chill or read a book (NOT ON THE TOIILET) just to get away from my mom! And early in the mornings, when i used to get up for school…i’d just sit on the rug in my bathroom and doze off for about 15 minutes cuz my mother wouldn’t let me have an extra 15 minutes of shut-eye b4 starting my day!
kinda where i was getting at. i have a 4 speaker system installed in my bathroom, connected to my computer. mostly playing smooth jazz or soul music. helps to sooth the nerves and let things flow in harmony with nature
for some reason i like my music wherever i go. and the bathroom is no exception. in the mornings i spend a good hour in the bathroom. 20 min on the loo and 20-30 mins in the shower. no i dont read or eat in there. thats the time i use to just ‘bum’ or gather my thoughts for the day ahead or the day before. so ill agree with nomaan and catwoman. it is time spent in meditation. and as the comedy network puts it, it is “time well wasted”.
sometimes i have dozed off in the shower. and it is possible!!
but ofcourse these are not the only applications of the bathroom. as a youngest of 6, getting bullied by sibs was pretty common back in the day so i found my safe haven in the bathroom. im sure im not the only one