Seriously, I never get it. Why use a term that is an obvious racial slur to describe us? It’s like blacks using the n-word to describe their fellow blacks, it’s ridiculous.
Comment?
Seriously, I never get it. Why use a term that is an obvious racial slur to describe us? It’s like blacks using the n-word to describe their fellow blacks, it’s ridiculous.
Comment?
Re: Why do people here like to use the term Paki so much?
Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me…
Proud Paki…![]()
Maybe because that person (being called Paki) is from Pakistan?!
i like it. :roman:
i second it.
I thought nationalism was haram? ![]()
Proud Paki Muslim…
At GS I don't mind because I know that the term is not used as a racial slur, you know it when somebody says it in a demeaning manner.
Living in the UK I've always hated that word, although as I got older I started to use it myself, sadly.
I don't believe for a second the theory about 'reclaiming' a word from racists, since when they hear you use that word , they reason it is OK for anybody to use it. Everytime a black or white person hears you use that word you are giving them a reason to use it. Prolonging it's life.
I know of black people calling us pakis, that saddens me.
It's similar to the word 'nigga.'
In the UK at least, don't know about the US, it was always used as an insult for asians. What hurt me most as a kid growing up here was when Indians would call us pakis, they have a few other insults for us that I'm not going to list here.
The irony is, the white people call Indians 'pakis' too, but in their hatred for us the Indians like to think the whites are more accepting of them. I have known of Indian people sharing racist 'paki' jokes with white people.
I grew up with some Indian friends so I know all about this.
Pakistanis living in Pakistan or wherever have no idea as to the true origins or hurtful intentions behind this word.
Growing up in the US, I never realized it was a "bad word." It's just a shortened phrase for Pakistani, to me.
I use it sometimes, but only because I am too lazy to type "Pakistani".
^ Exactly.
Thanks so much for this thread.
Paki IS a racist slur and I correct everyone whenever i hear them saying it.
Growing up in the US, I never realized it was a "bad word." It's just a shortened phrase for Pakistani, to me.
I also grew up in the US but I still acknowledged that the term Paki was disgusting and demeaning.
tuaba ...her cheez main masla hai.
woh ghalat samjhte hain na...humare yahan to theek matlab hai...to per kya problem hai.
I also grew up in the US but I still acknowledged that the term Paki was disgusting and demeaning.
I've never heard it used in that way. No non-Pakistani I know used it. So it doesn't carry that weight with me. I acknowledge that people do use it in an offensive way, I'm just explaining that it doesn't stand out as offensive to me because of my upbringing.
I think us folks in the UK see it as a racist term, while Pakistanis elsewhere don't see it as such.
I think us folks in the UK see it as a rascist term, while Pakistanis elsewhere don't see it as such.
Haan...
hum log to pakistanio ki short form main "paki" likhte hain.
Humari sooch saaf hai.:)
Paki is just short for Pakistani.
Racist White’s said it with a demeaning tone because they saw being Pakistani as something negative, ‘Pakistani’ is just as insulting in their eyes as ‘Paki’ but they are too stupid to pronounce it.
They genuinely thought we were called Pakis, like people from Uzbekistan are called Uzbek.
No matter what you say or do racist people will always use it, their purpose is to offend you, the more you show you feel offended by it the more they are going to use it, they are not going to stop using it beacause you feel offended by it because that’s what they want.
Complaining, whinging and whining like a cry baby will not do anything. You can beat up one or two people and temporarily stop them saying it but how many peoples mouths are you going to shut?
If Pakistani is all it’s short for then let them say it all they want, to them it might be something demeaning, to us it is not, we are proud of it, let us claim it back, every time they say Paki look at them like they’re crazy and say “yeah damn right I am and I’m proud of it!”.
And please only wear the above (or similar) t-shirts if you’re a handsome basterdo, we don’t want ugly ppl ruining our street cred..
I’m sure you’ll find a black man who will say that he’s proud to be a “nigger” when said by white trash, right? ![]()
Acha ji…maaf kardo ,ghalati hogai hum sab nadan hain.
PAKISTANIIIIIIIIIIII…Ab khush.![]()